Les États généraux du film documentaire 2017 Fragment of a filmmaker’s work: Peter Nestler

Fragment of a filmmaker’s work: Peter Nestler


“Ever since I started making films, I’ve always tried to go to the bottom of the things I’ve chosen to deal with. I’ve tried to find the path that was (for me) the shortest and to show the essence of the subject, in other words to know, recognize and say together with others: “This must change, this must be preserved, or not neglected.”
Peter Nestler (1974)

West Germany, 1962: Peter Nestler made his first film, a remarkable, engaged poem: Am Siel. It was also the year of the famous Oberhausen Manifesto, which trumpeted the successes of German short film and demanded more vigorous support for national cinema, the famous “new German cinema”, which would receive international recognition a few years later thanks to a trio of star filmmakers and their fiction features: Fassbinder, Wenders and Herzog. Where did this leave documentary? Furthermore, in the history of documentary, the sixties marked the emergence of cinéma vérité and direct cinema, which claimed a greater feeling of authenticity and immersion in the flow of the Real. This aesthetic was adopted in West Germany in the middle of the sixties via notably Klaus Wildenhahn, to whom Lussas paid homage a few years ago. But Nestler did not really propose direct cinema (which didn’t stop Wildenhahn from admiring his work) and, as a close reader of Brecht, he maintained some distance from the ideology of an immediate encounter with reality.
Once again, history is richer and more contradictory than it first appears: a director of documentary films, most of which were made for television broadcast, unclassifiable within general histories of cinema, but also within German cinema or documentary film, Peter Nestler strikes us today with the freshness of his critical cinema, bearing a political and aesthetic point of view on the world. A free cinema in that it adapts to the coherence and urgency of its message. This unclassifiable production is very much a reflection of the life of its creator: before becoming a filmmaker, Peter Nestler studied painting, worked as a sailor, worker, lumberjack or office clerk; he acted in a certain number of German films by major directors such as Helmut Käutner, Harald Reinl or Géza von Radványi. Simultaneously with his work as an actor, Nestler made his first films with a radical obstinacy that disrupted trends, producers, and distributors.
After making seven films in the Federal Republic of Germany, Nestler left his country in 1966 for Sweden, his mother’s birthplace. He maintained his artistic and political engagement within a system that was quite open – Swedish social democracy – all the while producing an uncompromising message, for example in Sightseeing. Within the Sveriges Radio-Television, Nestler was responsible for purchasing and dubbing children’s programmes, but he also made some forty odd films between 1967 and 1985 (in collaboration with his Hungarian-born wife Zsóka until the end of the seventies). Following this period, he made fifteen films produced in different contexts, especially in Germany, of which the most recent – Death and the Devil and Die Hohlmenschen – introduce this “Fragment of a filmmaker’s work”.
Nestler’s output, “quiet and rigorous” (B. Eisenschitz), presents a wide variety of subjects woven together by very deep connections: the social and economic history of a place; the exploitation of nature and human beings; the history of art as representation of social history; the representation of craft or industrial labour; the struggle against the heritage of fascism and its recurrences; the critical study of the oppression of a social group, a minority, a people – from immigrants to the indigenous, from Gypsies to Jews, Vietnamese to Chileans, amongst others. His style – of shooting, editing or commentary – is at once precise and bare, finely constructed and demanding. Nestler works like a jeweller, whatever the scale of his subject: life in a primary school in a tiny mountain village in the county of Bern (Aufsätze), the description of an entire South-German village (Ödenwaldstetten), the situation in Greece in the middle of the sixties (Von Griechenland), the history of Gypsies in the twentieth century (Zigeuner sein), the history of printing (Über das Aufkommen des Buchdrucks), the reasons behind the disasters of war (Warum ist Krieg?), the role of knowledge in the history of humanity (Gefährliches Wissen).
