Les États généraux du film documentaire 2015 Doc History: Brazil

Doc History: Brazil


This programme is built around the idea of presenting a major film from Brazil’s documentary history heritage and one of the most important examples of contemporary production. The resulting assembly is a meeting of viewpoints by two of the country’s foremost inventors of cinematic form, each experimenting with the techniques of their time. Thomaz Reis and Andrea Tonacci are both engaged in the creation of a cinematographic corpus attentive to mutations in the ways of life among indigenous peoples exposed to modern progress.
Thomaz Reis is acknowledged by numerous anthropologists as one of the first ethnographic filmmakers, starting with his 1916 short film Rituas e festas borôro. This film, like all the rest of his filmography, was made within the framework of a project of national integration motivated by scientific, political and military factors: the Rondon Commission. Thomaz Reis had the responsibility of filming the numerous expeditions led by Field Marshal Rondon, whose goal was to occupy the still unexploited zones of the country. Over thirty years, this mission worked notably on installing telegraph lines in the Amazon region.
Ao Redor do Brasil – Aspectos do interior e das fronteiras brasileiras (1932) was Reis’ first long film and aimed at being the visual expression of this project to forge a powerful modern nation. The film opens with an image of Reis holding his camera, affirming his position as the cineaste: much more than a Major recording on film a military mission, he presents himself here as a “man with a movie camera” bringing an imaginative evocation of his explorations, unique “views” (of landscapes, Indians, animals), to the world’s audiences. The filmic discourse embodies, and is organised around, the positivist ideas of the brand new Brazilian Republic: the process of civilising native peoples, defending the borders and implanting modernity within the Amazonian region. By favouring situations where different indigenous peoples are assimilated, Reis attempts to show that these “good savages” are becoming, more willingly than by force, good Brazilian citizens. With the exception of two shots – one where a man refuses to learn to “eat correctly” and another where a woman manifestly rejects the anthropologists’ attempts to “measure” her – the film dissimulates any act of resistance.
Resistance toward the adoption of “non Indian” ways of life is, on the contrary, the hallmark of the main character in Serras da Desordem, the film by Andrea Tonacci also projected in this programme. Andrea Tonacci is undoubtedly one of the most brilliant filmmakers working in Brazil today. A partisan of marginal cinema, he is known for the way he gives value to the experience of the shoot and for his great respect for the people he films. Tonacci is author of two flagship films of “marginal” Brazilian cinema: Blá,blá,blá (1967) and Bang Bang (1971). After the political criticism expressed in these first films, his commitment via film took place alongside the experiences of autochthonous people. In 1977 he made Conversas do Maranhão, following the natives in their conflict concerning the demarcation lines of indigenous reservations. With Serras da Desordem (2006), by filming the life of Carapiru, Tonacci crafted the reconstruction of a necessarily critical story: Carapiru was a Guajá Indian who survived the massacre of his people in 1977 and started off on an incredible odyssey made up of chance happenings and encounters.
Serras da Desordem represents this story, played by those who lived it, creating an absolutely heterogeneous and lacunal film. The goal is not necessarily to represent events the way they really happened, but to provoke through the film another experience. Carapiru repeats his journey, visiting the places and encountering the families who welcomed him. Life and cinema, past and present, documentary and fiction, reconstitution and archives, black and white and colour, crisscross and enrich each other. From all these interactions, Serras da Desordem ties the knots between Carapiru’s singular experience and the country’s development project.
The film explores the passage of time, the day to day and the ordinary in a way which leads us slowly to an affective perception of situations. Whether among the indigenous or “non-indigenous”, Carapiru maintains an opaque subjectivity, he seems to belong nowhere.

Naara Fontinele


Debate in the presence of Naara Fontinele, member of association Camira.

