Les États généraux du film documentaire 2014 Doc Route: The Netherlands

Doc Route: The Netherlands


With the support of Eye International.

The number of long films in this programme is a fairly faithful reflection of documentary film production in the Netherlands. Financially connected to the television industry and profiting from quite favourable conditions of production and distribution, Dutch documentary cinema also benefits from the dynamics created by one of the largest international festivals and markets of documentary film (IDFA - International Documentary Festival of Amsterdam, created in 1988). To that could be added the support of the Netherlands Film Fund and the promotion of the country's production abroad with Eye International whose role has been to foster a real vitality and fine diversity of documentary creation. This has allowed independent producers to promote films which find their audiences in cinemas and regularly in international selections. A single dark spot in this picture even if it be of importance: the programmed disappearance of the precious Dutch Cultural Media Fund which, after more than twenty-five years supporting creation, will no doubt lead to a reshuffling of cards and finances that could threaten this exceptional situation.

Just a reminder that the Route du Doc selection dedicated each year to a country's recent production is neither a panorama with the intention of being representative or exhaustive, nor an emblematic choice of a country's work. It is a programme that is constructed first of all film by film, then in the resonances or dissemblances they create. The resultant assembly is also the result of the meeting of two ways of looking (home-grown and foreign), two perceptions and two sensibilities. And so we permit ourselves after the fact two preliminary remarks. Pure chance, exactly one half of the chosen films were shot outside the Netherlands; hypothesis: the size of the country particularly encourages its filmmakers to go and see what's happening elsewhere, not because stories and memories are lacking but because the confrontation with the foreign remains a promise of a more intrigued viewpoint. Recurrence, a certain number of films particularly remarkable by the quality of their testimony privilege a sociological rather than a cinematographic approach, running the risk sometimes of becoming an inventory and showing an excess of formal mastery. This effort at content capacity can be a way of exorcising our fears and smoothing over those deep currents of unease which cross our lives and these films: passing time, separations, disappearances. We preferred those films which confront these turbulences as an attempted break with the norm, transgressing limits more than containing them - less in the idea of reparation than of confrontation - a little like those figures we meet, most often on the margins of a society which is too narrow for them and which leaves them little space. Boris Ryzhy, Russian poet, still irradiates by his presence those friends he deliberately left behind, breathless but not wordless. Showing a soft fantasy, a little clumsy and terribly attaching, this eponymous film transports us among these little Soviet housing estates where the filmmaker retraced a few survivors of a generation perhaps sacrificed, but still inhabited, troubled - like we the audience - by the voice of the dead poet. The presence of Matthew is truly real and alarmingly more disturbing. We penetrate like into a cavern the intimacy of the world of Matthew's Laws, authorised only by the relation that connects the director to his friend, but not without a certain unease, fearful of the sudden bursts of violence and scrutinising the lights of his face when an encounter seems suddenly possible. Via Dolorosa is a film in which the camera abandons the sets and crowds of a religious procession to isolate the faces, the faces deformed by fervour, contemplation or suffering, becoming here a figure of style. Which is not at all the intention of Ne me quitte pas whose rather brutal entry could suggest that worse is on the way, before these two inseparable drunks find their place in the film, against the will of their own inebriated bodies. More than a complicity that could become coloured with indulgence, it is the persevering fidelity of the two filmmakers which finally reveal the fragile humanities of their subjects, a fidelity in the image of these two companions of misfortune.

Elsewhere, in Sierre Leone, with Shadow'man, marginality takes on the violent form of exclusion. How can we bear witness to the suffering of these men, how can we be there with them, filming, in this precarity otherwise than in humbly sharing these moments of wandering through the night in search of a shelter, those moments of solidarity and conflict? For these men desperate to inhabit a world which refuses itself to them, the film remains a meagre refuge, as ephemeral and sometimes as intense as an encounter. Like that with Mashoud, this fisherman who seems immortal but who feels his strength leave him and longs for a final trophy. He is willing to transmit the secrets of his experience, under no doubt that he is the best, and invites us to more magical rituals. He as an irascible, impatient but magnificent master among the tribe of the Wavumba, They who Smell of Fish, the incarnation of a forgotten figure who has haunted the filmmaker since childhood.