At each scale, from the smallest to the largest, he chooses the most suitable form by tackling the circumstances. Often Nestler does not use direct sound and this “absence” isn’t disguised. It even becomes a stake in the writing: the distanced image is a chosen fragment which makes no pretence of being exhaustive and which is joined to a carefully composed soundtrack, sometimes conferred to writers. But Nestler’s cinema also knows other tricks, connecting heterogeneous materials to create a succession of dialectical impacts, in contradiction with traditional modes of documentary. He constructs in this case films with the material at hand, using photographs or paintings for example when he is filming an international situation from Sweden, as in his engaged films on Vietnam (Bilder von Vietnam) or Chile (Mi país). Indeed, Nestler regularly films works of art, often popular ones: for him there is no separation between art and the real world, on the contrary – a principle which is also true for his own art, film. Concerning sound, his interest for documents is recognizable in his use of powerful texts, like the letters of Greek resistance fighters read in voice over which replace the direct sound originally planned for Von Griechenland, or the letters of Vietnamese children read by Swedish children in Bilder von Vietnam.
These procedures can also dialogue within a single film, articulating heterogeneous materials with a view to an essay: different types of still images (photographs, paintings, engravings, sketches…), archives, images shot by Nestler himself (front face interviews with the mike in the frame, situations and gestures captured live, landscapes filmed by striding over the space with his camera movements…). At each moment of the film, the director makes it apparent – without stressing the fact – that what we are watching is a construction, a choice, a piece of work. The filmmaker expresses a way of looking at things, chooses powerful documents and images, joins them together during the editing. We can then understand how Nestler was able to show the way to a certain number of younger creators who were working with the film-essay, in particular filmmakers/critics from the review Filmkritik, such as Harun Farocki and Hartmut Bitomsky.
Nestler’s point of view is always that of the poorer classes, the suffering of the people against the generalised oppression that modernisation has only reinforced with its new technology and unrivalled powers of destruction. Work is seen as “an act taking place between man and nature” (K. Marx): Nestler always connects a point of view on history and geopolitics with a point of view on nature and the environment. Watching his films again today is also, among other things, a way to rediscover the necessity of a critical, antifascist and anti-imperialist discourse, on society, on the world, against the current, ambient discourse of identity. It is easy to understand then his proximity with another filmmaker and friend: Jean-Marie Straub, who called Nestler “the only German filmmaker” (1972). In his film Einleitung zu Arnold Schönbergs Begleitmusik zu einer Lichtspielscene, Straub films Nestler reading a text in a recording studio, bringing visibility to one who, in his own films, is only present via his voice, composed, precise, rhythmically marked. Nestler dedicated to Jean-Marie Straub and Danièle Huillet Die Nordkalotte, one of his masterpieces, and the film that will close this “Fragment of a filmmaker’s work”.

