Les États généraux du film documentaire 2016 Viewing Experiences

Viewing Experiences


Stones

For months we went from film to film. A chaotic route, defined by the haphazard circumstances of registration and preselection, passing through countries, situations, proposals which seemed to have nothing to do with one another.
Some twenty odd films that we have chosen to show and share with you remain today.
They are more than ever singular objects. Each one holding tightly to its project, protecting its territory with almost obsessive intensity, the frontiers that define it, its place, time and particular form.
For three years, we have been defending this singularity, this radical uniqueness in the face of so many other films that don't take the risk of being themselves, for better or for worse.
The films' solitude is also indicative of the solitude of those who make them. And this solitude is great. The field of documentary is more fragmented than ever. All lengths, modes, forms are possible today, leaving each one free to re-invent their cinema. But also obliging them to take sole responsibility for the result, without the excuses of a formal standardisation imposed by television companies who deserted the field long ago, nor the ageing dogmas of auteur theory as applied to documentary film.
The absence of model or reference may disconcert. It is a reflection of our lives today. The end of great certainties, of opposing blocks (East-West, documentary-fiction), but also the dislocation of the collective, our atomisation, confusion, the refusal or incapacity to talk about things as they are. In this moment of blurred vision, focussing on the Real with precision becomes a touchstone, a political act.
The “Real”, that great word that has nourished documentary so much and whose frontiers seem today so difficult to define. We can no longer delude ourselves with simply naturalistic approaches, capturing slices of reality which has become the preferred terrain of television, any more than with practices that imitate the worst of fiction film: casting, characters, cheap psychology and a three-act story.
Yet the dividing line exists. It does not depend on tools. It matters little whether use is made of direct cinema, acted drama, animated film or all the other formal novelties that the future holds.
It depends on the objects produced. We no longer expect them to account for a great fantasised Real, but to be, more modestly, real in themselves. To do the work of a film without pretence, without putting on, as the saying goes, “a show”, but refusing just as firmly to recycle for the umpteenth time the worn out formulas of which television (but not only) makes such ample use, without contenting itself with that kind of documentary parasitic disease which consists of according importance only to the subject.
This tightrope is difficult to walk. The directors’ ethics are important, as are their tenacity and way of seeing. And the result is never guaranteed. But even when they are imperfect, unfinished, these films do their work, which is not to entertain or blind us for the time of a screening, but to remain with us long after, to help us see clearer.
This is the common denominator of all the films we have chosen: whether their subjects be the poetics of our brain or a besieged Ukrainian village, the dreams of a Portuguese vagabond or the drifting of a neo-capitalist cargo, whether they be dreamlike or coldly clinical, lasting six minutes or two hours, they produce something that goes well beyond thematic assent, a compassionate way of looking or a simple spectacle.
Once seen, they belong to us. We hold on to them, like a stone in the hand.
This then is our collection of stones, an ephemeral collection in these times of confusion, but also perhaps little markers tracing a kind of track, even if no one today seems capable of saying where it leads.

Stan Neumann and Stefano Savona


Debates led by Stan Neumann and Stefano Savona.
In the presence of the directors and/or producers.

Les États généraux du film documentaire 2016 Expériences du regard

Expériences du regard


Cailloux

Pendant des mois nous sommes allés de film en film. Un parcours chaotique, au hasard des inscriptions et des présélections, traversant des pays, des situations, des propositions que rien ne semble relier entre eux.
Reste aujourd’hui une vingtaine d’oeuvres que nous avons choisi de montrer, de partager avec vous.
Ce sont plus que jamais des objets singuliers. Chacun arc-bouté sur son projet, protégeant de façon quasi obsessionnelle son territoire, les frontières qui le définissent, son lieu, son temps, sa forme propre.
Depuis trois ans, c’est cette singularité, cette radicalité que nous défendons, face à tant d’autres films qui ne prennent pas le risque d’être eux-mêmes, pour le meilleur et pour le pire.
Cette solitude des œuvres parle aussi de la solitude de ceux qui les font. Elle est grande. Le champ du documentaire est plus éclaté que jamais. Toutes les durées, tous les modes, toutes les formes sont aujourd’hui possibles, laissant chacun libre de réinventer son cinéma. Mais avec aussi l’obligation de l’assumer, seul, sans les excuses d’un formatage imposé par les chaînes de télévision qui ont depuis longtemps déserté le champ, ni le secours des anciens dogmes du « film documentaire d’auteur ».
L’absence de modèles et de références peut déconcerter. Elle est à l’image de ce que nous vivons aujourd’hui. La fin des grandes certitudes, du bloc contre bloc (Est-Ouest, documentaire-fiction), mais aussi l’émiettement du collectif, l’atomisation, la confusion, le refus ou l’incapacité de dire les choses comme elles sont. Dans ce moment de grand flou, la précision, l’attention au réel, deviennent une pierre de touche, un acte politique.
Le « réel », le grand mot dont le documentaire s’est tellement nourri, et dont les frontières semblent aujourd’hui si difficiles à définir. On ne peut plus se faire d’illusions sur les démarches simplement naturalistes, cette captation de tranches de réalité qui est devenu le terrain de prédilection de la télévision, pas plus que sur les pratiques imitant ce que le cinéma de fiction a de pire : casting, personnages, psychologie de bazar et drame en trois actes.
Pourtant la ligne de partage existe. Elle ne tient pas aux outils. Peu importe que ce soient ceux du cinéma direct, du film joué, du film d’animation ou de toutes les nouvelles formes que l’avenir nous réserve.
Elle tient aux objets qu’ils produisent. On ne leur demande plus de rendre compte d’un grand réel fantasmatique, mais d’être, plus modestement, réels en eux mêmes. De faire le travail du film sans posture, sans faire, comme on dit, « son cinéma », de refuser tout aussi fortement de recycler pour la énième fois les formules usées dont la télévision (mais pas seulement elle) est si friande, de ne pas se contenter de cette sorte de parasitisme documentaire où seul règne le sujet.
C’est une ligne de crête difficile à tenir. L’éthique du réalisateur y compte tout autant que son acharnement et son regard. Et le résultat n’est jamais garanti. Mais même quand ils sont imparfaits, inachevés, ces films font leur travail, qui n’est pas de nous distraire ou nous aveugler le temps d’une séance, mais de rester avec nous longtemps après, pour nous aider à mieux voir.
C’est le dénominateur commun des films que nous avons choisi : qu’ils parlent de la poétique de notre cerveau ou d’une ville ukrainienne assiégée, des songes d’un vagabond portugais ou de la dérive d’un cargo néo-capitaliste, qu’ils soient rêveurs ou froidement cliniques, qu’ils durent six minutes ou deux heures, ils produisent quelque chose qui va bien au delà de l’assentiment thématique, du regard compassionnel ou du simple spectacle.
Une fois vus, ils nous appartiennent. On les garde avec nous, comme un caillou dans la main.
Voilà donc notre collection de cailloux, un collectif éphémère dans ces temps de confusion, mais peut-être aussi de petits jalons traçant une sorte de chemin, même si personne aujourd’hui n’est capable de dire où il mène.

Stan Neumann et Stefano Savona


Débats animés par Stan Neumann et Stefano Savona.
En présence des réalisateurs et/ou des producteurs.