The weight of heritage is also at the centre of the director's work in Parts of Family. His parents decided not to separate, but lived as co-tenants under the same roof of a wealthy villa, former lovers who seemed to have forgotten even the motives of their encounter. The director attempts neither to explain nor to repair, but the film makes tangible this shared common space: together and separate. He is with one and the other, he is their shared body, which irrigates during the length of the film a long dried out river-bed. “Ne me quitte pas !” resonates here strangely. An order that can also sound like a hopeless wish so clearly it announces, in the end, its inevitable response. It could be the story of Not without you, the whole life of a couple, an entire life of putting up with each other a little for there is a lot of love. And if the necessity of parting is becoming clearer, it is that death is approaching. The intimity offered to our eyes passes by the eyes of another couple, the son and his companion, filmmakers, as attentive and well intentioned as are to each other the two aging artists, still at their work. This delicate touch could also apply to An Angel in Doel whose director accompanies and supports by his presence Emilienne's refusal to leave her house. He brings to life, from one encounter to another, the fragility and resistance of these bodies, inhabitants who refuse to become the ghosts of their village destined for demolition. There, the city spreads but elsewhere, nature reclaims her rights. Nature et Nostalgie conceals behind the austerity of its title a film of greatly sensitive intelligence. Over more than a decade, Digna Sinke has observed the transformations of the last inhabited island in the Netherlands. The farmers must leave their lands. Shot by shot, we discover the metamorphoses of the landscape and little by little, is born this subversive idea that a natural landscape can be much more that which is fashioned by the handiwork and presence of men than that desire we express today for a landscape immaculate, empty and reconstructed. Memories and more intimate stories very subtly mix with these transformations of scenery, a companion disappears, a landscape erases, another is sketched in, the world changes. Some years before that, Jos de Putter filmed the last seasons of his parent farmers, attentive to their last gestures, their rare words, to the declining light. “What a fine day!” It's important to hear these words on film and look with them at the landscape to measure the full impact of the time that has passed, a day as well as a lifetime. The mutations of the country have continued and The Hum of Holland gives them unexpected form. A true auscultation of the noises produced by the flat country, the film reveals with exceptional clarity a soundscape which has become noisier, more invasive and intrusive.

As a preliminary to this programme, Lovely Weather Every Day offers to cross a century with short accounts of life in postcards, and Escort immerses us into a contemporary reality: we participate in the training of young police recruits in the expulsion at the border of illegal migrants. The training focuses on neutralising and transporting recalcitrant bodies while drawing attention to the necessity for respectful and humane attitudes and practices. The camera records the contradictions and picks up with acuity the uncertainty or lucidity expressed by some of the trainees until the day they move into practice. During the selection, a little detour with Farewell whose amazing archive images where History is unceasingly present reveal all the unease and excess of an era. Then a completely different story with See No Evil where three chimpanzees tested to react to human experiences and desires hold forth to us a troubling mirror.

Herman de Wit and Christophe Postic


Debates led by Herman de Wit and Christophe Postic.
In the presence of Guido Hendrikx, Jos de Putter and Digna Sinke.

Thanks to : Fleur Knopperts, Lisa Linde Nieveld, Erik Mund, Denis Vaslin.

Les États généraux du film documentaire 2014 Route du doc : Pays-Bas

Route du doc : Pays-Bas


Avec le soutien de Eye International.

Le nombre de longs métrages présentés dans cette programmation est un assez fidèle reflet de la production du cinéma documentaire aux Pays-Bas. Financièrement lié à la télévision et bénéficiant en cela de conditions de production et de diffusion assez favorables, le cinéma documentaire profite également de la dynamique d’un des plus grands festivals et marchés internationaux de documentaires (IDFA – Festival International du Film Documentaire d’Amsterdam, créé en 1988). À cela s’ajoutent le soutien du Netherlands Film Fund et la promotion de la cinématographie nationale à l’étranger avec Eye International qui ont favorisé jusqu’à aujourd’hui une réelle vitalité et une belle diversité du documentaire. Cela permet à des producteurs indépendants de défendre des films qui trouvent parfois le chemin de la salle et régulièrement celui des sélections internationales. Une seule ombre au tableau mais non des moindres, la disparition programmée du précieux Dutch Cultural Media Fund, après plus de vingt-cinq ans au service de la création, annonce une redistribution des cartes et des finances qui menace cette situation d’exception.

