Les États généraux du film documentaire 2015 LaScam Radio Night

LaScam Radio Night


Shockwaves

When I proposed this theme to LaScam last Autumn, I wanted to pay homage to radio production which breaks free of the standard flux of sound, dynamites accepted codes and carves out its own creative path, to testify in a certain way to the fact that radio can communicate everything, from the beautiful to the abject, provided it is done all together and with style.
No one could then foresee the attacks of January 2015 and the way they ripped through our lives. This 15th “Radio Night” inevitably bears the scars. Amid the Ina archives I found examples of great predators and the just, heard echoes of distant wars, savoured the silent material freed by speech, felt the fright and its antidote, tenderness or lifesaving laughter. The whole aim was to create dialogue and resonance among these selected archives.

Claire Hauter

An audio programme proposed by Claire Hauter.
With the collaboration of Frédéric Fiard (editing and mix) and Stéphanie Place (Ina archive researcher).

1h30 of audio excerpts to be listened to with headphones
In order of sound appearance:

Briser la glace
Luc Ferrari composed this symphonic tale evoking a young woman's trip on an ice-breaker. Collette Fellous spoke words whose “sensual warmth attempted to ward off the cold”. This creation entitled Et si toute entière maintenant was awarded the 1987 Italia prize in music.
1988, France Culture, 0’41
Du jour au lendemain
Producer: Alain Veinstein
Compositeur : Luc Ferrari

Il ne faut rien couper, il faut tout garder !
Jean-Christophe Averty, a great craftsman of television art, beguiled audiences over twenty-eight years with Les Cinglés du Music-hall on France Inter and France Musique. Averty who had, so it was said, “everything you don't need to do radio” was also an ongoing contributor to Des Papous dans la tête and Décraqués, created by Bertrand Jérôme, whose voice is heard in this extract.
1991, France Culture, 2’36
Le bon Plaisir de Jean-Christophe Averty
Producer: Sylvie Andreu
Technical director: François Bréhinier

Ils eurent vingt ans dans les Aurès
In a series of radio reports on the Algerian War, Daniel Mermet interviewed some former conscripts from the valley of Saint-Dié. “Time passes”, noted the producer of Là-bas si j'y suis, “but this package of ugly memories they brought back with them is still there, in the folds and cracks of their conscience and our memory”. A lot of former soldiers who came back seriously damaged from this “war without a name,” have tried in vain to forget. A small number, including Raymond Dieudoné, who invited him into his farm in the Vosges, declare that they regret nothing.
1998, France Inter, 4’53
La Guerre d’Algérie
Producer: Daniel Mermet
Technical director: Bruno Carpentier

Tous des cons !
Bertrand Jérôme presents a rare item: an improvised sketch by the cartoonist Chaval with his friend Doctor Rouzié, lampooning racist stupidity. Chaval said of his cartoons: “If they're better than the others, it's because they go all the way: they destroy everything because that's where I'm going and I'm destroying myself as well.” He committed suicide in 1968. As for Simon Rouzié, he played in Paris cabarets before setting up as a country doctor in a small village, Lésigny-sur-Creuse. He brought together a whole gang of malicious wits, lovers of second degree irony: Pierre Etaix, the cartoonist Mose, André Frédérique, Jean Carmet and of course Chaval who he recorded on a Tandberg tape recorder.
1977, France Culture, 8’20
Mi fugue, mi raisin
Producer: Bertrand Jérôme
Technical director: Claude Chebel

On me dit que je suis blonde
S'entretenir is a series of anonymous portraits broadcast throughout the 2009-10 season. Its goal? Paint the widest and most colourful possible portrait of a certain contemporary France. In this excerpt, Arnold Pasquier and Marie-Laure Ciboulet point their microphone at Alice Diaz. How do you see the world at ten and a half?
2010, France Culture, 5’20
ACR – S’entretenir
Producer: Arnold Pasquier
Technical director: Marie-Laure Ciboulet