Les États généraux du film documentaire 2015 Histoire de doc : Brésil

Histoire de doc : Brésil


Cette séance s’est construite dans la perspective de présenter un film de patrimoine majeur dans l’histoire du documentaire brésilien et l’un des films les plus précieux de la production contemporaine. L’assemblage qui en résulte est le fruit de la rencontre du regard de deux cinéastes inventeurs de formes filmiques, chacun expérimentant avec les techniques de son temps. Thomaz Reis et Andrea Tonacci se sont tous deux investis dans la création d’une œuvre cinématographique attentive aux mutations des modes de vie des peuples indiens à l’heure du progrès.
Thomaz Reis est reconnu par de nombreux anthropologues comme l’un des premiers cinéastes ethnographiques, avec la réalisation, dès 1916, du court métrage Rituas e festas borôro. Ce film, comme toute sa filmographie, a été réalisé dans le cadre d’un projet intégrationniste de caractère militaire, politique et scientifique : la Commission Rondon. Thomaz Reis était chargé d’enregistrer les nombreuses expéditions menées par le Maréchal Rondon, dont l’objectif était l’occupation des zones du pays encore inexploitées. Pendant trente ans, cette mission a notamment travaillé à l’installation de lignes télégraphiques dans la région amazonienne.
Ao redor do Brasil – Aspectos do interior e das fronteiras brasileiras (1932), le premier long métrage de Reis, se veut un registre visuel de ce projet de constitution d’une nation puissante et moderne. Le film s’ouvre sur l’image de Reis tenant sa camera, une affirmation de sa position de cinéaste : bien plus qu’un Major faisant des enregistrements filmiques d’une mission militaire, il se présente ici comme un « homme à la caméra » qui livre un imaginaire des explorations et des « vues » uniques (des paysages, des Indiens, des animaux) aux spectateurs du monde. Le discours filmique incarne et s’organise selon les idées positivistes de la toute nouvelle République brésilienne : le processus de civilisation des peuples natifs, la défense des frontières et l’inscription de la modernité au sein de la région amazonienne. En privilégiant des situations d’assimilation de différents peuples indiens, le parti pris de Reis est de montrer que ces « bons sauvages » deviennent, plus de bon gré que de force, des citoyens brésiliens. À l’exception de deux plans – l’un d’un homme qui se refuse à apprendre à « manger correctement » et l’autre d’une femme qui manifeste son rejet des anthropologues voulant la « mesurer » –, le film dissimule tout geste de résistance.
La résistance à adopter le mode de vie des « non-Indiens » est, à l’opposé, la marque intime du protagoniste de Serras da desordem, film d’Andrea Tonacci également présenté dans cette programmation. Andrea Tonacci est sans doute l’un des plus brillants cinéastes en activité au Brésil. Partisan d’un cinéma à la marge, il est connu pour valoriser l’expérience du tournage et pour son grand respect envers ceux qu’il filme. Tonacci est l’auteur de deux films phares du « cinéma marginal » brésilien : Blá,blá,blá (1967) et Bang Bang (1971). Après la critique politique de ses premiers films, son engagement par le cinéma prend la voie d’expériences aux côtés des Indiens. En 1977, il réalise Conversas do Maranhão, en suivant les Indiens dans un conflit autour de la démarcation des réserves indigènes. Avec Serras da desordem (2006), en filmant la vie de Carapiru, Tonacci réalise la reconstruction d’une histoire forcément critique : Carapiru, un Indien guajá ayant survécu au massacre qui décima son peuple en 1977, s’engage dans une incroyable traversée peuplée de hasards et de rencontres.
Serras do desordem met en scène cette histoire, jouée par ceux qui l’ont vécue, construisant un film absolument hétérogène et lacunaire. L’enjeu n’est pas de forcément mettre en scène les événements tels qu’ils eurent lieu, mais de provoquer, à travers le film, une autre expérience. Carapiru refait son voyage, revisite les lieux et retrouve les familles qui l’ont accueilli. Vie et cinéma, passé et présent, documentaire et fiction, reconstitution et images d’archives, noir et blanc et couleur, s’entrecroisent et s’enrichissent. De toutes ces interactions, Serras da desordem noue des liens entre l’expérience singulière de Carapiru et le projet de développement du pays.
Le film opère un investissement sur le passage du temps, le quotidien, l’ordinaire, qui nous amène lentement à une perception affective des situations. Que ce soit parmi les Indiens ou les « non-Indiens », Carapiru garde une subjectivité opaque, il semble n’appartenir à nulle part.

Naara Fontinele


Débat en présence de Naara Fontinele, membre de l’association Camira.