Les États généraux du film documentaire 2015 Doc Route: Spain

Doc Route: Spain


Between Two Worlds
From the intimate to History, from personal narrative to the portrait of the world surrounding them, films by Spanish cineastes explore the complexity of the land and the diversity of those who inhabit it, while keeping an eye open beyond their borders, searching for reflections and similarities between the local and the foreign, between the self and other, between past and present, the living and the dead – everything that creates a gap into which cinema can slide.
Andrés Duque, a Venezuelan living in Spain, lives in the vaporous territory of the refugee and offers us an intimate diary as if suspended in air (Ensayo final para utopía), the order of whose pages seem only to respond to the sensitivity of souvenirs, where grace and gravity harmonise in moments of visual and audio apnoea. Belonging to another generation, Eloy Domínguez Serén, also reflects day by day in his filmed diary on this duality: the abandoning of his native Galicia to find work in Sweden, one might as well say at the antipodes (Ingen Ko På Isen). A soul forced into wandering, oscillating between being condemned to repeat the migrant’s ancestral past and the vigour of someone facing new challenges. A journey similar to the one undertaken by those Spanish actors of the thirties who left their country in response to the enticing siren calls coming from the Mecca of cinema, as we are reminded by Óscar Pérez (Hollywood Talkies).
Between two shores also drifts Emak Bakia Baita, the dialogue between Man Ray’s “journey” to the Basque country at the beginning of the last century and this sinuous investigation of Oskar Alegria: between the anarchy and chance of the former and the game-like poetic evocation of the latter who tries to capture what may already be no more than dust in the wind.

Retracing
These films also retrace a path to find lost answers and propose an exercise of introspection which leads to the original knots in order to lift blockages from the past and free a few passages to the present. This is the rugged but sometimes redemptory trail that documentary must take in the same way as Spanish society as a whole whose profound fractures of the past still gape open.
Two women directors explore the family fractures of their filial relationships as daughters. Pilar Monsell (África 815) assumes all the ambiguity of the complex and painful story of her father’s love life against the backdrop of a cumbersome colonial heritage. In the closed circle of their interaction, she captures this troubled narrative in a reflective mode of listening, as if the film were a gesture of mutual recognition and peacemaking in regard to their fruitless relationship. Francina Verdés (La casa del meu pare) crisscrosses the region of Navarre to question those who, like her, support the burden of a tradition which excludes them from their inheritance in favour of the eldest son.
When witnesses and images do not exist, between myth and History, it becomes more difficult to find a path back to the past. Carolina Astudillo Muñoz (El gran vuelo) takes hold of this absence of evidence to reconstruct the trajectory of the life of an unknown heroine, a clandestine militant during the first years of Franco’s dictatorship. Through a meticulous montage of amateur archives, the director manages to give flesh to the most occult and intimate aspects of this woman’s political commitment.
Jorge Tur Moltó (Dime quién era Sanchicorrota) also takes on the job of reviving the story of a legendary “Robin of the Desert” of Navarre, a pretext for his encounters with the local inhabitants, each one spinning their own version of the tale. Through the stories gathered during his exploration of the region, its traditions and its landscape, periods clash and he exhumes other strata of a still living History. And once again, Francina Verdés (Cosas raras que pasaban antes) in a short film foreshadowing La casa del meu pare, takes to the road to accompany a Civil War veteran. Retracing such a long path means that you sometimes get lost. The forgotten passages and disappearances against which the old man stumbles reminds us of the amnesia of Spain's recent History. How it is sometimes so difficult, indeed impossible, to pick up memory of a history which has already become so distant.