Stefanie Bodien and Dario Marchiori


Debates led by Stefanie Bodien and Dario Marchiori.
In the presence of Peter Nestler.

With support from Deutsche Kinemathek, Institut suédois, German Films and Goethe-Institut Paris.

Les États généraux du film documentaire 2017 Fragment d’une œuvre : Peter Nestler

Fragment d’une œuvre : Peter Nestler


« Depuis que j’ai commencé à faire des films, j’ai toujours essayé d’aller au fond de la chose que j’avais choisi de traiter. J’ai essayé de trouver le chemin qui était (pour moi) le plus court et de montrer l’essentiel du sujet, c’est-à-dire de connaître, reconnaître et dire ensemble avec d’autres : « Ceci doit être changé, cela devrait être conservé, ou pas négligé. »
Peter Nestler (1974)

Allemagne de l’Ouest, 1962 : Peter Nestler réalise son premier film, un poème engagé remarquable : Au bord du chenal. C’est aussi l’année du célèbre Manifeste d’Oberhausen, qui vante les réussites du court métrage allemand et demande un soutien plus poussé à la cinématographie nationale, ce fameux « nouveau cinéma allemand » qui sera reconnu à l’international quelques années plus tard grâce à un trio d’auteurs vedettes et à leurs longs métrages de fiction : Fassbinder, Wenders et Herzog. Quelle place reste-t-il alors pour le documentaire ? Par ailleurs, dans l’histoire du documentaire, le début des années soixante est marqué par l’émergence du cinéma-vérité et du cinéma direct, qui revendiquent un plus grand sentiment d’authenticité ou d’immersion dans le flux du réel : l’Allemagne de l’Ouest intégrera cette esthétique vers le milieu des années soixante avec notamment Klaus Wildenhahn, à qui Lussas a rendu hommage il y a quelques années. Mais Nestler ne propose pas vraiment du cinéma direct (ce qui n’empêcha pas Wildenhahn d’admirer son travail) et, en bon lecteur de Brecht, il prend ses distances avec l’idéologie de la rencontre immédiate avec le réel.
Une fois de plus, l’histoire est plus riche et contradictoire qu’on ne le croit : réalisateur de films documentaires, mais destinés pour la plupart à la diffusion télévisuelle, inclassable par rapport aux histoires générales du cinéma, mais aussi celles du cinéma allemand ou encore du cinéma documentaire, Peter Nestler nous frappe aujourd’hui par la fraîcheur de son cinéma critique, porteur d’un regard politique et esthétique sur le monde. Un cinéma libre dans la mesure où il s’adapte à la cohérence et à l’urgence de son propos. Cette œuvre inclassable est à l’image de la vie de son auteur : avant de devenir cinéaste, Peter Nestler a étudié la peinture, travaillé comme marin, ouvrier, bûcheron ou employé de bureau ; il a joué dans un certain nombre de films allemands signés par des auteurs importants tels que Helmut Käutner, Harald Reinl ou Géza von Radványi. En parallèle de son activité d’acteur, Nestler réalise ses premiers films avec une opiniâtreté radicale qui dérangera les modes, les producteurs, les distributeurs.
Après avoir réalisé sept films en République Fédérale d’Allemagne, Nestler quitte son pays en 1966 pour la Suède, terre natale de sa mère. Il y poursuit son engagement artistique et politique à l’intérieur d’un système assez ouvert – la social-démocratie suédoise – tout en lui adressant un discours sans concession, par exemple dans Sightseeing. À la Sveriges Radio-Television, Nestler est en charge de l’acquisition et du doublage des programmes destinés aux enfants, mais réalise aussi une bonne quarantaine de films entre 1967 et 1985 (en collaboration avec sa femme Zsóka, d’origine hongroise, jusqu’à la fin des années soixante-dix). S’ensuivent une quinzaine de films produits dans des contextes assez divers, surtout en Allemagne, dont les plus récents – La Mort et le Diable et Die Hohlmenschen – ouvriront ce « Fragment d’une œuvre ».
Le travail de Nestler, « tranquille et rigoureux » (B. Eisenschitz), présente un large éventail de sujets qui dessinent des liens très profonds entre ses films : l’histoire économique et sociale d’un lieu ; l’exploitation de la nature et des humains ; l’histoire de l’art comme représentation de l’histoire sociale ; la représentation du travail artisanal ou industriel ; la lutte contre l’héritage du fascisme et ses résurgences ; l’étude critique de l’oppression d’un groupe social, d’une minorité, d’un peuple – des immigrés aux indigènes, des Tsiganes aux Juifs, des Vietnamiens aux Chiliens, entre autres. Son style – au tournage, au montage, au commentaire – est à la fois précis et dépouillé, finement construit et exigeant. Nestler travaille comme un orfèvre, quelle que soit l’échelle de son sujet : la vie d’une école primaire dans un minuscule bourg de montagne dans le canton de Berne (Aufsätze), la description de l’ensemble d’un village dans le sud de l’Allemagne (Ödenwaldstetten), la situation de la Grèce au milieu des années soixante (Von Griechenland), l’histoire des Tsiganes au vingtième siècle (Zigeuner sein), l’histoire de l’imprimerie (Über das Aufkommen des Buchdrucks), la raison d’être des désastres de la guerre (Warum ist Krieg?), le rôle du savoir dans l’histoire de l’humanité (Gefährliches Wissen).
