Les États généraux du film documentaire 2009 Doc Route: Poland

Doc Route: Poland


To begin this journey across contemporary Polish documentary, it seemed essential to propose some work by filmmakers who have left their mark on history: four authors as points of departure for as many different directions, of style, narrative, relationships with the history of Poland. Most are graduates of the famous Łódź school which continues to irrigate documentary cinema with young talent alongside the school founded by Andrzej Wajda.
The cinema of Wojciech Wiszniewski is situated at the point of tension between a strong artistic intent and an attachment to a historical story woven with the ideology of the time, the point where the liberty of direction creates dissonance with the narrative. Two portraits, that of a Carpenter and a Weaver, and the illustration of The Primer, a lesson known by all Polish schoolchildren, are both full of invention and fantasy. Their universe resonates with the distant echo of images we have seen of the wild representations by the theatrical troop of Tadeusz Kantor. Stories shaken up by the spirits of children and inhabited by the spectres of death, paintings which evoke the tragedies of history through the disarticulated bodies of men who attempt to articulate the absurd.
Kazimierz Karabasz positions himself differently in reality. His attention is captured by faces, his capacity to pick out within a situation what is at stake in a glance, an attitude, reveal a sharp eye. The portrait of Krystina M. brings us close to a form of documentary based on an encounter and a gift for observation and probes here in a more intimate manner the conflicts between a young woman's aspirations and her worries facing a reality which is less promising than it appears. A highly realistic counterpoint to the compositions of Wiszniewski, constructed on scenes of daily life but with no less attention to cinematic values. A style which blossoms from his first works in finely mastered black and white photography when he films for example circus artists (People On The Road).
It is via this art of direction that cinema was able to take on, more or less indirectly, a representation of history which was tightly controlled by the censors. The harshness of censorship was designed to measure up to the tension of a political situation which in 1968 took a radical turn. The government heavily repressed the student movement, expelled more than twenty thousand Jews in an antisemitic campaign and stifled news of even the most desperate acts of opposition such as the self immolation of a man in front of thousands of people to protest the entry of Soviet troops into Prague, an act that was totally ignored and suppressed by the system. More than twenty years later in Hear my Cry, Maciej Drygas found the witnesses to this sacrifice and exhumed the terrible images that were recorded. The film reveals in an edifying manner the cogs of the system which managed to indoctrinate the minds of the people, rehabilitating the memory of this man and his gesture.
Marcel Łoziński chose to analyse history via the observation of social and professional relationships. We must qualify this observation as participatory because his documentary cinema becomes an element of disturbance, interfering with the play of the real and shaking up its rules. Happy End is an illusion, Front Collision tackles the injustices of reality, Microphone's Test shows a reporter bowing to the censors in a reflection on the work of the filmmaker and a kind of premonition of the martial law that would be applied a year later to crush the Solidarność movement. These films exacerbate situations or provoke them and are always connected to a will to reflect on history, or sometimes to tell it more directly. In this way, in Seven Jews From My Class the filmmaker brings together his former schoolmates, all now in exile. They come together years after for long collective discussions where each one evokes the reasons and conditions of the forced exile of 1968. This procedure inaugurated a series of films based on passing time and revived memories to test them against the present, change and forgetfulness.