Dense past, slow present
This past which in Spain is so dense is being transformed slowly and with inertia. Trying to reveal or to reverse this heavy inheritance by an artistic and cinematic gesture... this is one of the suggestive challenges of contemporary creation.
Overthrowing the state, that is literally the proposal of two artists Jorge Galindo and Santiago Sierra (Los encargados), where we see the faces of the nation’s government, “those responsible”, marching in the capital upside down, to the sound of anarchist songs. Another inversion is carried out by the collective Los Hijos (enero, 2012 (o la apoteosis de Isabel la Católica)) who play with the confrontation of sound and image to expose the paradox between the monumental past of Madrid, its archaic sight-seeing commentary, and the present of its citizens who seem petrified by the uncertainty of their condition. In a completely different manner but with the same dialectic desire, Andreas Fontana (Pedro M, 1981) revisits the past by rewriting over the historic images of the aborted 1981 military coup familiar to all Spaniards. Through a fictional investigation, the director proposes interviews that blur interpretation and digs beneath the facts to imagine more intimate and sometimes unsuspected motives.
It is with a more classical documentary approach that Alessandro Pugno (All’ombra della croce) manages to enter a taboo site, the sadly reputed Valle de los Caídos (“Valley of the Fallen”) to try to discover the subterranean faultlines of the past. His distant observation of the functioning of the religious institution rooted in Francoism lifts to the surface other erased faces from the past hiding just behind the present façade, and brings us closer to what is taught and transmitted here.
In a radical change of universe, but with a similar formal approach and a space also hidden from outside eyes, young filmmakers Carmen Esplandiu and Emilia Valentin (La senyora que feia senyors) take us into the daily existence of a bordello. The activity of the house only filters through the family-like management of the premises’ mistress, present in each shot of the film. From off screen we pick up fragments of a world of sadness and the social violence of forced labour, concentrated in a place that seems from another time and yet unchangeable.
The same ambiguous feeling permeates A Conserveira by David Batlle: the work in this Galician cannery takes us back to a time that seems distant. The entirely manual procedures that we follow from gesture to gesture, repetitive and uninterrupted, conjure up labour on an assembly line and its violence. Time also seems to have stopped in Muebles Aldeguer. Under the attentive gaze of Irene M. Borrego the present suddenly becomes almost peaceful, made up of minimalist gestures in this little shopping mall where clients are rare and where two men, whose silhouettes create a solitary choreography of abandon, are occupied with killing time.
Víctor Moreno (La piedra) sets his gaze in turn on an outsider of society, as local as he is foreign, a true Sisyphus – the association is inescapable – who moves ahead step by step, little by little, stubbornly, like the filmmaker constructing his film. Two men, the filmed and the filmmaker, absorbed in solving the obstacles that crop up, veering sometimes to the burlesque, to imagine – perhaps? – a final result to their labour.

Mutations
Some of these filmmakers believe that cinema can be an experience of transformation, capable of altering the situations and thoughts of those who watch, mutate the spaces and people it films and to think its own mutation.
Jet Lag by Eloy Domínguez Serén incidentally poses a slew of questions on the act of filming a documentary today. Starting from an initial proposal which resembles an exercise, an event shakes the film’s strategy, protagonist and crew from their nocturnal torpor. A minimal space is constructed then in which a cinematographic tale gets carried away by the Real.
The impressive metaphor and free interpretation by the artist Greta Alfaro (In ictu oculi) offers us in the blink of an eye and one sequence several possible readings of our current world: an economic, environmental or military vision... or, like in ancient fables, animals mirroring the behaviour of human beings, predator, destroyer.
The essay by Elías León Siminani (Límites primera persona), based on a supposed home movie of holidays in the desert strings along and ties together its amorous relationship, revisits its images like in an archive film to create with a perspicacious sense of self-derision a filmed letter always apt to transform feelings.
The direction by Eloy Enciso Cachafeiro (Arraianos) pays great attention to the beauty of bodies and places, faces and gestures. The choice of blending daily life with the fable and the director’s desire to recount transfigure a village. The invitation to the village inhabitants to act, the seriousness and pleasure they express in doing so, make apparent their relation to this land, to their language, the gravity and joy of being there.

Miquel Martí Freixas and Christophe Postic


Discussions moderated by Miquel Martí Freixas and Christophe Postic.
With the participation of Oskar Alegría, Irene M. Borrego, Eloy Enciso Cachafeiro, Andreas Fontana, Pilar Monsell, Eloy Domínguez Serén.
With the support of Acción Cultural Española (AC/E), the Office Culturel de l’Ambassade d’Espagne à Paris, and the Institut Français d’Espagne.

