Les États généraux du film documentaire 2017 Editorial

Editorial


A form of wandering can give birth to the most beautiful associations: ideas mature sometimes over long periods before taking form, before being able to find a formulation. Programming is a process of sedimentation during which films, works of art, are laid down, anchor in memory. Then this accumulation of traces sketches out a pathway. It is just such a pathway that has led us this year to two workshops around the theme of memory. We are dealing with forms of cinema that roam, explore, stroll, bringing to the surface the memory of a place, or else that compose the territory of a memory where history has got involved. The numerous invited filmmakers will share with us their experience and their reflection, connecting ever more tightly “an archaeology of memory and a sensory cartography of territories”, the archaeological approach taken by a cinema that attempts to uncover and reveal in a territory’s present the marks of history but also of a memory.
The recent Lebanese films in “Doc route” still bear the traces of the tragic and violent history of the wars fought on this land, a land of refuge as much as of flight, and strive to find a way of overcoming the Real, affronting it, in an attempt to inscribe oneself within the world when memory and history are not only questions of heritage but also of present construction.
The “Doc history” devoted to Poland also highlights this exploration of cinema through history in general and the history of cinematic forms. “Is the political field of documentary still this space where forms can move, accompany the world in its tremors, in its very dematerialisation?” Dominique Auvray and Vincent Dieutre set out on this search for experiences and experiments when we entrusted them this year with compiling the “Viewing experiences” programme.
And while it is an honour to welcome Peter Nestler and Guy Sherwin, it is also a source of happiness to propose such radical cinematic experiences. Whereas Guy Sherwin brings us back to the silence and light of film and, with it, another experience of perception, the work of Peter Nestler reaffirms the necessity of a liberty of form and critical message. In a cinematic gesture of splendid intensity, another message, just as precious, that of Jean Oury, will give us food for thought during a “Special screening” shared between two films and the two extraordinary creators that are Jean Oury and the stage director Claude Régy. Unexpected links will emerge, in particular in their preoccupation with words and the way they are said and heard. Other radical expressions which bring us back to methods and approaches, to the research for experiences and forms that construct other ways of viewing, to which the public is invited. And we would like to re-appropriate the words of Claude Régy: “For me (for us) it is important that the members of the public do not mistake what they have come looking for in the theatre (in the cinema).
They have come to create.”

Pascale Paulat and Christophe Postic

Les États généraux du film documentaire 2017 Édito

Édito


D’une forme d’errance peuvent naître les plus belles associations : les idées mûrissent parfois longuement avant de prendre forme, de pouvoir être formulées. Les programmations sont un processus de sédimentation, au cours duquel des films, des œuvres se déposent, s’ancrent dans la mémoire. Puis cette accumulation de traces dessine un chemin. C’est un cheminement semblable qui nous a conduits cette année à deux ateliers autour de la mémoire. Des cinémas qui arpentent, explorent, déambulent pour faire surgir une mémoire des lieux ou bien qui composent le territoire d’une mémoire où l’Histoire s’immisce. Les nombreux réalisateurs conviés partageront avec nous leur expérience et leur réflexion pour articuler toujours plus étroitement « une archéologie de la mémoire et une cartographie sensible des territoires », la démarche archéologique d’un cinéma qui tente de déceler et de révéler dans le présent d’un territoire les stigmates de l’Histoire mais aussi d’une mémoire. Les films libanais récents de la « Route du doc » portent encore les traces de l’Histoire tragique et violente des guerres traversées par ce pays, terre d’accueil autant que de départs, et tentent de trouver une manière de surmonter le réel, de l’affronter, une tentative d’inscription de soi dans le monde, quand la mémoire et l’Histoire ne sont plus seulement affaire d’héritage mais construction au présent.
L’« Histoire de doc » consacrée à la Pologne repose sur une exploration du cinéma à travers l’Histoire et celle des formes cinématographiques. « Le champ politique du documentaire reste-t-il cet espace où les formes peuvent encore bouger, accompagner le monde dans ses frémissements, dans sa déréalisation même ? » C’est à cette recherche d’expériences que se sont attachés Dominique Auvray et Vincent Dieutre, à qui nous avons confié cette année la programmation « Expériences du regard ».
Et si c’est un honneur d’accueillir Peter Nestler et Guy Sherwin, c’est aussi un bonheur de proposer des expériences de cinéma aussi radicales. Alors que Guy Sherwin nous ramène au silence et à la lumière de la pellicule et, avec elle, à une autre expérience de la perception, l’œuvre de Peter Nestler réaffirme la nécessité d’une liberté de formes et d’une parole critique. D’un geste cinématographique d’une belle intensité, c’est une autre parole tout aussi précieuse, celle de Jean Oury, qui nous donnera à penser au cours d’une « Séance spéciale » entre deux films et les deux créateurs hors norme que sont Jean Oury et le metteur en scène Claude Régy. Y surgiront des liens inattendus, notamment dans leur attachement aux mots, et à la manière de les dire, de les entendre. D’autres radicalités qui nous ramènent à des manières de faire, à la recherche d’expériences et de formes qui construisent des regards autres, auxquels sont conviés les spectateurs. Et nous voudrions nous réapproprier des mots de Claude Régy : « Pour moi (pour nous), c’est important que le public ne se trompe pas sur ce qu’il vient chercher au théâtre (au cinéma).
Il vient créer. »

Pascale Paulat et Christophe Postic