Les États généraux du film documentaire 2015 The Documentary Fable

The Documentary Fable


Cinema weaves with reality the most inventive patterns. Desire and the pleasure of representing invite the filmmaker to grab hold of the Real and imagine contemporary tales.
By inventing the set, working with actors (professional or not), drawing on fantasy or a dramatic narrative, fables are constructed which blend documentary material with stories imagined or inspired by tales and myths.
Each one of the films screened here is solidly rooted in reality and the present time. They are political – precisely because they manage to tie together different periods. The present is that of the shoot, a putting together and to test the narrative and the encounter, the kick-off to a game. From the desire of transmission shared by all these films is born the fable, and childhood or the child inhabit these films.
The film can become an experience of collective creation where people and characters are united to create amid this encounter with the cineaste, alone or with their crew, a cinematographic narrative. More intimately, the story can explore the representations of a history which is as real as it is ghost-like. Directly grappling with a current issue, based on stories from day-to-day existence, the film distils the marvelous.
But a story does not necessarily imply a dramatisation. The direction is a staging which is unique to each film and the film’s style is not entirely dependent on its story.
This workshop has invited film directors to share their reflections, experiences, the stories of their new films. With Love and Metamorphoses Yanira Yariv draws from Ovid’s mythological fables to embody stories of transsexual men and women, to “cross borders”. David Yon’s The Night and the Kid plays with the desire to film and to tell a story of Algeria, somewhere between scenario and improvisation, vision and parable, so as to “keep on moving”. Safia Benhaim in A Spell of Fever shapes a fantastic tale of “exile as a way of perceiving the world”.
Arabian Nights by Miguel Gomes, with joyous fantasy and biting irony, teleports us into a sharp and attentive modern tale of Portugal, worn and broken by the purveyors of financial crisis.
“Why choose between Méliès and Lumière?”


Love and Metamorphoses

Summer 2007, I arrive in Rome. On the way to the beach at Ostia, I cross the Cristoforo Colombo, a shadowy road connecting the city to the sea. Strange visions appear little by little from behind the trees of the pine wood: women, men, the outlines of bodies never seen before, mocking, seductive faces call out to me, grimacing as I pass. A knowledgeable and disturbing mix of the divine, the human and the animal reminds me of the black silhouettes of bacchanal festivities on ancient vases. They are the Ostian transsexuals, I am told, without understanding what has shaken me. I don’t know what connects me to them at that precise moment but I feel there exists a bridge I must cross in order to join them. I spend months looking for a mythological text with the idea of staging it in this setting and of questioning these first sensations, this “intuition”. On discovering Ovid’s Metamorphoses in an edition illustrated by Pablo Picasso during the thirties, no doubt subsists. The exiled poet had written in the 1st century what I wanted to make our future interpreters sing twenty centuries later: the marvelous power of changing gender. A delight caused by the vivacity of the language and a kind of self-evidence pushes me irresistibly into the adventure. From the first discussions with the actors, it is the idea of staging the Metamorphoses that moves them. Intimate stories of sometimes difficult, painful but also marvelous trials emerge little by little with the trust established through the text that each one discovers with enchantment. It is indeed the filter of distancing that we all needed to find our place in this process. Rehearsals begin. A back and forth between Ovid’s text, on camera interviews and a collective rewriting bring us to a final version. What connects us is the need to cross frontiers, defy boundaries, the walls that separate us, supposed to protect us from the Other, which by its difference might imperil our identity. I feel that the cinematographic style of this film must be fragile, fragmentary, like our lives. I imagine the tale not like a discourse, a linear story, but a certain form of movement, crossing permeable frontiers, displacing the spectator’s way of seeing, from fiction to reality, from nature to artifice, from “insanity” to “normality”.