Les États généraux du film documentaire 2015 Route du doc : Espagne

Route du doc : Espagne


Entre deux mondes
De l’intime à l’Histoire, de la narration personnelle au portrait du monde qui les entoure, les films des cinéastes espagnols explorent la complexité du territoire et la richesse de ceux qui le peuplent, sans pour autant cesser de regarder au-delà des frontières, en cherchant des reflets et des similitudes entre le local et le forain, entre soi et l’autre, entre le passé et le présent, les vivants et les morts, tout ce qui crée un écart dans lequel peut se glisser le cinéma.
Andrés Duque, vénézuélien établi en Espagne, vit dans le territoire éthéré de l’exilé et nous livre un journal intime comme en suspension (Ensayo final para utopía), dont l’ordre des pages semble seulement répondre à la sensibilité de ses souvenirs, où grâce et gravité s’accordent dans des moments d’apnée visuelle et sonore. D’une autre génération, Eloy Domínguez Serén réfléchit aussi au fil des jours de son journal filmé à cette dualité : l’abandon de sa Galice natale pour trouver n’importe quel travail en Suède, autant dire aux antipodes (Ingen Ko På Isen). Une âme contrainte à l’errance, oscillant entre la condamnation à répéter un passé ancestral de migrant et la vigueur de celui qui fait face à de nouveaux défis. Un voyage semblable à celui de ces acteurs espagnols qui dans les années trente ont laissé derrière eux leur pays pour répondre aux chants prometteurs des sirènes de La Mecque du cinéma, comme nous le fait revivre Óscar Pérez (Hollywood Talkies).
Entre deux rives navigue également (Emak Bakia Baita) le dialogue entre le « voyage » de Man Ray au Pays basque, au début d’un autre siècle, et l’enquête sinueuse d’Oskar Alegría : entre l’anarchie et le hasard du premier et l’évocation poétique et ludique du second qui tente de saisir ce qui ne serait déjà plus qu’une poussière dans le vent.

Retracer
Retracer un chemin pour trouver des réponses égarées et se livrer à un exercice d’introspection qui mène aux nœuds originels, pour lever les entraves du passé et libérer quelques passages dans le présent. C’est un sentier escarpé mais parfois salvateur que doit emprunter le documentaire tout autant que la société espagnole, dont les profondes fractures issues du passé restent encore ouvertes.
Deux réalisatrices explorent les failles familiales de leur relation filiale. Pilar Monsell (África 815) accueille toute l’ambiguïté de l’histoire amoureuse complexe et douloureuse de son père, en prise avec un passé colonial encombrant. Dans le huis clos de leur relation, elle accueille ce récit troublé dans une écoute « réfléchissante », comme un geste d’apaisement et de reconnaissance mutuelle, au regard de leur relation infructueuse. Francina Verdés (La casa del meu pare) sillonne la région de Navarre pour interroger ceux qui, comme elle, subissent le poids de la tradition les excluant de tout héritage au profit du fils aîné. « Comment intègre-t-on ce passé dans le présent ? » dit-elle pour formuler un doute plus intime. Ses rencontres la mèneront à pointer les contradictions et assumer les séparations, aussi douloureuses soient-elles.
En l’absence de témoins et d’images, entre le mythe et l’Histoire, il devient plus difficile de retrouver un chemin vers le passé. Carolina Astudillo Muñoz (El gran vuelo) se saisit de cette absence de traces pour reconstruire la trajectoire de la vie d’une inconnue, militante clandestine dans les premières années de la dictature franquiste. Par un montage minutieux d’archives amateur, la réalisatrice réussit à incarner les aspects plus occultes et intimes de l’engagement politique de cette femme.
Jorge Tur Moltó (Dime quién era Sanchicorrota) s’attelle lui aussi à réveiller l’histoire d’un légendaire « Robin du désert » de Navarre, prétexte à des rencontres avec les autochtones, chacun y allant de sa version de l’histoire. À travers les récits recueillis dans son exploration de la région, de ses traditions et de son paysage, les époques s’entrechoquent et il exhume d’autres strates de l’Histoire encore bien vivante. Et à nouveau, Francina Verdés (Cosas raras que pasaban antes), dans un court métrage prémonitoire de La casa del meu pare, prend la route pour accompagner un vétéran de la guerre civile. Retracer un si long chemin conduit parfois à se perdre. L’oubli et les disparitions auxquelles se heurte le vieil homme nous rappellent les amnésies de l’Histoire récente de l’Espagne. À quel point il est parfois difficile, voire impossible, de saisir la mémoire historique quand elle est déjà si lointaine.