Au temps de l’AOF
Samy Simon was one of the pioneers of radio reporting. He found himself facing a microphone for the first time in 1923 during a student strike. With a forty kilogram Nagra strapped over his shoulder, he travelled around the planet, from Mexico to Haiti, from China to India. “The world needs myths, radio brings them into your home. We live in a world of virtual images which are more and more superimposed over real images and tend even to substitute for them,” he said in 1949. “Radio has tamed and domesticated fiction, giving life to ghosts.” Here he is in Upper Volta (now Burkina Faso) recording as it happens a cataract operation in the White Fathers' Mission in Ouagadougou.
1955, RTF, 5’41
Afrique d’hier et d’aujourd’hui
Reporter: Samy Simon

Le frère du citron
With his intensity, singular voice and diction, and quasi mystical presence, Alain Cuny burst onto the public stage in 1942 with his role in Marcel Carné's The Devil’s Envoys. A companion of Jean Vilar at Avignon and the TNP, he shot with Fellini, Buñuel, Godard and many others. The definition of his craft? “Being an actor means that your personality is scattered, you are in shreds. What we do on the stage is what we don't do in our lives. And for a few instants, the two processes resemble each other...” In this À voix nue in ten episodes, Jean Mambrino takes on the sometimes delicate task of conducting an interview.
1988, France Culture, 5’14
À voix nue
Producer: Jean Mambrino
Technical director: Marie-Andrée Armynot

La corde au cou
In December 1959, Prévert recorded for the radio the tender and sardonic memories of his childhood. In this fourth episode, the seven year old Jacques casts a protective look on his parents, subject to frequent visits by the bailiff and equally frequent changes of address. Everything is there, his neurasthenic and melancholy father, his gentle, laughing mother, his grand-father, president of the Central Office of the Poor...
1960, RTF, 3’33
Enfance
Producer and technical director: Albert Riera
Music: Henri Crolla

Marqués comme des bêtes
Hélène Hazera interviewed Jean Ferrat five times. In this extract the singer talks more particularly about his childhood and family heritage. We discover that his Jewish father fled the Russian pogroms in the Caucasus after 1905 to be caught up by the racial laws of the Vichy regime. Jean the child had to hide until the liberation. Having become a popular and exacting singer, he tried, as Hélène Hazera emphasizes, to “make a pact with happiness while denying or forgetting nothing”.
2004, France Culture, 5’51
À voix nue
Producer: Hélène Hazera
Technical director: Patrick Molinier

Une sorte de juif corse
Among the anonymous subjects of the series S'entretenir, Arnold Pasquier and Marie-Laure Ciboulet met Arthur, a young student at the Paris School of Fine-Arts. The chance to provide a luminous reflection on identity, belonging, the relations between reality and truth. Today, Arthur Eskenazi is an artist and choreographer.
2010, France Culture, 7’13
ACR – S’entretenir
Producer: Arnold Pasquier
Technical director: Marie-Laure Ciboulet

La curiosité, il n’y a que ça !
In 1950, Robert Mallet suggested a series of long interviews to Paul Léautaud then living as a hermit in Fontenay-aux-Roses. The author of Journal littéraire accepted on condition that he could speak with complete freedom and without preparation. “For the first time,” remembered Mallet, “the public had the impression of listening to a confidential conversation between two men who had forgotten the presence of the microphone.” These interviews turned out to be a landmark in radio history. In this excerpt, the writer speaks of his father's death, an event that seems to have moved him very little. And with reason: his father neglected him during his entire childhood, caught up as he was in his job as prompter at the Comédie Française and by his love life. Léautaud, old “antisocial” as Rachilde called him, had these last words to say before dying February 22, 1956: “Now, fuck off and leave me alone!”
1950, France Culture, 5’06
Entretiens avec Paul Léautaud
Producer: Robert Mallet
Technical director: Georges Godebert