À chaque échelle, de la plus petite à la plus grande, il choisit la forme la plus adaptée en se confrontant aux circonstances. Souvent, Nestler n’utilise pas de son direct, et ce « manque » n’est pas déguisé. Il devient même un enjeu d’écriture : mise à distance, l’image est un fragment choisi qui ne prétend pas à l’exhaustivité et qui s’articule avec une bande-son très écrite, parfois confiée à des écrivains. Mais le cinéma de Nestler connaît aussi d’autres manières de faire, articulant des matériaux hétérogènes pour créer des entrechocs dialectiques, en contradiction avec les modes traditionnels du documentaire. Il construit alors des films avec les moyens du bord, en utilisant des photographies ou des peintures, par exemple lorsqu’il s’agit de filmer une situation à l’international depuis la Suède dans ses films engagés sur le Vietnam (Bilder von Vietnam) ou le Chili (Mi país). En effet, Nestler filme régulièrement des œuvres d’art, souvent populaires : l’art n’est pas pour lui séparé du monde réel, bien au contraire – un principe qui vaut également pour son propre art, le cinéma. Au niveau du son, son intérêt pour les documents se retrouve dans l’utilisation de textes puissants, comme les lettres de résistants grecs lues en voix off qui remplacent le son direct prévu à l’origine pour Von Griechenland, ou des lettres d’enfants vietnamiens, lues par des enfants suédois dans Bilder von Vietnam.
Ces procédés peuvent aussi dialoguer au sein d’un même film, en articulant des matériaux hétérogènes dans une perspective essayiste : différents types d’images fixes (photographies, tableaux, gravures, dessins...), documents d’archives, images tournées par Nestler lui-même (entretiens frontaux avec micro dans le champ, situations et gestes captés sur le vif, paysages filmés en arpentant l’espace par ses mouvements de caméra...). À chaque moment du film, le réalisateur laisse transparaître – sans toutefois l’appuyer – qu’il s’agit d’une construction, d’un choix, d’un travail. Le cinéaste porte un regard sur les choses, choisit des documents et des images puissantes, les agence par le montage. On comprend alors que Nestler ait pu montrer l’exemple à un certain nombre d’auteurs plus jeunes qui travaillent le film-essai, notamment les cinéastes-critiques de la revue Filmkritik comme Harun Farocki et Hartmut Bitomsky.
Le point de vue de Nestler est toujours celui des classes populaires, de la souffrance du peuple face à une oppression généralisée que la modernisation n’a fait que renforcer par de nouveaux moyens et une puissance de destruction sans précédent. Le travail est vu comme « un acte qui se passe entre l’homme et la nature » (K. Marx) : Nestler allie toujours regard sur l’Histoire et la géopolitique et regard sur la nature et l’environnement. Revoir ses films aujourd’hui est aussi, entre autres choses, une manière de redécouvrir la nécessité d’un discours critique, antifasciste et anti-impérialiste sur la société et sur le monde, à rebours des discours identitaires ambiants. On comprend alors sa proximité avec un autre cinéaste, et ami : Jean-Marie Straub, qui désigna Nestler comme étant « le seul cinéaste allemand » (1972). Dans son film Introduction à la « Musique d'accompagnement pour une scène de film » d’Arnold Schoenberg, Straub filme Nestler lisant un texte dans un studio d’enregistrement, en rendant visible celui qui, dans ses propres films, n’est présent qu’à travers sa voix au rythme posé, précis et martelant. À Jean-Marie Straub et à Danièle Huillet, Nestler dédie Die Nordkalotte, l’un de ses chefs-d’œuvre, qui clôturera ce « Fragment d’une œuvre ».

Stefanie Bodien et Dario Marchiori


Débats animés par Stefanie Bodien et Dario Marchiori.
En présence de Peter Nestler.

Avec le soutien de la Deutsche Kinemathek, de l’Institut suédois, de German Films et du Goethe-Institut Paris.