Yanira Yariv


The Night and The Kid

On November 5, 2004, in the Lussas cinema and at the time a Master’s student in documentary, I wrote these words in reaction to a film I had just seen: “Not an image of reality. An experience. Molecules combine. I am there, here and now. Elsewhere, people speak a different language. They have a history. I will never know their lives.” An admission of powerlessness or an aesthetic manifesto? In any case, ten years later, the films I make are still guided by this orientation. With my camera, I try to record a presence in the world, the light in which I am and of which I follow the trace. The Birds of Arabia (2009) and The Night and the Kid (2015) are two films shot in Djelfa, Algeria. With passing time, a relation of trust has been established with some inhabitants and the making of a film has allowed us to share a common experience in spite of the difference of language. The Night and the Kid (2015) constructed its form in a series of to and fro movements between scouting locations, collective writing, improvising, shooting and editing. The thrust of the film was to walk once again in places which had been deserted since the passage of the terrorists in the nineties. Lamine and Aness occupied these areas based on a few indications (action, subject of discussion, dialogue) and appropriated the situations for themselves. Little by little, a personal story was outlined and fable met documentary, as a necessary distance to be able to evoke the intimate and to lay down the weight of history. Through this interminable night, the film evokes a story connected to childhood and loss.

David Yon


A Spell of Fever

The Hinterland (2009) and A Spell of Fever (2014) form a diptych around political exile: that of my mother, a Moroccan communist refugee, who sought political asylum in France in 1973. The Hinterland was filmed in the country of exile, France. A Spell of Fever was filmed in Morocco at the moment of return: a phantom exile returns to her country after a long absence to recover her lost memory. This strange gesture of turning my mother into a ghost who “haunts” is first of all connected to the way this story was communicated to me: her childhood under colonisation, the memory of a struggle which lead her to exile was transmitted to me in a subterranean manner, like in a dream; memories are not for her scenes which can be summoned at will but reminiscences, phantoms surging from the waves. Exile is at the heart of the films, but I never wanted to make a film “on exile”, my desire was above all to experiment with ways of giving form to a perception: I was brought up in exile, exile is my native country. I grew up in France but those who raised me had in their gestures, their thoughts, their dreams another country, a country that doesn’t exist, simultaneously their country of birth, the country of their childhood from which they are cut off, and a utopian country yet to come. This mental territory without “reality”, shapeless but active, was inoculated into me and constructed my way of seeing. The world is, in my eyes, constantly haunted by a double, a territory that doubles the visible – a sensation firmly anchored in the Real. This form of fable, or fantastic tale, that A Spell of Fever naturally adopted is here documentary. It testifies as to how exile can manufacture a perception of the world. But the form of a tale, a fable, perhaps instinctively imposed itself because fundamentally we are dealing with a story of transmission, and the fable is a story “for children”. It was in 2010-11, during the demonstrations of the “Arab Spring” that I wanted to re-evoke this story of old and repressed struggles. The contemporary rebellions, even if they were radically different in their nature and their demands, seemed to me to “awaken” the memory of buried struggles, wandering like ghosts in the grey zone of forgetfulness. The story of a ghost coming to life could connect first the struggles of decolonisation then the struggles of the Marxist period with contemporary movements. This is how the desire was born to tell the story of a child, in the present, haunted by a story of the past. The child who, on awakening after a night in the company of ghosts, must face new revolts, whose form and future are unknown.

Safia Benhaim


The three volumes of Miguel Gomes’ Arabian Nights, presented as special screenings on Thursday and Friday nights and Saturday morning, will also be discussed during the workshop.


Workshop led by Christophe Postic.
In the presence of Safia Benhaim, Yanira Yariv and David Yon.

