Les États généraux du film documentaire 2011 Doc History: Czechoslovakia

Doc History: Czechoslovakia


In 2008, the "Doc Route" programme presented recent documentaries from Czech Republic and Slovakia. In spite of differences of style and approach, all the films drew from a particular documentary tradition. Drawing from films made between 1918 and 1992, "Doc History" proposes this year to analyse how this film tradition was forged.

Like in other European countries, Czechoslovakian documentary grew up under the double influence of avant-garde films and newsreels. In the twenties, newsreels occupied an important place in the cinema programme and, specially in Prague, artistic and cultural circles were catalysts of creativity in all arts, including film. At the end of the twenties and during the thirties — a period of political and economic turbulence but social and cultural stability —, a certain number of films were produced, not in great quantity, but of undeniable quality. In Prague Illuminated by Millions of Lights by Svatopluk Innemann (1928) and We Live in Prague by Otakar Vávra (1934), we find examples of the "city symphonies" which attracted other filmmakers of the time. Aimless Walk by Alexander Hackenschmied (1930) seems directly inspired by the impressionism of Joris Ivens in his film Rain. Light Penetrates the Dark by Otakar Vávra and František Pilát (1930) as well as The Magic Eye by Jiří Lehovec (1939) follow the lines of experimental film developed by Man Ray or Walter Ruttmann. During this period, we can nonetheless observe an evolution towards more poetic, more lyrical films and the emergence of films showing more social interest. The Land Is Singing by Karel Plicka (1933), a poetic and musical homage to Slovakian landscapes, recovers from this tradition. At the same period, filmmakers like Jiří Weiss in 1938, are forced into exile and express greater commitment in their view of the country.
In 1938, after the Munich Agreement, the Czechoslovakian Republic lost Sudetenland to the Third Reich, and the country was split during the Second World War. Film production did not entirely cease but was limited essentially to newsreels and reports as well as officially acceptable portraits and scientific films. Otakar Vávra managed to compile a montage film devoted to Nazi occupation and Czech resistance. With The Way to Barricades (1946), he made an exceptional document on life under occupation, the country's liberation and the return of the exiled President, Edvard Bene. While the enthusiasm and patriotism may seem today a little excessive, the power of the film resides in the quality of its editing and in the events it reveals.

The Communist takeover in February 1948 marked the beginning of the era of the Socialist Republic of Czechoslovakia. Film production was then in the service of State ideology, which limited neither the growth nor the quality of production. War and reconstruction were recurrent themes in the documentaries of the forties and fifties. Some films are powerful testimonies to Nazi barbarity. Karel Kachyňa and Vojtěch Jasný's There Are Not Clouds All the Time (1949) is a typical film on the reconstruction of, in this case, rural Moldavia, adopting a highly original approach mixing professional and non-professional actors. In spite of the propagandistic tone of the film, the two directors display their talent through the editing and mastery of film language.

Miro Bernat used the drawings of Jewish children to recount the horrors of life in the camps of Theresienstadt. Butterflies Don't Live Here (1958) is at once poetic and poignant. Pavel Háša's Lidice (1965) is a testimonial to unlimited barbarity. This indispensable film recounts the tragic fate of a Czech village, Lidice, totally razed in June 1942 by the Germans who shot all the men and many of the women.
During this period, other films demonstrated the quality and creativity of some directors. Reworking the principle of crossing a town borrowed from some avant-garde films, People and Hot Dogs by Pavel Blumenfeld (1948), communicates a tender and ironic viewpoint on the inhabitants of Prague. Other films respond more overtly to their mission as propaganda (Štefan Uher et Štefan Köszeghy's Očami kamery, 1959) or turn to scientific subjects (Bohumil Vošahlík's What We Know About Light, 1954) displaying perfect cinematic mastery. The poetic and metaphoric film, The Story of the Old River by Jiří Lehovec (1957), relating history and life around the Vlata River, is attached to this tradition.

