Les États généraux du film documentaire 2015 Doc History: China

Doc History: China


Anyone wanting to write a history of Chinese documentary will stumble over a paradoxical mix of rarity and profusion. Historical rarity: documentary production as such (excluding state production) started recently, twenty-five years ago, at the end of a decade marked first by a relative opening to foreign influences then by the bloody closure of Tian'anmen. Contemporary profusion: a number of factors – the need for low costs and discretion, a brutal reality that has trouble disguising itself, the exteriority of cineastes from the institutions – mean that most of the production coming from China is documentary, alongside a few fiction films of a similar vein. It is not by chance that this brief and plethoric history began just when government policies were beginning to change. The strategy of giving birth to uninhibited capitalism from the entrails of severe communism destabilised the social relationships on which the latter was based without actually abolishing them. Hence the appearance of a new caste of artists, less directly subservient to an overly stereotypical representation of social classes (dubbed "socialist realism" which was more diverse than it appeared to be) and in this way less integrated into national structures. This is perhaps the reason why people made anomic were confronted with social anomalies revealed by the gap between a discourse of equality and a practice of division. If Wang Bing or Zhao Liang film the deprived, it is because, among other things, they recognise in them an exclusion which, in totally different ways, they also share.
This programme does not pretend to retrace the whole of this history – that would be impossible – but concentrates on films testifying to the mutation in the status of the artist. Significantly, the work often considered the foundation stone of Chinese documentary, Bumming in Beijing by Wu Wenguang (1990), focuses on Beijing bohemians practicing their art in situations both precarious and clandestine. The film is as historically important – and even more so in that Wu remains a patron of many younger filmmakers – as it is now ignored, overcast by the more recent glory of those who made the transition to digital first. The film's strategy is perfectly simple: a series of interviews in a fixed frame is cut together with scenes showing the creators at their work. The influence of this first-born of Chinese documentary on today's production is perfectly visible. This cinema is more than any other an art of piety and contemplation. It is more concerned with allowing other people's speech to blossom across the screen than inventing forms principally preoccupied with signalling their own cleverness. The aesthetic sobriety sometimes criticised in this cinema derives uniquely from a concern to find a match between the destitution of the people being filmed and the identical destitution of the gesture of testifying. But the film also shows the hidden, cultural, side of the economic opening. These artists don't quote Mao but Artaud or the great American writers, absorbing into their discourse everything the West has produced in praise of expressive subjectivity.
It is in this intermediary space, between hyperbole of the self and desire for the world, that we can situate Liu Xiaodong, the painter filmed by Jia Zhang-ke in Dong (2006). Here we find the other term of this story: the artist is henceforth celebrated, but mourns a working class world with which he formerly lived in solidarity. The film shows the filmmaker and the painter travelling from the Three Gorges to Thailand, recreating the world on their canvases. And above all, it offers a reflexive compilation of the entire history of Chinese art: from the scrolls on which scholars produced ethereal landscapes to the somewhat exuberant production of contemporary artists passing through the socialist phase with its glorified bodies of proletarians.
This pair of films thus provides insight into the new positioning of artists – the very ones from which the documentary school was born that feasts our eyes. They will be accompanied by an unclassified object, Disorder by Huang Weikai (2009), a film of found footage whose effect goes beyond words. The cineaste collected amateur films showing different urban conflicts and slightly filtered them to provide a somewhat homogenous grain. The film as a whole forms an insane spectacle on the violence of the relations of domination (by economic or police forces) and on the daily accidents in cities that have become too tentacular for any state authority to control. An absolute film, and absolutely different from anything that has been done before.

Gabriel Bortzmeyer


Debate in the presence of Gabriel Bortzmeyer, member of association Camira.