Les États généraux du film documentaire 2015 La Fable documentaire

La Fable documentaire


Le cinéma tisse avec le réel les trames les plus inventives. Le désir et le plaisir de la mise en scène invitent le cinéaste à se saisir du réel pour en imaginer des récits contemporains.
Par l’invention de la scène, la mise en jeu des acteurs (professionnels ou non), le recours à une fantaisie ou à une dramaturgie, se construisent des fables qui mêlent une matière documentaire à des récits imaginés ou inspirés des contes et des mythes.
Chacun des films présentés ici est solidement ancré dans le réel et s’inscrit dans le temps présent, politique – précisément aussi parce qu’ils parviennent à relier des époques. Le présent est celui du tournage, une mise en commun et une mise à l’épreuve du récit et de la rencontre, une mise en jeu. D’un désir de transmission commun à tous ces films est née la fable, et l’enfance ou l’enfant habitent ces films.
Le film peut devenir une expérience de création collective, où personnes et personnages sont réunis pour construire dans cette rencontre avec le/la cinéaste, seul ou avec son équipe, un récit cinématographique. Plus intime, il explorera les représentations d’une histoire tout aussi réelle que fantomatique. En prise directe avec une actualité, recueillant des histoires du quotidien, il en prélèvera le merveilleux.
Mais le récit n’implique pas nécessairement une dramaturgie, la mise en scène est une mise en forme propre à chaque film et l’écriture du film ne tient pas seulement à son récit.
Cet atelier convie des réalisateurs à venir partager leur réflexion, leur expérience, l’histoire de leur nouveau film. 
Avec Amours et Métamorphoses, Yanira Yariv puise dans les fables mythologiques d’Ovide pour incarner des histoires d’hommes et femmes transsexuels, pour « traverser des frontières ». La Nuit et l’Enfant de David Yon joue du désir de filmer et de raconter une histoire d’Algérie, entre scénario et improvisation, visions et paraboles « pour reprendre la marche ». Safia Benhaim, dans La Fièvre, donne forme dans un conte fantastique à « l’exil comme perception du monde ».
Les Mille et Une Nuits de Miguel Gomes, à la fantaisie réjouissante et l’ironie cinglante, nous téléporte avec acuité et attention dans un conte moderne du Portugal éreinté par des fauteurs de crise.
« Pourquoi choisir entre Méliès et Lumière ? »


Amours et Métamorphoses

Été 2007, j’arrive à Rome. En chemin vers la plage d’Ostie, je traverse la Cristoforo Colombo, une sombre route reliant la ville à la mer. D’étranges apparitions se manifestent petit à petit derrière les arbres de la pinède : des femmes, des hommes, des contours de corps jamais vus auparavant, des visages moqueurs, séducteurs m’appellent, grimacent sur mon passage. Un savant et perturbant mélange de divin, d’humain et d’animal me rappelle les silhouettes noires des scènes de bacchanales sur les vases antiques. Ce sont les transsexuelles d’Ostie, me dit-on sans bien comprendre ce qui me bouleverse. Je ne sais pas ce qui me relie à elles à ce moment-là mais je sens qu’il existe un pont qu’il me faut traverser pour les rejoindre. Pendant des mois, je cherche un texte mythologique avec l’idée de le mettre en scène dans ce décor, et d’interroger ces sensations premières, cette « intuition ». Lorsque je découvre les Métamorphoses d’Ovide dans un volume illustré par Pablo Picasso dans les années trente, aucun doute ne subsiste. Le poète en exil avait écrit au Ier siècle ce que je désirais faire chanter aux futurs interprètes, vingt siècles plus tard : le merveilleux pouvoir de changer de genre. Une jouissance face à la vivacité de la langue et une sorte d’évidence me lancent inéluctablement dans l’aventure. Dès les premières rencontres avec les interprètes, c’est l’idée de mettre en scène les Métamorphoses qui les touche. Les récits intimes de parcours souvent difficiles, douloureux, mais aussi merveilleux affluent petit à petit, avec la confiance qui s’installe à travers le texte que chacun découvre avec enchantement. C’est en effet le filtre de la mise à distance dont chacun de nous avait besoin pour trouver sa place dans ce processus. Les répétitions commencent. Un va-et-vient entre le texte d’Ovide, des entretiens caméra et une réécriture commune nous font aboutir à l’écriture finale. Ce qui nous lie est la nécessité de traverser les frontières, défier les limites, les murs qui séparent, censés nous protéger de l’Autre, qui par sa différence risquerait de mettre en danger notre identité. Je sens que l’écriture cinématographique de ce film doit être fragile, fragmentaire, comme nos vies. J’imagine le récit non pas comme un discours, une histoire linéaire, mais une certaine forme en mouvement, traversant des frontières perméables, déplaçant le regard du spectateur, de la fiction à la réalité, de la nature à l’artifice, de la « folie » à la « normalité ».