The sixties were marked by political relaxation and censorship became less strict. This led to an explosion of creativity giving birth to the Czech New Wave; the reputation of Czech cinema spread far beyond the country's borders. The excellent Czech film school, FAMU, played a key role training filmmakers such as Věra Chytilová and Miloš Forman. Mostly known for their fiction films, they also directed a few documentaries. Věra Chytilová immediately displayed her originality with A Bag of Fleas (1962) in which she affirmed the free style of Daisies (1966). Miloš Forman's film Talent Competition (1963) is in the same tone whereas the talented Radúz Činčera made the astonishing film It's My Bucket (1963) which can be read either as an apology of state ideology or a ferocious yet implicit critique. With Fog (1966), built with excerpts from the theatre of the absurd, Radúz Činčera proposed an impressionistic but no less critical film. An other surprising film, Citizens with Coats of Arms, Vít Olmer's first film (1966), analysed the place of the old aristocracy in Czech society of the sixties. Many of these films were shelved in 1968 only to reappear after 1989.

The repressive violence which put an end to the Czech Spring as witnessed by films such as Evald Schorm's Confusion (1968) or Jan Němec's Oratorio for Prague (1968), snuffed out this freedom of tone without completely restraining the creativity of filmmakers. The subject matter became distinctly less polemical, but artistic quality was still there. Some scientific films (Lux arte facta, Václav Hapl, 1977), some portraits of artists (Dialog, Pavel Koutecký, 1981), or films on social subjects (S tebou, táto, Olga Sommerová, 1981, or Time Is Merciless, Věra Chytilová, 1978 ), not to forget Dušan Hanák's masterpiece, Pictures of the Old World (1972), all show the continuity in the cinematic quality of production, as much from the point of view of cinematography and montage as in the way the subjects were approached.

The filmmaker who probably made the greatest mark on the last decades of Czechoslovakian documentary was Jan Špáta. First, cameraman for Evald Schorm, he then adopted an observational style in Railway Men (1963), a poetic film on rail workers, and he also tried his hand at "cinéma vérité" with Why? (1964). Jan Špáta moves easily from one register to another. In 1964, he directed an essay in "cinéma vérité", The Greatest Wish, which he took up again and finished twenty-five years later (The Greatest Wish II, 1990): two eloquent films on the desires of young people and their evolution over twenty-five years. Jan Špáta's films are marked by extremely carefully crafted cinematography together with a humanist sensibility: Respice finem (1967) is about the solitude of old women and not exempt from a touch of irony. Thus Easter in Mexico (1971) could be a simple travelogue but unrolls as a completely unique cinematic work thanks to the surprising creativity of its director.

We cannot close this "Doc History" programme without a film by Karel Vachek, of whom we screened two films in 2008. The first is part of the four-film series Little Capitalist. New Hyperion or Liberty, Equality, Brotherhood (1992) is a cinematic unidentified object: a collage of apparently insignificant details with the great moments of recent Czechoslovakian social, political and cultural history. Displaying little fear of contradiction, Karel Vachek appears as an inimitable narrator of modern times, in particular that of the end of the communist era and the advent of democracy.

Kees Bakker

For the first time this year, the CNC Heritage department is collaborating with the États généraux du film documentaire to organise the projection of a film from the French Film Archives: Jan Špáta's Easter in Mexico. This first contribution to "Doc History" testifies to the collaboration established between the documentary services at Bois d'Arcy and the Lussas Festival programmers, a partnership destined to become stronger in the coming years.

Presentation and debates by Kees Bakker (Jean Vigo Institute), in the presence of Olga Sommerová (under reserve).


Thanks to Vladimir Opela, Karel Zima and their colleagues at the Czech Republic's National Archives (NFA) and the Slovakian Film Institute (SFÚ) as well as to the CNC Heritage Department.

Les États généraux du film documentaire 2011 Histoire de doc : Tchécoslovaquie

Histoire de doc : Tchécoslovaquie


En 2008, le programme « Route du doc » a présenté des productions documentaires récentes de République tchèque et de Slovaquie. Malgré des styles et des approches différents, l'ensemble de ces films reposait sur une certaine tradition documentaire. À partir de films réalisés entre 1918 et 1992, « Histoire de doc » propose cette année d’analyser comment cette tradition cinématographique s’est forgée.