So it doesn’t hurt returns to a character twenty-three years later interweaving two films and confronting two periods. This time Łoziński lets his guard down and approaches the woman who welcomes them with less apprehension and without the bitterness that she could have felt against the first intrusive visit by a journalist who showed up to question her choice of life. The camera crew observes at a distance the exchanges as they become more and more bitter. Could it be dangerous for a filmmaker to start loving his characters?
The theme of the return, years after, seems to have inspired others. Connecting histories, destinies, generations precisely in order to try to make history, cause traces to reappear. In The Cupboard, the young filmmaker Jacob Dammas finds the apartment from which his Jewish family was expelled. Obstinately, he tries to get in, provoking encounters which are in turn suspicious, talkative, or others silent or blood curdling. How not to get rid of an “old store” too easily? Also, how not to throw out the baby with the bathwater? In Our Street along the years, Martin Latałło can only observe the consequences of the disappearance of the textile industry which created the riches of the city of Łódź: lost jobs, destabilised families, threatened and degraded health and housing. On the other side of the street, they rehabilitate — or in this circumstance they privatise and commercialise — and if the father manages to find a job as watchman, it is already too late.
How to carry on the imposing heritage left by the previous generation? Rafael Lewandowski opens his film to the convictions and doubts of the children of the heroes of the historic Solidarność which caused the downfall of Jaruzelski's regime. This is another rehabilitation — that of forgotten victims in the face of authorities declared innocent – for this past also is threatened with liquidation. At the end of the film, a young couple leaves the country to see what's happening elsewhere. Thirty years before, in the astonishing The Primer, to the final question they are asked, “What do you believe in?”, the two children do not answer but turn around to take the road... The figures of childhood are very present in documentary cinema, rarely escaping the condescension of a previously seduced point of view. Here childhood is presented as often sombre or difficult, a testing time to get through from which they emerge precisely the children they were if their dreams are still strong enough. Marcin Sauter leaves them to their games, whereas Łoziński discretely sends his chattering and playful son to talk to the elderly or to rail workers at the Brześć station. If there are many short films, it is because they are often student films, but also because they correspond to a length of narrative which does not seek to expand. The films remain focussed on their subject and sketch portraits in a formal reserve and with a care that allows all the space for their characters to exist, modestly. Whether it be to paint the fragile community of a village, or that further afield and damaged of the Evenks, or again that of a hospital, all these films are a way of observing and auscultating at a distance the conditions of a society. On the contrary, three films lead us off to more immodest and intimate territories. In a slightly naïve way, Dominika Montean renews contact with former classmates in a commemorative excursion. The disillusion is brutal but his sincere obstinacy maintains the balance of the film. The films of Marcin Koszalka meticulously explore the intimate, in a relationship to death in The Existence, to family hysteria in Till It Hurts, in a tone somewhere between narcissism and irony.
And how to enter the intimacy of a little apartment and the daily life that an old invalid father shares with his crippled son? The demonstration is given to us in a very fine portrait of a photographer in his rôle, Benek Blues. At a distance rarely as right as this in such a delicate situation — filming infirmity and promiscuity — the filmmaker succeeded in creating within the extremely tight space of this little theatre, a very delicate and attentive portrait which owed a lot to her long experience as editor.