Dense passé, lent présent.
Ce passé, qui en Espagne est si dense, se transforme lentement et avec inertie. Tenter de dévoiler ou d’inverser ce lourd héritage, par un geste artistique et cinématographique… C’est l’un des défis plus suggestifs de la création contemporaine.
Renverser le pouvoir, c’est littéralement la proposition des deux artistes Jorge Galindo et Santiago Sierra (Los encargados), où l’on voit défiler dans la capitale en miroir, au son du chant des anarchistes, les figures des gouvernants de la nation : « les responsables ». Inversion encore, avec le collectif Los Hijos (enero, 2012 (o la apoteosis de Isabel la Católica)) qui joue de la confrontation entre son et image, pour exposer le paradoxe entre le passé monumental de Madrid, son commentaire archaïco-touristique, et le présent de ses citoyens comme pétrifiés par l’incertitude de leur condition. Tout autrement mais avec un même désir dialectique, Andreas Fontana (Pedro M, 1981) revisite le passé en réécrivant par-delà les images historiques connues de tous en Espagne : celles du coup d'État manqué de 1981. Par un travail d’investigation fictionnelle, le réalisateur nous livre des témoignages qui brouillent toute interprétation et creuse en deçà des faits pour imaginer des ressorts plus intimes parfois insoupçonnés.
C’est par une démarche documentaire plus classique qu’Alessandro Pugno (All'ombra della croce) réussit à pénétrer un lieu tabou, le tristement connu Valle de los Caídos (« Vallée de ceux qui sont tombés »), pour tenter de découvrir des lignes souterraines du passé. Son observation distante du fonctionnement de l’institution religieuse enracinée dans la dictature franquiste fait affleurer derrière la façade du présent d’autres visages occultes du passé et nous fait approcher ce qui s’enseigne et se transmet ici.
Changement radical d’univers, mais avec une approche formelle et un lieu soustrait au regard similaires, les jeunes cinéastes Carmen Esplandiu et Emilia Valentin (La senyora que feia senyors) nous entraînent dans le quotidien d’une maison close qui porte bien son nom. L’activité du lieu ne filtre qu’à travers la gestion familiale de la maîtresse des lieux, présente à chaque plan du film. Du hors champ nous parviennent des bribes d’une tristesse du monde et de la violence sociale d’un travail contraint, concentrées dans ce lieu qui semble d’une autre époque et pourtant immuable.
Le même sentiment ambigu se dégage de A Conserveira de David Batlle : le travail dans cette conserverie de Galice nous ramène à une époque qui semble lointaine et à des manières de procéder entièrement manuelles que l’on suit de gestes en gestes, répétitifs et ininterrompus comme l’est le travail à la chaîne et sa violence. Le temps semble aussi s’être arrêté dans Muebles Aldeguer. Sous le regard attentif d’Irene M. Borrego, le présent devient soudain presque paisible, fait de gestes minimalistes, dans cette petite galerie commerçante où le client se fait rare et où deux hommes dont les silhouettes créent une chorégraphie solitaire de l’abandon, s’emploient à tuer le temps.
Víctor Moreno (La piedra) fixe à son tour son regard sur un outsider de la société, autant local que forain, véritable Sisyphe – l’évocation est immanquable – qui avance pas à pas, peu à peu, obstiné, tout comme le cinéaste construit son film. Deux hommes, le filmé et le filmeur, absorbés à résoudre les obstacles qui surgissent, virant parfois au burlesque, pour imaginer – peut-être ? – un résultat final à leur labeur.

Mutations
Croire en le cinéma en tant qu’expérience de transformation, capable d’altérer les situations et les pensées de ceux qui le regardent, de muer les espaces et les personnes qu’il filme, et de penser sa propre mutation.
Jet Lag d’Eloy Domínguez Serén pose incidemment une multitude de questions sur le fait de filmer un documentaire aujourd’hui. D’une proposition initiale aux allures d’exercice, un événement sort de leur torpeur nocturne dispositif, protagoniste et équipe de réalisation. Se construit alors, dans un espace minimal, un récit cinématographique emporté par le réel.
L’impressionnante métaphore, interprétation libre de l’artiste Greta Alfaro (In ictu oculi) nous propose en un clin d’œil et une séquence quelques lectures possibles de notre monde actuel ; à savoir une vision économique, environnementale, militaire… ou encore, comme dans les fables anciennes, les animaux se font miroir du comportement de l’être humain, prédateur, destructeur. 
L’essai d’Elías León Siminani (Límites primera persona), partant d’un supposé film de vacances dans le désert, file et effile sa relation amoureuse, revisite ses images comme un matériau d’archive pour construire avec une perspicace autodérision une lettre filmée toujours à même de transformer les sentiments.
La mise en scène d’Eloy Enciso Cachafeiro (Arraianos) est d’une grande attention à la beauté des corps et des lieux, des visages et des gestes. Le choix de mêler le quotidien à la fable et son désir de conter transfigurent le village. L’invitation à jouer faite aux villageois, leur sérieux et le plaisir qu’ils y trouvent font transparaître leur relation à cette terre et à leur langue, la gravité et la joie d’être là.

Miquel Martí Freixas et Christophe Postic


Débats animés par Miquel Martí Freixas et Christophe Postic.
En présence d'Oskar Alegría, Irene M. Borrego, Eloy Enciso Cachafeiro, Andreas Fontana, Pilar Monsell, Eloy Domínguez Serén,
Avec le soutien de Acción Cultural Española (AC/E), de l’Office Culturel de l’Ambassade d’Espagne à Paris, et de l’Institut Français d’Espagne.