Les États généraux du film documentaire 2015 We are documentary

We are documentary


“We are documentary” is a collective founded after the publication on March 13, 2015 of an op-ed signed by 1,800 professionals in the newspaper Le Monde. By placing films at the centre of our concerns, we aim to create a transversal gathering of directors, producers, technicians, festival directors, critics and people involved in cultural action who defend a documentary cinema freed from the constraints of formatting. Our goal is to open up a space for discussion, proposals and actions aimed at promoting new policies in favour of documentary creation which has been under attack for several months.
The Centre National du Cinéma et de l'Image animée (CNC) seems to want to break with the balance between art and industry on which it is historically founded. The reform of financial aid for films coproduced with a television company has produced a selective commission giving undue weight to the industry. At the same time, its services have launched an attack on local broadcasters, blocking a large sector of documentary film production, imperiling the existence of works outside the mainstream as well as more fragile production companies. This attack is taking place at the same time as the CNC is toughening all its rules, from access to feature length production to support for distribution in cinemas with the result that documentary cinema is destabilised.
This worrying movement can only make the existence of the genre more precarious as it is already suffering from the disengagement of national television companies and above all, of public service companies. France Télévisions does not meet its mission contract and shows far too few creative documentaries on its stations.
Finally the announced reform of regional funding will have a considerable impact on the future audiovisual and cinematographic situation in France. What possibilities will we still have tomorrow to write, direct, produce, accompany and show films which combine with the Real in diverse and innovative ways? Variety is the wealth of this cinematographic genre, the driving force behind its existence which is to look at our realities with singular and critical points of view. Perhaps that precisely is its crime...
This time to which the Lussas États généraux du film documentaire is associated will provide the opportunity to detail this context and reflect collectively on future actions...

Les États généraux du film documentaire 2015 Nous sommes le documentaire

Nous sommes le documentaire


« Nous sommes le documentaire » est un collectif issu d’une tribune signée par 1 800 professionnels publiée le 13 mars 2015 dans le journal Le Monde. En mettant au centre de nos préoccupations les œuvres, nous désirons être un rassemblement transversal qui réunit des réalisateurs, des producteurs, des techniciens, des directeurs de festivals, des critiques, des acteurs de l’action culturelle qui défendent un cinéma documentaire affranchi des formatages. Nous souhaitons ouvrir un espace de discussions, de propositions et d’actions pour l’émergence d’une nouvelle politique en faveur de la création documentaire, mise à mal depuis de nombreux mois.
Le Centre National du Cinéma et de l'Image animée (CNC) semble vouloir rompre l’équilibre entre art et industrie qui est son fondement historique ; ainsi la réforme du soutien financier aux films co-produits avec une chaîne de télévision a accouché d’une commission sélective déséquilibrée au profit de l’industrie. Dans le même temps, ses services mènent une attaque contre les chaînes locales qui bloque tout un pan de la production de films documentaires, mettant en danger l’existence des oeuvres les plus singulières et des sociétés les plus fragiles. Cette offensive prend place à un moment où le CNC durcit tous ses règlements, de l’accès à la production de long métrage au soutien à la distribution en salles et déstabilise de ce fait le cinéma documentaire.
Cette dérive inquiétante ne peut qu’amplifier la précarisation d’un genre qui subit le désengagement des chaînes de télévision hertziennes nationales, en premier lieu celles du service public. Ainsi, France Télévisions ne remplit pas son cahier des charges en n'exposant que trop rarement la création documentaire sur ses chaînes.
Enfin la réforme territoriale qui s’annonce aura un impact considérable sur le futur paysage audiovisuel et cinématographique français. Quelles capacités aurons-nous encore demain à écrire, réaliser, produire, accompagner et montrer ces films qui tricotent avec le réel de façons diverses et innovantes ? Cette variété est la richesse de ce genre cinématographique, le moteur de son existence qui est de porter un regard singulier et critique sur nos réalités. Peut-être est-ce cela qui lui est reproché…
Ce temps auquel les États généraux du film documentaire de Lussas s’associent sera l’occasion d’expliciter ce contexte et de réfléchir à des actions futures…