Il nous faut rappeler ici que cette sélection consacrée chaque année à la production récente d’un pays n’est ni un panorama au sens représentatif ou exhaustif, ni un choix emblématique mais une programmation qui se construit en premier lieu film après film, puis dans leur résonance ou leur dissemblance. L’assemblage qui en résulte est aussi le fruit de la rencontre de deux regards (étranger et autochtone), de deux perceptions et de deux sensibilités. Dès lors, autorisons-nous a posteriori, deux remarques préliminaires. Pur hasard, la moitié exactement des films choisis ont été tournés hors des Pays-Bas ; hypothèse : ce petit pays encourage particulièrement à aller voir ailleurs ce qu’il s’y passe, non qu’il manque d’histoires et de mémoires mais la confrontation à l’étranger reste la promesse possible d’un regard plus intrigué. Récurrence, un certain nombre de films tout à fait remarquables par leurs témoignages privilégient une approche plus sociologique que cinématographique, au risque parfois de l’inventaire ou de l’excès de maîtrise. Cet effort pour contenir peut être une manière de conjurer nos peurs et lisser un peu ces inquiétudes profondes qui traversent nos vies et ces films : le temps qui passe, les séparations, les disparitions. Nous avons préféré les films qui affrontent ces turbulences comme une tentative d’effraction, franchissant les limites plus qu’ils ne les contiennent – moins réparer que se confronter – à l’image même des figures qu’on y rencontre, le plus souvent à la marge d’une société qui leur est trop étroite et bien peu accueillante. Boris Ryzhy, poète russe, irradie encore de sa présence ses proches qu’il a délibérément quittés, à bout de souffle mais pas de mots. D’une douce fantaisie très attachante, le film éponyme nous débarque au milieu d’une de ces petites cités soviétiques où la réalisatrice retrouve quelques rescapés d’une génération sacrifiée mais encore habités et troublés – tout comme nous – par la voix du disparu. La présence de Matthew est, elle, bien réelle et autrement troublante. On pénètre comme dans un gouffre dans l’intimité du monde de Matthew's Laws, autorisé seulement par la relation qui lie le réalisateur à son ami, mais non sans un certain malaise, redoutant les accès de violence et suspendu aux éclats de son visage quand la rencontre semble soudain possible. Via Dolorosa, dont la caméra délaisse le décor et la foule d’une procession religieuse pour isoler les visages, figures déformées par la ferveur, le recueillement ou la souffrance, fera ici figure de style. Ce qui n’est pas du tout l’intention de Ne me quitte pas, dont l’entrée en matière plutôt brutale peut laisser craindre le pire jusqu’à ce que ces deux inséparables esseulés ne trouvent leur place dans le film, à leurs corps enivrés défendant. Plus qu’une complicité qui frôlerait la complaisance, c’est la fidélité persévérante des deux réalisateurs qui dévoile finalement leurs fragiles humanités, une fidélité à l’image de l’amitié de ces deux compagnons d’infortune.

Ailleurs, au Sierra Leone, avec Shadow’man, les marginalités prennent la forme violente de l’exclusion. Comment porter le regard sur la souffrance de ces hommes, comment être là avec eux, à filmer, dans cette précarité, autrement qu’en partageant humblement ces moments d’errance la nuit à la recherche d’un abri, ces moments d’entraide ou de conflits ? Pour ces hommes qui voudraient pouvoir habiter ce monde qui se refuse à eux, le film reste un maigre refuge, aussi éphémère mais parfois aussi intense qu’une rencontre. Comme celle avec Mashoud, ce pêcheur qui semble immortel mais sent sa force le quitter et convoite un dernier trophée. Il veut bien transmettre ses secrets d’expérience, sans douter qu’il soit le meilleur, et nous convier à des rituels plus magiques. Il est un maître irascible et impatient mais magnifique de la tribu des Wavumba, They Who Smell of Fish, l’incarnation d’une figure oubliée qui hante le cinéaste depuis l’enfance.