Comme dans d’autres pays européens, le cinéma documentaire tchèque est marqué à ses débuts par la double influence des films d’avant-garde et des actualités. Dans les années vingt, la diffusion des actualités au cinéma occupe une place importante et, notamment à Prague, les cercles artistiques et culturels sont des catalyseurs de créativité touchant également le domaine du cinéma. À la fin des années vingt et durant les années trente — période d’instabilité politique et économique mais d’une certaine stabilité sociale et culturelle —, si la quantité des films produits n’est pas très importante, leur qualité est indéniable. On retrouve dans Prague Illuminated by Millions of Lights de Svatopluk Innemann (1928) et dans Nous vivons à Prague d’Otakar Vávra (1934), les city symphonies auxquelles se sont confrontés bien d’autres cinéastes de l’époque. Aimless Walk d’Alexander Hackenschmied (1930) semble directement inspiré par les accents impressionnistes du Joris Ivens de La Pluie. Light Penetrates the Dark d’Otakar Vávra et František Pilát (1930) et The Magic Eye de Jiří Lehovec (1939) s’inscrivent dans la lignée des films expérimentaux de Man Ray ou Walter Ruttmann. Au cours de cette période, on peut néanmoins observer une évolution vers des films plus poétiques, plus lyriques et noter l’émergence de films à caractère social. La terre chante de Karel Plicka (1933), film poétique et musical sur les paysages slovaques, s'inscrit dans cette tradition. À la même période, des cinéastes, tel Jiří Weiss en 1938, sont contraints à l’exil et portent un regard plus engagé sur leur pays.

En 1938, après les accords de Munich, la République tchècoslovaque voit les Sudètes annexés au Troisième Reich, puis subit une partition pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Bien que la production cinématographique ne s’arrête pas totalement, elle se réduit essentiellement aux actualités et reportages ainsi qu’aux portraits « sages » et aux films scientifiques. Otakar Vávra parvient malgré tout à réaliser un film de montage, témoignant de l’occupation nazie et de la résistance des Tchèques. Avec The Way to Barricades (1946), il livre un document exceptionnel sur la Tchéquie sous l’occupation, sur sa libération et le retour du président exilé, Edvard Bene. Si l’enthousiasme et le patriotisme peuvent nous paraître aujourd’hui un peu excessifs, la force du film tient à la qualité du montage et aux événements qu’il nous dévoile.

Avec le putsch communiste de février 1948, commence l’ère de la République socialiste tchécoslovaque. La production cinématographique se met alors au service de l’idéologie de l’État, ce qui ne freine ni la croissance de la production ni la réalisation de films de qualité. La guerre et la reconstruction sont des sujets récurrents du documentaire des années quarante et cinquante. Certains films témoignent avec force de la barbarie nazie. There Are Not Clouds All the Time de Karel Kachyňa et Vojtěch Jasný (1949) a les traits typiques d'un film sur la reconstruction, ici celle de la Moldavie rurale, dont l’approche très originale mêle des acteurs professionnels à des ouvriers agricoles. En dépit du ton propagandiste du film, la créativité des deux cinéastes s’affirme à travers le travail de montage et la maîtrise du langage cinématographique.

Miro Bernat s’appuie sur les dessins d’enfants juifs pour témoigner des horreurs vécues dans les camps de Terezin (Theresienstadt). Butterflies Don't Live Here (1958) est un film à la fois poétique et poignant. Lidice de Pavel Háša (1965), témoigne d’une barbarie sans limite. Ce film incontournable relate le triste destin du village tchèque de Lidice, totalement rasé en juin 1942 par les Allemands qui fusillèrent tous les hommes et une partie des femmes.
Au cours de cette même période, d’autres films témoignent de la qualité et de la créativité de certains réalisateurs. Reprenant le principe de la traversée de la ville propre à certains films d’avant-garde, People and Hot Dogs de Pavel Blumenfeld (1948) porte un regard tendre et ironique sur les habitants de Prague. D’autres films répondent à des missions de propagande (Avec l'oeil de la caméra de Štefan Uher et Štefan Köszeghy, 1959) ou se consacrent à des sujets scientifiques (What We Know About Light de Bohumil Vošahlík, 1954), avec une parfaite maîtrise cinématographique. The Story of the Old River, film poétique et métaphorique de Jiří Lehovec (1957), qui relate l’histoire et la vie autour de la rivière Vlata, s’inscrit dans cette lignée.