Christophe Postic


Guests : Marcel Łoziński (director), Rafael Lewandowski (director), Jacob Dammas (director), Wojciech Szczudo (producer).


Thanks to Barbara Orlicz-Szczypula and Katarzyna Wilk (Krakow Film Foundation), Joanna Skalska (Andrzej Wajda Master School of Film Directing), Andrzej Bednarek and Marcin Malatyski (National Film of Łódź), Wojciech Szczudo (Kalejdoskop Film Studio), Ula Niegowska, Maciej Nowicki, Ania Szczepanska. With the support of the Polish Institue of Paris (Maciek Hamela) and of the French Embassy (Romain Masson).

Les États généraux du film documentaire 2009 Route du doc : Pologne

Route du doc : Pologne


Pour commencer cette traversée du documentaire polonais contemporain, il paraissait incontournable de proposer quelques œuvres de ces cinéastes qui ont marqué l’histoire : quatre auteurs comme points de départ à autant de directions différentes, de styles, de récits, de rapports à l’histoire de la Pologne. La plupart sont issus de la prestigieuse école de Łódź qui continue d’irriguer le cinéma documentaire de jeunes talents, au côté de l’école de formation fondée par Andrzej Wajda.
Le cinéma de Wojciech Wiszniewski se situait au point de tension entre une intention artistique forte et un attachement à un récit de l’histoire emprunt de l’idéologie de l’époque, là où la liberté de la mise en scène entre en dissonance avec la ligne du récit. Deux portraits, celui du Menuisier et de la Tisseuse, et la mise en images de L’Abécédaire, leçon connue de tous les écoliers polonais, rivalisent d’inventivité et de fantaisie. Leurs univers font résonner l’écho lointain des images qu’il nous reste des folles représentations du théâtre de Tadeusz Kantor. Des histoires bousculées par les esprits de l’enfance et habitées par les spectres de la mort, des tableaux qui convoquent les tragédies de l’histoire dans les corps désarticulés des hommes qui tentent d’articuler l’absurde.
Kazimierz Karabasz s’inscrit autrement dans le réel. Son attention portée aux visages, sa capacité à saisir dans une situation ce qui se joue dans un regard, une attitude, révèlent une grande acuité du regard. Le portrait de Krystina M. nous rapproche d’une forme documentaire qui se fonde sur la rencontre et l’observation, et sonde ici de manière plus intime, les conflits entre les aspirations d’une jeune femme et ses inquiétudes face à une réalité moins prometteuse qu’elle n’y paraît. Un contrepoint aux compositions de Wiszniewski autrement réaliste, construit sur des scènes du quotidien mais pas moins cinématographique. Un style qui s’épanouit dès ses premières œuvres, dans un noir et blanc d’une belle maîtrise lorsqu’il filme les artistes d’un cirque (Les Gens du voyage).
C’est par cet art de la mise en scène que le cinéma a pu s’attaquer de manière plus ou moins détournée à une représentation de l’histoire soumise à la censure, et dont la dureté est à la mesure d’une politique qui en 1968 prendra un tournant radical. Le gouvernement réprimera sévèrement le mouvement étudiant, expulsera plus de vingt mille juifs dans le cadre d’une campagne antisémite et musellera toute opposition même désespérée, comme le sera l’immolation d’un père de famille devant des milliers de personnes, en protestation à l’entrée des troupes soviétiques à Prague, acte totalement ignoré et refoulé. Plus de vingt ans après, dans Entendez mon cri, Maciej Drygas retrouve des témoins de ce sacrifice et exhume les terribles images enregistrées. Le film révèle de façon édifiante les rouages d’un système qui a réussi à endoctriner les esprits et réhabilite la mémoire de cet homme et de son geste.
L’histoire, Marcel Łoziński va très tôt choisir de l’ausculter par le biais de l’observation des relations sociales et professionnelles, là où l’emprise des systèmes se fait jour. Mais il faut qualifier cette observation de participante car il pense le cinéma documentaire comme un élément perturbateur, s’immisçant dans le jeu du réel et en bousculant les règles. Happy end est en trompe l’œil, Collision frontale prend en charge les injustices de la réalité, Essai de microphone dont le reporter est soumis à la censure est une mise en abîme du travail du cinéaste et une forme de prémisse de l’application de la loi martiale un an plus tard, pour écraser le mouvement Solidarność. Ces films exacerbent les situations ou les provoquent et sont toujours reliés à une volonté de refléter l’histoire ou parfois de la raconter plus directement. Ainsi pour Sept juifs de ma classe, le cinéaste convoque ses anciens camarades tous exilés. Ils se retrouveront des années après pour de longues discussions collectives où chacun évoquera les raisons et les conditions de son exil forcé en 1968. Une démarche qui inaugure une série de films qui reposent sur le temps qui a passé et ravivent les souvenirs pour les mettre à l’épreuve du présent, du changement et de l’oubli.