Good Morning Vietnam
Alain Trutat, creator in 1969 of the Atelier de Création Radiophonique, suggested to Janine Antoine the production of a programme based on the fifty hours of sound brought back from Vietnam by Claude Johner. Johner was a war reporter described by Andrew Orr, producer at Radio Nova and France Culture, as a “magnificent planter of sound bombs.” The result was “a strange documentary without commentary where only sounds narrated this dirty war and the horrors of all wars,” according to Janine Antoine. We hear in particular Wandering Soul, Ghost Tape Number 1, a mix of high frequency sounds and voice played from loudspeakers tied to US helicopters designed to terrify the population and push Viet-cong soldiers to desert.
1972, France Culture, 8’35
Good Morning Vietnam
Producer: Claude Johner
Technical director: Janine Antoine
Prix Ondas 1972

Pire que le coup de foudre !
In front of Jean Marcourel's microphone, Isabelle, born in the 19th century, and Bernard tell us how they met. A loving dialogue set to the sounds of François Parisi's inspired accordion.
1995, France Culture, 5’51
ACR – Le Triomphe de l’âge
Producer: Jean Marcourel
Accordion: François Parisi

Les tuer jusqu’à la racine
In 1999, five years after the genocide, Madeleine Mukamabano, journalist at RFI, returned to Rwanda. All along the five episodes of this series, she met survivors, victims and killers incarcerated in the Kigali prison. Léa, who lived in Kigali in 1994, evokes the role played by Radio Mille Collines in inciting the massacres of Tutsis.
1999, France Culture, 6’47
Rwanda 1999. Revivre à tout prix
Producer: Madeleine Mukamabano
Technical director: Mehdi El Hadj

Casse-têtes
Interviewed by Antoine Perraud, François Cavanna evokes with emotion the memory of his friend Gébé, deceased two years earlier in 2004. A gentle anarchist, Gébé was chief editor of Hara-Kiri then Charlie Hebdo until 1985. The other arrow in his quiver was song. “I wrote one day for Hebdo a text whose rhythm made me start a new line,” he remembered. “And as I had the flame of illumination within me, I went straight to the end in one stroke”. Noticed by Yves Montand who also wanted to sing it, the text “Casse-têtes” was put to music by Michel-Philippe Gérard. He had the idea of turning it into a tango maintaining its full explosive power.
2006, France Culture, 4’06
Jeux d’archives
Producer: Antoine Perraud
Technical director: Franck Lilin

Des souvenirs pour la vie
Sometimes the best interviews are the ones without questions. This is the case in this last archive: Omar Berrada and Lionel Quantin remembered, when they met Prosper on the Île de Ré, having put their recorder on the oilskin covered table and pushing the “record” button. The result: nine minutes of peerless prose where the subject matter ranges from sardine fishing to tectonic plates, from brushes with death to the creation of stars, from solar storms to shockwaves.
2010, France Culture, 9’23
ACR – S’entretenir
Producer: Omar Berrada
Technical director: Lionel Quantin

Les États généraux du film documentaire 2015 Scam : Nuit de la radio

Scam : Nuit de la radio


Ondes de choc

En proposant ce thème à la Scam à l’automne dernier, je voulais rendre hommage à la radio qui s’affranchit du flux sonore, dynamite les codes établis et creuse son chemin de création. Témoigner en quelque sorte du fait que la radio peut tout dire, la beauté comme l’abjection, à condition de s’y mettre toute entière et avec style.
Nul ne pouvait alors prévoir les attentats de janvier 2015 et leur déflagration dans nos vies. Cette 15e « Nuit de la radio » en porte forcément la trace. Au cœur des archives de l’Ina, j’ai croisé de grands prédateurs et des justes, perçu l’écho des guerres enfouies, savouré la matière silencieuse libérée par la parole, ressenti l’effroi et son antidote, la tendresse ou le rire salvateur. Tout l’enjeu a consisté à mettre en dialogue et en résonance ces archives d’anthologie.

Claire Hauter

Un programme sonore proposé par Claire Hauter.
Avec le concours de Frédéric Fiard (montage et mixage) et Stéphanie Place, (documentaliste Ina).