Les années soixante sont marquées par un relâchement politique qui entraîne l'assouplissement de la censure. On constate alors une explosion de la créativité qui permet la reconnaissance du cinéma tchécoslovaque bien au-delà de ses frontières : la Nouvelle Vague tchèque. La grande école de cinéma tchèque, la FAMU, joue un rôle clé en formant des cinéastes tels Věra Chytilová et Miloš Forman. Connus pour leurs films de fiction, ils ont également réalisé quelques documentaires. Věra Chytilová fait immédiatement preuve d’originalité avec Un sac de puces (1962), dans lequel s’affirme déjà la liberté de ton des Petites marguerites (1966). Le film Audition de Miloš Forman (1963) s’inscrit dans une même tonalité tandis que le talentueux Radúz Činčera nous étonne avec le film It's My Bucket (1963) : apologie de l’idéologie de l’État ou critique implicite mais féroce ? Avec Fog (1966), construit autour de pièces de théâtre de l’absurde, Radúz Činčera propose un film impressionniste mais non moins critique. Un autre film étonnant, Citizens with Coats of Arms, premier film de Vít Olmer (1966), analyse la place de l’ancienne aristocratie dans la société tchècoslovaque des années soixante. Nombre de ces films sont écartés en 1968 pour ne réapparaître qu’après 1989.

La violence du Printemps de Prague, dont témoignent des documents exceptionnels tels Confusion de Evald Schorm (1968) ou Oratorio pour Prague de Jan Němec (1968), entraîne la disparition de cette liberté de ton, sans toutefois parvenir à brider la créativité des cinéastes. Si les sujets deviennent moins polémiques, la qualité esthétique n'en demeure pas moins présente. Certains films scientifiques (Lux arte facta, Václav Hapl, 1977), certains portraits d’artistes (Dialogue, Pavel Koutecký, 1981) ou encore des films portant sur des sujets sociétaux (Avec toi papa, Olga Sommerová, 1981 ou Le temps est impitoyable, Věra Chytilová, 1978 ) sans oublier le chef d’œuvre de Dušan Hanák, Images du vieux monde (1972), témoignent tous d’une continuité dans la qualité cinématographique des films, aussi bien du point de vue de la photographie et du montage que dans l’approche des sujets.

Le cinéaste qui a peut-être le plus marqué les dernières décennies du documentaire tchécoslovaque est Jan Špáta. D’abord caméraman d’Evald Schorm, il adopte ensuite un style observateur dans Cheminots (1963), film poétique sur des cheminots, et s’essaie aussi au cinéma vérité avec Pourquoi ? (1964). Jan Špáta passe aisément d’un registre à l’autre. En 1964, il réalise un essai de cinéma vérité, The Greatest Wish, qu’il reprend et finalise vingt-cinq ans plus tard (The Greatest Wish II, 1990) : deux films éloquents sur les désirs des jeunes générations et leurs évolutions en vingt-cinq ans. Les films de Jan Špáta se caractérisent par une photographie très soignée et une approche humaniste : Respice finem (1967) porte sur la solitude des femmes âgées et ne manque pas d’ironie. Quant à Mexique en fête (1971), il pourrait être un simple film de voyage mais se déploie comme une œuvre cinématographique à part entière grâce à la créativité surprenante du réalisateur.

Nous ne pouvions clore ce programme « Histoire de doc » sans un film de Karel Vachek, déjà présent en 2008 avec deux films. La première partie de la tétralogie Little Capitalist, Le Nouvel Hyperion ou Liberté, égalité, fraternité (1992), fait figure d’ovni cinématographique. Dans ce film, collage de détails a priori insignifiants et de grands moment de l’histoire socio-politico-culturelle récente de la Tchécoslovaquie, Karel Vachek, sans avoir peur des contradictions, apparaît comme un conteur inimitable des temps modernes, notamment de la fin de l’ère communiste et de l’avènement de la démocratie.

Kees Bakker

Pour la première fois, cette année, la Direction du Patrimoine s'associe aux États généraux du film documentaire avec la projection d’un film issu des collections des Archives françaises du film : Mexique en fête de Jan Špáta. Cette première contribution à « Histoire de doc » traduit la collaboration mise en place entre les services documentaires de Bois d'Arcy et l'équipe de programmation du festival. Ce partenariat est amené à s'intensifier dans les années à venir.

Présentation et débats par Kees Bakker (Institut Jean Vigo), en présence de Olga Sommerova (sous réserve).


Remerciements à Vladimir Opela, Karel Zima et leurs collègues des Archives nationales de la République tchèque (NFA), à l’Institut Slovaque du Film (SFÚ) ainsi qu’au CNC, Direction du Patrimoine.