Et So It Doesn't Hurt retourne vers un personnage vingt-trois ans après, mélange deux films et confronte deux époques. Cette fois Łoziński baisse la garde et se rapproche de cette femme qui les accueille avec moins d’appréhension et sans la rancœur qu’elle aurait pu garder de cette première visite intrusive d’une journaliste venue remettre en cause son choix de vie. L’équipe de tournage observe à distance les échanges qui se durcissent. Serait-il dangereux pour le cinéaste de se mettre à aimer ses personnages ?
Le thème du retour, des années après, semble avoir fait des émules. Relier des histoires, des destins, des générations entre elles, précisément pour tenter de faire histoire, de faire ressurgir les traces. Dans Kredens, le jeune réalisateur Jacob Dammas retrouve l’appartement d’où a été expulsée sa famille juive. Avec obstination, il va tenter d’y pénétrer, provoquant des rencontres méfiantes puis bavardes, d’autres mutiques et glaçantes. Ou comment ne pas se débarrasser trop facilement de « l’histoire ancienne » ? Comment aussi ne pas jeter le bébé avec l’eau du bain ? Dans Notre rue, au fil des années, Marcin Latałło ne peut que constater les conséquences de la disparition de l’industrie textile qui fit la richesse de la ville de Łódź : emplois disparus, familles fragilisées, santé dégradée et logement menacé. De l’autre côté de la rue, on réhabilite — en l’occurrence ils privatisent et commercialisent — et si le père finit par retrouver un emploi de surveillance, c’est déjà trop tard. Comment porter l’héritage imposant laissé par les aînés ? Rafael Lewandowski ouvre son film aux convictions et aux doutes des enfants des héros de l’historique Solidarność qui fit chuter le régime de Jaruzelski. C’est d’une autre réhabilitation dont il s’agit ici — celle des victimes oubliées face aux responsables innocentés — car ce passé est aussi menacé de liquidation. À la fin du film, un jeune couple quitte le pays pour aller voir ailleurs. Trente ans auparavant, dans l’étonnant Abécédaire, à l’ultime question qui leur est posée, « En quoi croyez-vous ? », les deux enfants ne répondent pas mais se retournent pour prendre la route… Les figures de l’enfance sont très présentes dans le cinéma documentaire, échappant très rarement à la complaisance d’un regard par avance séduit. Ici, l’enfance se présente sous un jour souvent sombre ou difficile, une épreuve à traverser dont ils se sortent en restant précisément les enfants qu’ils demeurent, quand leurs rêves sont encore les plus forts. Marcin Sauter les laisse tout à leurs jeux, quand Łoziński envoie discrètement son fils loquace et espiègle à la rencontre de personnes âgées ou à celle des cheminots de la gare de Brześć. S’il y a beaucoup de formes courtes, c’est parce qu’il s’agit souvent de films d’études mais c’est aussi qu’elles correspondent à la durée d’un récit qui ne cherche pas à s’étendre. Les films restent centrés sur leur sujet et esquissent des portraits dans une retenue formelle et avec une attention qui laisse toute la place à leurs personnages pour exister, pudiquement. Que ce soit pour dépeindre la communauté fragile d’un village, celle plus lointaine et dénaturée des Evenks ou celle encore d’un hôpital, tous ces films sont une manière d’observer et d’ausculter à distance les états d’une société. À l’opposé, trois films nous embarquent dans des territoires intimes plus impudiques. De manière un peu naïve, Dominika Montean recontacte d’anciennes camarades de classes pour une excursion commémorative. La désillusion sera brutale mais sa sincère obstination tient le film en équilibre. Marcin Koszalka explore assez méticuleusement dans ses films ce terrain de l’intime, dans le rapport à la mort pour The Existence, dans l’hystérie familiale pour Till It Hurts, entre narcissisme et ironie.
Et comment entrer dans l’intimité d’un petit appartement et le quotidien que partagent un vieux père invalide et son fils infirme ? La démonstration nous est donnée par ce très beau portrait d’un photographe « en chambre », Benek Blues. À une distance rarement aussi juste dans une situation si délicate — filmer l’infirmité et la promiscuité — la réalisatrice aura réussi dans l’exiguïté de ce petit théâtre un portrait très fin et attentif qui devait beaucoup à sa grande expérience de monteuse.

Christophe Postic


Invités : Marcel Łoziński (réalisateur), Rafael Lewandowski (réalisateur), Jacob Dammas (réalisateur), Wojciech Szczudo (producteur).


Remerciements à Barbara Orlicz-Szczypula et Katarzyna Wilk (Krakow Film Foundation), Joanna Skalska (Andrzej Wajda Master School of Film Directing), Andrzej Bednarek et Marcin Malatyski (National Film of Łódź), Wojciech Szczudo (Kalejdoskop Film Studio), Ula Niegowska, Maciej Nowicki, Ania Szczepanska. Avec le soutien de l’Institut Polonais de Paris (Maciek Hamela) et de l’Ambassade de France (Romain Masson).