1h30 d’extraits sonores à écouter casque sur les oreilles.
Avec par ordre d’apparition sonore :

Briser la glace
Luc Ferrari a composé ce conte symphonique qui évoque le voyage d’une jeune femme sur un brise-glace. Colette Fellous y a déposé des mots « dont la chaleur sensuelle tente de détourner le froid ». Cette création, intitulée Et si toute entière maintenant, a reçu le prix Italia en 1987 dans la catégorie musique.
1988, France Culture, 0’41
Du jour au lendemain
Producteur : Alain Veinstein
Compositeur : Luc Ferrari

Il ne faut rien couper, il faut tout garder !
Jean-Christophe Averty, grand artisan de l’art télévisuel, a régalé vingt-huit ans durant Les Cinglés du music-hall sur les ondes de France Inter et de France Musique. Lui qui avait, dit-on, « tout ce qu’il ne faut pas pour faire de la radio » fut aussi un compagnon de route des Papous dans la tête et autres Décraqués créés par Bertrand Jérôme, dont on entend la voix dans cet extrait.
1991, France Culture, 2’36
Le bon Plaisir de Jean-Christophe Averty
Productrice : Sylvie Andreu
Réalisateur : François Bréhinier

Ils eurent vingt ans dans les Aurès
Dans une série de reportages sur la guerre d’Algérie, Daniel Mermet s’entretient avec d’anciens appelés originaires de la vallée de Saint-Dié. « Le temps a passé, commente le producteur de Là-bas si j’y suis, mais ce paquet de mémoire moche qu’ils ont ramené est toujours là, dans les interstices de leur conscience et de notre mémoire. » Beaucoup d’anciens, revenus très abîmés de cette « guerre sans nom », ont vainement essayé d’oublier. Un petit nombre, dont Raymond Dieudoné qui le reçoit dans sa ferme des Vosges, affirme ne rien regretter.
1998, France Inter, 4’53
La Guerre d’Algérie
Producteur : Daniel Mermet
Réalisateur : Bruno Carpentier

Tous des cons !
Bertrand Jérôme présente une rareté : un sketch improvisé par le dessinateur Chaval avec son ami le docteur Rouzié. Une mise à nu de la bêtise raciste. Chaval disait de ses dessins : « S’ils sont meilleurs que les autres, c’est qu’ils vont jusqu’au bout : ils détruisent tout parce que j’y vais moi-même et que je me détruis aussi. » Il se suicidera en 1968. Quant à Simon Rouzié, il fut homme de cabaret à Paris avant de s’installer comme médecin de campagne à Lésigny-sur-Creuse (Vienne). Il réunissait autour de lui toute une petite bande de mauvais esprits amateurs de second degré : Pierre Etaix, le dessinateur Mose, André Frédérique, Jean Carmet et bien sûr Chaval, qu’il enregistrait sur un magnétophone Tandberg.
1977, France Culture, 8’20
Mi fugue, mi raisin
Producteur : Bertrand Jérôme
Réalisateur : Claude Chebel

On me dit que je suis blonde
S’entretenir est une série de portraits d’anonymes diffusés tout au long de la saison 2009-2010. Objectif ? Former le spectre le plus large et le plus coloré possible d’une certaine France contemporaine. À cette occasion, Arnold Pasquier et Marie-Laure Ciboulet tendent le micro à Alice Diaz. Comment voit-on le monde à dix ans et demi ?
2010, France Culture, 5’20
ACR – S’entretenir
Producteur : Arnold Pasquier
Réalisatrice : Marie-Laure Ciboulet