Les États généraux du film documentaire 2015 Histoire de doc : Chine

Histoire de doc : Chine


Qui voudrait faire une histoire du documentaire chinois buterait sur un mélange paradoxal de rareté et de profusion. Rareté historique : la production documentaire en tant que telle (productions étatiques exclues) n’a débuté que tardivement, il y a vingt-cinq ans de cela, au terme d’une décennie d’abord marquée par une relative ouverture à l’étranger puis par la sanglante clôture de Tian’anmen. Profusion contemporaine : nombre de facteurs – exigence de faibles coûts comme de discrétion, brutalité d'un réel qui se laisse mal farder, extériorité des cinéastes aux institutions – font que l'essentiel de la production nous venant de Chine est documentaire, à côté de rares fictions innervées par une veine assez voisine. Que cette histoire à la fois brève et pléthorique ait commencé au moment où s’infléchissait la politique gouvernementale n’a rien d’un hasard. Cette stratégie faisant sortir un capitalisme désinhibé des entrailles d’un communisme sévère a déréglé les rapports sur lesquels reposait ce dernier sans pour autant les abolir. De là l’apparition d’une nouvelle caste d’artistes, moins directement asservis à une représentation trop typée des classes sociales (ledit « réalisme socialiste », plus pluriel qu’on veut bien le croire) et par là moins intégrés aux structures nationales. Peut-être est-ce la raison pour laquelle ces gens rendus anomiques se sont confrontés aux anomalies sociales révélées par l’écart entre un discours de l’égalité et une pratique de la division. Si Wang Bing ou Zhao Liang filment des déshérités, c’est aussi parce qu’ils reconnaissent en eux une mise au ban qui, dans une toute autre mesure, est aussi la leur.
Cette programmation n’entend donc pas remplir l’impossible programme de retracer l’entièreté de cette histoire mais se concentrer sur des films témoignant de ces mutations du statut de l’artiste. Significativement, l’œuvre souvent considérée comme fondatrice du documentaire chinois, Bumming in Beijing de Wu Wenguang (1990), porte sur la bohème pékinoise travaillant à son art dans une situation aussi précaire que clandestine. Film à la fois déterminant historiquement – d’autant plus que Wu reste un parrain pour beaucoup de jeunes cinéastes – et désormais méconnu, effacé par la gloire plus récente de ceux ayant pris les premiers le train du numérique. Le dispositif est on ne peut plus simple : des séries d’entretiens en cadre fixe, mêlées à quelques scènes montrant les créateurs à leur labeur. On voit en quoi cet acte de naissance du documentaire chinois continue d’irriguer les productions d’aujourd’hui : ce cinéma est, plus que tout autre, celui de la piété et du recueillement, plus attentif à bien laisser la parole de l’autre s’épanouir à l’image qu’à inventer des formes surtout préoccupées de faire signe vers elles-mêmes. L'esthétique presque sommaire dont on accuse parfois ce cinéma tient seulement d’un souci d’adéquation entre le dénuement des êtres à l’écran et l’identique dépouillement du geste de déposition. Mais le film montre aussi la face cachée, culturelle, de l’ouverture économique : ces artistes ne citent pas les commandements de Mao, plutôt Artaud ou les grands auteurs américains, imbibant leur propos de tout ce que l’Occident colporte d’éloge de la subjectivité expressive. C’est dans cette situation intermédiaire, entre hyperbole du soi et désir de monde, que se tient Liu Xiaodong, le peintre qu’a filmé Jia Zhang-ke dans Dong (2006). Là est l’autre terme de cette histoire : l’artiste est désormais salué, mais en deuil d’un monde ouvrier dont il était auparavant solidaire. Le film montre le cinéaste et le peintre voyageant des Trois-Gorges à la Thaïlande, reformant le monde sur des toiles. Et surtout, il représente comme une compilation réflexive de toute l’histoire de l’art chinois, des rouleaux sur lesquels les lettrés reproduisaient des paysages éthérés aux productions quelque peu exubérantes de l’art contemporain, en passant par la phase socialiste attachée aux corps glorieux des prolétaires.
Ce duo filmique donnera ainsi un aperçu des nouveaux positionnements artistiques – ceux-là même dont naît l’école documentaire dont se repaissent nos regards. Il sera accompagné d’un inclassable objet, Désordre de Huang Weikai (2009), film de found footage dont l’effet est au-delà des mots. Le cinéaste a collecté des vidéos amateur montrant plusieurs heurts urbains, et les a légèrement retraitées pour donner à l’ensemble un grain quelque peu homogène. Le tout forme un spectacle démentiel sur la violence des rapports de domination (policiers ou économiques) et sur les accidents du quotidien dans des villes trop tentaculaires pour qu’aucune régie étatique ne puisse en assurer le contrôle. Un film absolu, et absolument autre que tout ce qui a pu se faire.

Gabriel Bortzmeyer


Débat en présence de Gabriel Bortzmeyer, membre de l’association Camira.