Les États généraux du film documentaire 2005 Those films which concern us

Those films which concern us


While viewing the films produced this year, we were often moved. They speak of a world disappearing without new promise; they speak of unchosen ruptures and departures, and this to the very act of life leaving the body.

It is certain that the world is not doing well, and that documentary has a hard time recounting the way things are, filmmakers have a hard time finding their place in the ambient moroseness and confusion. No doubt the harsh economic realities of filmmaking is partly responsible.
Dumbed down television norms, defective or absent systems of production, wreak their toll of discouragement and exhaustion and lock filmmakers within themselves.
Is this why the films so often explore the intim-ate, the closest and most easily accessible circle of people? The movement is not new but, this year, seems particularly strong among the films we have screened.

And yet, the world thus conveyed is neither closed nor drawn in on itself.
Yet, the emotions we feel are not only sadness or sickness of the heart.
Good news! Otherness, which seemed to have been a little eclipsed, is re-emerging, or trying to re-emerge.

We have been surprised and touched by the great dignity of the characters being filmed. Not only victims, not only sacrificial lambs, but human beings bearing essential values in spite of their ambivalence, in spite of the unknown and the fear, sickness or poverty they face.
On each occasion dignity responds to adversity.
The films we present are restricted neither to the observation, nor the sociological poster.
And once again, documentary torments us, causing the question to rise within us: “where does otherness begin?”
Far away and near home. Certain films carry us over great distances in search not of difference but of a relationship which renews our own questions. Inversely, within the intimate circle, closeness is etched by a strangeness and the filmmaker finds a place which is not only that of a relation or a friend.
Singular figures emergent which neither foreclose the enigma of other beings and nor provoke compassion.

It is a vertiginous and cruel experience, one that simultaneously makes us sense our belonging to a single humanity and the irreducible gap between human beings.

This is the experience we invite you to share through this selection of films which, in extremely different modes, set up a very concrete, very direct tension and confrontation: between human beings and the events that engulf them, between people who have not lived the same things but where one tries to transmit to others his or her experience and bring some kind of aid or comfort. Sometimes this face to face is a direct confrontation between the filmmaker and the person he or she is filming.
In any case, the filmmaker plays with the viewer: taken as a witness and at the same time cautioned against reacting “as if” she or he were in the shoes of the other.

Les États généraux du film documentaire 2005 Ces films qui nous regardent

Ces films qui nous regardent


À regarder les films produits cette année, nous avons souvent été bouleversées.
Ils disent un monde qui disparaît, sans nouvelles promesses ; ils disent les ruptures et les départs non choisis, et jusqu’à la vie même qui quitte le corps.

C’est sûr, cela na va pas fort dans le monde. Le documentaire a du mal à le raconter et les réalisateurs à trouver une place face au marasme ou à la confusion. Sans doute la réalité économique du faire cinématographique a sa part. Les standards de la télévision, les modes de production défaillants ou purement absents désarment et épuisent, et enferment les réalisateurs chez eux.
Est-ce pour cette raison que les films explorent si souvent l’intime, le cercle le plus proche et facilement accessible ? Le mouvement n’est pas nouveau mais prend, cette année, une place considérable parmi les films que nous avons visionnés.

Pourtant, le monde qui nous revient n’est pas fermé / renfermé.
Pourtant, notre émotion n’est pas seulement de tristesse ou d’abattement.
Bonne nouvelle ! L’altérité, qui semblait avoir un peu disparu, ressurgit, ou tente de ressurgir.

Nous avons été surprises et marquées par la grande dignité des personnes filmées. Pas seulement victimes, pas simplement oies blanches, mais porteuses de valeurs vitales malgré leur ambivalence, malgré l’inconnu et la peur, la maladie ou la misère.
À chaque fois la dignité répond à l’adversité. Les films que nous vous présentons ne s’en tiennent pas au constat, ni au poster sociologique.
Et à nouveau le documentaire nous tourmente et nous grandit de cette question : « où commence l’altérité ? »
Loin et près de chez soi. Certains films nous font traverser les distances à la recherche non d’une différence mais d’une parenté qui renouvelle nos questions. À l’inverse, dans le cercle intime, la proximité se creuse d’une étrangeté et le réalisateur trouve une place qui n’est pas seulement celle du parent ou de l’ami.
Des figures singulières émergent qui ne referment pas l’énigme des êtres et ne provoquent pas la compassion.

Expérience vertigineuse d’une cruauté où l’on éprouve simultanément le sentiment d’appartenance à l’humanité et l’écart irréductible entre les êtres.

C’est à cette expérience que nous vous invitons à travers le parcours de films qui, selon des registres très différents, mettent en jeu une tension, un face-à-face très concret : entre un être et un événement qui le submerge, entre des personnes qui n’ont pas le même vécu mais dont l’une essaie de transmettre aux autres son expérience ou de leur venir en aide. Parfois ce face-à-face se joue plus frontalement entre le réalisateur et la personne qu’il filme.
Dans tous les cas, il se joue avec le spectateur : pris à témoin et à la fois engagé à ne pas faire « comme si » il était à la place des autres.