Au temps de l’AOF
Samy Simon fut l’un des pionniers du reportage radio. Il se retrouve face à un micro pour la première fois en 1923 lors d’une grève d’étudiants. Nagra de quarante kilos en bandoulière, il arpentera la planète, du Mexique en Haïti, de la Chine à l’Inde. « Le monde a besoin de mythes, la radio les lui apporte à domicile. Nous vivons dans un monde d’images virtuelles qui se superposent de plus en plus aux images réelles et qui tendent même à se substituer à ces dernières, disait-il en 1949. La radio a apprivoisé, domestiqué la fiction, donné la vie à des fantômes. » Le voici en Haute-Volta (actuel Burkina Faso), enregistrant en direct une opération de la cataracte à la mission des Pères blancs de Ouagadougou.
1955, RTF, 5’41
Afrique d’hier et d’aujourd’hui
Journaliste : Samy Simon

Le frère du citron
Intensité, voix et diction singulières, présence quasi mystique : Alain Cuny fut révélé en 1942 par son rôle dans Les Visiteurs du soir de Marcel Carné. Compagnon de route de Jean Vilar à Avignon et au TNP, il tournera avec Fellini, Buñuel, Godard et tant d’autres. Sa définition du métier ? « Être comédien signifie que la personnalité est éparse, que nous sommes en lambeaux. Ce que nous faisons sur scène, c’est ce que nous ne faisons pas dans la vie. Et pour quelques instants nous sommes ressemblants… » Dans cet À voix nue en dix épisodes, c’est Jean Mambrino qui se livre à l’exercice – parfois délicat – de l’interview.
1988, France Culture, 5’14
À voix nue
Producteur : Jean Mambrino
Réalisatrice : Marie-Andrée Armynot

La corde au cou
En décembre 1959, Prévert enregistre pour la radio les souvenirs tendres et grinçants de son enfance. Dans ce quatrième épisode, le petit Jacques, sept ans, pose un regard protecteur sur ses parents, abonnés aux saisies d’huissiers et aux déménagements fréquents. Tout y est : son père, neurasthénique et mélancolique ; sa mère, douce et rieuse ; son grand-père, président de l’Office central des pauvres…
1960, RTF, 3’33
Enfance
Producteur et réalisateur : Albert Riera
Musique : Henri Crolla

Marqués comme des bêtes
Hélène Hazera a réalisé cinq entretiens avec Jean Ferrat. Ici, le chanteur s’attache plus particulièrement à son enfance et à ses origines familiales. On découvre que son père, juif russe fuyant les pogroms de l’après-1905 dans le Caucase, sera rattrapé par les lois raciales du régime de Vichy. Le petit Jean devra se cacher jusqu’à la Libération. Devenu un chanteur populaire et exigeant, il s’attachera, comme le souligne Hélène Hazera, à « faire un pacte avec le bonheur sans rien renier ni oublier ».
2004, France Culture, 5’51
À voix nue
Productrice : Hélène Hazera
Réalisateur : Patrick Molinier

Une sorte de juif corse
Parmi les anonymes de la série S’entretenir, Arnold Pasquier et Marie-Laure Ciboulet rencontrent Arthur, jeune étudiant aux Beaux-Arts de Paris. L’occasion d’une réflexion lumineuse sur l’identité, l’appartenance, les rapports entre réel et vérité. Aujourd’hui, Arthur Eskenazi est artiste et chorégraphe.
2010, France Culture, 7’13
ACR – S’entretenir
Producteur : Arnold Pasquier
Réalisatrice : Marie-Laure Ciboulet

La curiosité, il n’y a que ça !
En 1950, Robert Mallet propose une série de grands entretiens à Paul Léautaud, qui vit alors en ermite à Fontenay-aux-Roses. L’auteur du Journal littéraire accepte à la condition de parler en toute liberté et sans préparation. « Pour la première fois, se souvient Robert Mallet, les auditeurs avaient l’impression de capter la conversation confidentielle de deux hommes qui avaient oublié la présence du micro. » Ces entretiens feront date dans l’histoire de la radio. Dans cet extrait, l’écrivain revient sur la mort de son père qui ne semble guère l’émouvoir. Et pour cause : celui-ci l’avait négligé durant toute son enfance, accaparé qu’il était par son métier de souffleur à la Comédie Française et par ses amours. Léautaud, vieil « insociable », comme l’appelait Rachilde, aurait eu cette dernière parole avant de mourir, le 22 février 1956 : « Maintenant, foutez-moi la paix ! »
1950, France Culture, 5’06
Entretiens avec Paul Léautaud
Producteur : Robert Mallet
Réalisateur : Georges Godebert