Le poids de l’héritage est aussi au travail pour le réalisateur de Parts of a Family. Ses parents ont fait le choix de ne pas se séparer, vivant comme deux colocataires sous le même toit d’une villa cossue, anciens amants qui en auraient oublié jusqu’aux motifs de leur rencontre. Il ne cherche ni à expliquer ni à réparer, mais le film rend tangible cet espace commun partagé : ensemble et séparé. Il est avec l’un et l’autre, il est le corps commun qui irrigue, le temps du film, le lit d’une rivière asséchée. « Ne me quitte pas ! » résonne ici étrangement. Une injonction qui peut aussi sonner comme un vœu sans espoir tant elle énonce, à la fin, sa réponse inéluctable. Ce serait un peu l’histoire de Not Without You, toute la vie d’un couple, une vie entière à se supporter un peu car l’on s’aime beaucoup. Et s’il faudra bien se séparer, c’est que la mort approche. L’intimité qui s’offre à nous passe par le regard d’un autre couple, le fils et sa compagne cinéastes, tout aussi attentifs et attentionnés que le sont l’un à l’autre les deux artistes vieillissants, toujours au travail. La délicatesse peut également qualifier L’Ange de Doel dont le réalisateur accompagne et soutient par sa présence Emilienne dans son refus de quitter sa maison. Il fait exister, d’une rencontre à l’autre, la fragilité et la résistance de ces corps, habitants qui se refusent à devenir les fantômes de leur village promis à la destruction. Si la ville s’étend, ailleurs la nature reprend ses droits. Nature et Nostalgie cache derrière l’austérité de son titre un film d’une grande intelligence sensible. Sur plus d’une décennie, Digna Sinke a observé les transformations de la dernière île habitée des Pays-Bas. Les paysans doivent quitter leurs terres. Plan après plan, on découvre les métamorphoses du paysage et petit à petit naît cette idée subversive qu’un paysage naturel puisse être bien plus celui façonné par la présence et le travail des hommes, que celui façonné par son désir de nature, immaculée, dépeuplée et reconstruite. Des souvenirs et des récits plus intimes se mêlent subtilement à ces transformations du paysage, un compagnon disparaît, un paysage s’efface, un autre se dessine, le monde change. Des années auparavant, Jos de Putter a filmé la dernière saison de ses parents agriculteurs, attentifs aux derniers gestes, aux mots rares, à la lumière qui décline. « Quelle belle journée ! » : il faut les entendre le dire dans le film et regarder avec eux le paysage pour prendre toute la mesure du temps qui a passé, une journée tout autant qu’une vie. Les mutations du pays se sont entre-temps poursuivies et The Hum of Holland leur donne forme d’une manière inattendue. Auscultant véritablement les sons du plat pays, le film révèle avec clarté un paysage sonore de plus en plus bruyant, envahissant et intrusif.

En préambule de ce programme, Lovely Weather Every Day nous proposera une traversée d’un siècle, en un court récit en cartes postales et Escort nous plongera ensuite dans une réalité contemporaine. Nous y assistons à une formation de jeunes recrues de la police qui les prépare à reconduire à la frontière des personnes expulsées. Tout en les sensibilisant à des attitudes et des pratiques respectueuses et humaines, l’encadrement leur apprend à neutraliser et transporter les corps récalcitrants. La caméra enregistre les contradictions et capte avec acuité l’incertitude ou la lucidité qui s’immisce chez certains d’entre eux, jusqu’au jour de la mise en pratique. En cours de route, petit détour dans ce parcours avec Farewell dont les images d’archives saisissantes où l’Histoire affleure sans cesse laissent surgir toute l’inquiétude et les excès d’une époque. Puis d’une tout autre histoire il sera question dans le nouveau film de Jos de Putter, See No Evil, où trois chimpanzés soumis aux expériences et désirs des humains nous tendent un miroir troublant.

Herman de Wit et Christophe Postic


Débats animés par Herman de Wit et Christophe Postic.
En présence de Guido Hendrikx, Jos de Putter et Digna Sinke.

Remerciements : Fleur Knopperts, Lisa Linde Nieveld, Erik Mund, Denis Vaslin.