Yanira Yariv


La Nuit et l'Enfant

Le 5 novembre 2004, dans la salle de cinéma de Lussas, alors étudiant en Master documentaire, j’avais écrit ces mots en réaction à un film que je venais de voir. « Pas d’image de la réalité. Une expérience. Les molécules se mêlent. Je suis là, ici et maintenant. Ailleurs, on parle une autre langue. Ils ont une histoire. Je ne connaîtrai jamais leur vie. » Aveu d’impuissance ou manifeste esthétique ? En tout cas, dix ans après, les films que je réalise sont encore sous le signe de cette orientation. Avec ma caméra, je cherche à enregistrer une présence au monde, la lumière dans laquelle je suis la trace. Les Oiseaux d’Arabie (2009) et La Nuit et L’Enfant (2015) sont deux films tournés à Djelfa, en Algérie. Au fil du temps, une relation de confiance s’est établie avec certains habitants et la fabrication du cinéma nous permet de partager un commun malgré la différence des langues. La Nuit et L’Enfant s’est construit dans des allers-retours entre repérage des lieux, co-écriture, improvisation, tournage et montage. L’élan du film, c’était de reprendre la marche dans des lieux qui avaient été désertés suite au passage des terroristes dans les années quatre-vingt-dix. Lamine et Aness ont investi ces lieux à partir de quelques indications (action, sujet de discussion, dialogue) et se sont réappropriés les situations. Petit à petit, un récit personnel s’est dessiné et la fable a rencontré le documentaire, comme une distance nécessaire pour pouvoir évoquer l’intime et s’émanciper du poids de l’Histoire. À travers cette nuit interminable, le film évoque une histoire liée à l’enfance et à la perte.

David Yon


La Fièvre

L’Arrière-pays (2009) et La Fièvre (2014) forment un diptyque autour d’un exil politique : celui de ma mère, réfugiée politique communiste marocaine, exilée en France en 1973. L’Arrière-pays était filmé depuis le pays d’exil, la France. La Fièvre s’origine depuis le Maroc, au moment du retour : une exilée fantomatique revient dans son pays après une longue absence pour y retrouver sa mémoire perdue. Ce geste étrange de faire de ma mère un fantôme qui « hante » est d’abord la trace de la façon dont m’a été transmise son histoire : son enfance sous la décolonisation, sa mémoire d’une lutte qui la mènera à l’exil m’ont été transmis de manière souterraine, comme en rêve – les souvenirs ne sont pas pour elles des scènes convocables à volonté mais des réminiscences, des fantômes qui ressurgissent par vagues. L’exil est le cœur des films mais je n’ai jamais voulu faire un film « sur l’exil », mon désir était surtout d’expérimenter comment donner forme à une perception : j’ai été élevé dans l’exil, l’exil est mon pays natal. J’ai grandi en France, mais ceux qui m’ont élevé avaient dans leurs gestes, leurs pensées, leurs rêves, un autre pays, un pays qui n’existe pas, à la fois leur pays natal, territoire d’enfance dont ils étaient privés, et une utopique terre à venir. Ce territoire mental sans « réalité », informe mais agissant, m’a été inoculé et a construit mon regard. Le monde est à mes yeux perpétuellement hanté par une doublure, un territoire qui dédouble le visible – une sensation très ancrée dans le réel. Cette forme de fable, ou conte fantastique, qu’a naturellement prise La Fièvre est ici documentaire : elle témoigne de ce que peut fabriquer l’exil comme perception du monde. Mais la forme du conte, de la fable, s’est peut-être aussi instinctivement imposée aussi parce qu’il s’agissait d’une histoire de transmission, et que la fable est un récit « pour enfant ». C’est en 2010-2011, c’est-à-dire au moment des manifestations du « Printemps arabe », que j’ai voulu évoquer de nouveau cette histoire de luttes anciennes et réprimées. Les révoltes contemporaines, bien que radicalement différentes par leur nature et leurs revendications, me semblaient « réveiller » la mémoire de luttes ensevelies, errant comme des fantômes dans la zone grise de l’oubli. Une histoire de revenant pouvait relier les luttes de la décolonisation puis les luttes marxistes à ces révoltes contemporaines. Ainsi est né ce désir de raconter l’histoire d’une enfant, au présent, hantée par une histoire passée. L’enfant qui, à son réveil après la nuit des fantômes, doit faire face à de nouvelles révoltes, aux formes et devenirs inconnus.

Safia Benhaim

La réflexion développée dans le cadre de cet atelier s’appuiera aussi sur les trois volumes des Mille et Une Nuits de Miguel Gomes, présentés en séances spéciales jeudi et vendredi soir et samedi matin.


Atelier animé par Christophe Postic.
En présence de Safia Benhaim, Yanira Yariv et David Yon.