Good Morning Vietnam
C’est Alain Trutat, créateur en 1969 de l’Atelier de Création Radiophonique, qui propose à Janine Antoine de réaliser une émission à partir des cinquante heures de sons rapportés du Vietnam par Claude Johner. Reporter de guerre, ce dernier est décrit par Andrew Orr, producteur à Radio Nova et France Culture, comme un « magnifique poseur de bombes sonores ». Résultat, « un documentaire étrange sans commentaire où seuls les sons allaient narrer cette sale guerre et les horreurs de toutes les guerres » selon Janine Antoine. On y entend en particulier Wandering Soul, Ghost Tape Number 1, un mix de sons à hautes fréquences et de voix diffusés par des hélicoptères US, équipés de haut-parleurs, destinés à terrifier les populations et à pousser les soldats viêt-cong à déserter.
1972, France Culture, 8’35
Good Morning Vietnam
Producteur : Claude Johner
Réalisatrice : Janine Antoine
Prix Ondas 1972

Pire que le coup de foudre !
Au micro de Jean Marcourel, Isabelle, née au XIXe siècle, et Bernard, racontent leur rencontre. Un dialogue amoureux au son de l’accordéon inspiré de François Parisi.
1995, France Culture, 5’51
ACR – Le Triomphe de l’âge
Producteur : Jean Marcourel
Accordéon : François Parisi

Les tuer jusqu’à la racine
En 1999, cinq ans après le génocide, Madeleine Mukamabano, journaliste à RFI, revient au Rwanda. Tout au long des cinq épisodes de cette série, elle rencontre les survivants, victimes et tueurs incarcérés à la prison de Kigali. Léa, qui vivait à Kigali en avril 1994, évoque le rôle joué par la Radio Mille Collines dans l’incitation aux massacres des Tutsis.
1999, France Culture, 6’47
Rwanda 1999. Revivre à tout prix
Productrice : Madeleine Mukamabano
Réalisateur : Mehdi El Hadj

Casse-têtes
Au micro d’Antoine Perraud, François Cavanna évoque avec émotion le souvenir de son ami Gébé, disparu deux ans plus tôt, en 2004. Anarchiste doux, Gébé fut le rédacteur en chef de Hara-Kiri puis de Charlie Hebdo jusqu’en 1985. Autre corde à son arc : la chanson. « J’ai un jour écrit pour l’Hebdo un texte dont le rythme m’a amené à aller à la ligne, se souvenait-il. Et comme j’avais en moi un feu d’allumé, j’ai été jusqu’au bout, d’une seule traite. » Repéré par Yves Montand qui veut aussitôt le chanter, ce texte a été mis en musique par Michel-Philippe Gérard. Il a eu l’idée d’en faire un tango qui garde tout son pouvoir de déflagration : « Casse-têtes ».
2006, France Culture, 4’06
Jeux d’archives
Producteur : Antoine Perraud
Réalisateur : Franck Lilin

Des souvenirs pour la vie
Il arrive que les meilleures interviews soient sans question. C’est le cas dans cette dernière archive : Omar Berrada et Lionel Quantin se souviennent, lorsqu’ils ont rencontré Prosper sur l’Île de Ré, avoir posé le magnétophone sur la toile cirée et appuyé sur la touche « record ». Résultat : neuf minutes sans rature où il est question de la pêche à la sardine et de la tectonique des plaques, de la mort frôlée et de la création des étoiles, des tempêtes solaires et des ondes de choc.
2010, France Culture, 9’23
ACR – S’entretenir
Producteur : Omar Berrada
Réalisateur : Lionel Quantin