Les États généraux du film documentaire 2012 Doc History: The Baltic Countries

Doc History: The Baltic Countries


Lithuania, Latvia and Estonia: three countries in the North-East of Europe sharing a recent turbulent history. Three countries whose documentary production is regularly noted for its quality in festivals and on television. Three countries which undoubtedly deserve being considered separately for each one has its own history and culture.
We could have focused on one of these three countries or tripled the length of our programme... Each one deserves close attention and yet we have chosen to group them together. It is not only their common destiny which led us to take this decision but also evident parallels that can be drawn through the evolution of documentary film in Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania.
The Baltic countries have been historically influenced by many sources (Swedish, Danish, Prussian, Russian...) and diverse movements have forged their popular cultural identities. We can evoke the prosperity of the Hanseatic League in the middle ages, the knightly battles and religious struggles, then the marked influence of Greater Lithuania — an empire which, from the thirteenth to the eighteenth centuries, stretched from the Baltic to the Black Sea. This period was followed by Russian domination, leaving in Estonia and Latvia a lot of space, both politically and geographically, for Germano-Baltic large landholders. Lithuania recovered its independence only after the First World War, at which time Estonia and Latvia became independent for the first time until the Second War and Soviet occupation. This turbulent history, marked by the brief period of independence in the twentieth century, had repercussions on artistic expression and this is visible in documentary film where we find strong relationships between humanity and nature and, especially in Lithuania, a profound attachment to the land, to the country's cultural identity and heritage.
Cinema made its way to the Baltic countries as early as 1896, but it was after 1910 that local cinematographers became noticed. In Estonia, Johannes Pääsuke began filming in 1912. He was interested in the daily and social life or the heritage of his country while others were interested in the bigwigs, royalty and other decorated figures... In Latvia, more precisely in the region of Riga, we know of course Sergueï Eisenstein, but let us not forget his cameraman, Eduard Tissé, who shot numerous newsreels in the years ten.
During the period of independence, film production became more substantial with the creation of the first studios and the production of series of newsreels, following the model established by the German Kulturfilm, whose aim was mass education. In Estonia, several cameramen attracted attention in the thirties with poetic and ethnographic documentaries: Talwe (1933) by H. Viikmann, Ruhno (1931) by Theodor Luts or Konstantin Märska who in particular directed for Estonia Film a documentary on the Island of Osmus (Vaateid Osmussaarelt, 1937), with N. Envald and T. Meristu.
The Molotov/Ribbentrop pact between Germany and Russia and the Second World War changed the destiny of the three countries. Until the beginning of the nineties, Soviet occupation muzzled the artistic expression which had begun to take shape in the thirties. Film production in the forties and fifties was dominated by censorship and Soviet propaganda. In spite of this, certain films and directors stand out, but it is especially in the sixties during a limited political thaw that documentary came into its own in the three countries.
Influenced by young filmmakers including some who had been trained at the famous VGIK film school in Moscow, a much more aesthetic and journalistic style — thanks to television — became evident in films produced mainly in Tallinn, Riga and Vilnius. In Estonia, Andres Sööt, Peep Puks and Jüri Müür made films marked by atmospheric and carefully crafted photography. They focused on aspects of ordinary daily life and proposed implied analyses of a society whose development was constantly restrained: whether the subject be the apathy permeating an urban population (511 parimat fotot Marsist, 1968 ; Jaanipäev, 1978) or the situation in the countryside ignored by the authorities (Kolm talve, 1973; Koduküla, 1969). But it was above all the approach, the tone, the aesthetic quality that marked a real change in Estonian documentary.
In Lithuania, the country's cultural traditions and heritage (with, for example, Laikas eina per miestą, 1966, by Almantas Griškevičius) made up a large proportion of film subjects, notably emphasising that Lithuanian cultural identity was not Soviet. And we notice a similar critical tendency in films from the seventies and eighties with the hilarious Mums nebaisūs jokie priešai (1978) by Edmundas Zubavičius, on preparing for nuclear attack or Randas (1985) by Rimtautas Šilinis on the locking up of young delinquents, or again a barely veiled critique of the system of psychiatric health in Sala (1990). From the point of view of aesthetics, it is above all Robertas Verba (Senis ir žemė, 1965; Paskutinė vienkiemio vasara, 1971) who warrants attention. In his work, we find once again a strong attachment to the land and through it, an implied criticism of the changes imposed on Lithuanian society.
In Latvia, the "school of poetic documentary" is already well known. Not really a school but truly a current continuing today and of which Uldis Brauns (Sākums, 1961; Strādnieks, 1963) can be considered one of the informal founders. A graduate of VGIK, influenced by the work of Dziga Vertov, Brauns laid the foundations for a remarkable flowering of Latvian documentary. Some names destined to become well known were already involved in the film Baltie zvani (1961); Brauns of course, but also Herz Frank and Ivars Kraulītis. Herz Frank become one of the leading figures of Latvian documentary due to his humanism and his singular approach to his subjects. Whether in the poetic Par desmit minūtēm vecāks (1978) or Augstaka tiesa (1987) he has moved spectators well beyond the borders of the Baltic countries.
We should also mention Juris Podnieks, an emblematic witness — who died much too young — of the changes in Baltic societies (Vai vegli būt jaunam?, 1986) from the end of Soviet occupation to recovered freedom — notably with the re-establishment of song festivals, an event recorded with great emotion in Krustceļš (1991). During the shooting of the follow-up to this film, Podnieks lost two of his comrades, Andris Slapins and Gvido Zvaigzne, killed by snipers during the attempted Soviet army coup in January 1991.
This too short and partial overview of documentary film in the Baltic countries aims to show the heritage behind current production. We only have to think of filmmakers like Šarūnas Bartas, Arūnas Matelis, Audrius Stonys or Laila Pakalnina, who for several years now have been present and honoured in international festivals to observe that they are carrying on movements developed since the sixties in Latvian, Lithuanian and Estonian documentary.

Kees Bakker

The CNC Heritage department is collaborating this year again with the États généraux du film documentaire. This partnership with the documentary services at Bois d'Arcy is based on the projection of the film Sur la Baltique.

We wish to thank for their precious collaboration the following film archives and institutions: Estonian Film Archives, Latvian National Film Centre and the Latvian National Archives of Audiovisual Documents, the Central State Archives of Lithuania.


Guests : Presentation and debates by Kees Bakker. In the presence of Zanda Dūdiņa (under reserve).

Les États généraux du film documentaire 2012 Histoire de doc : Les pays baltes

Histoire de doc : Les pays baltes


Lituanie, Lettonie, Estonie : trois pays dans le Nord-Est de l’Europe qui partagent une histoire récente mouvementée. Trois pays dont la qualité de la production documentaire est régulièrement remarquée, ces dernières années, dans les festivals et sur les chaînes de télévision. Trois pays qui mériteraient sans doute d’être  considérés  individuellement parce qu’ils ont leur propre histoire et culture.
Nous aurions pu nous concentrer sur l'un de ces trois pays ou proposer une « Histoire de doc » trois fois plus longue... Chacun d’eux mérite bien une telle attention et pourtant, nous avons choisi de les réunir. Ce n’est pas seulement leur destin commun qui nous a conduits à prendre cette décision mais également les parallèles évidents que nous pouvons établir entre les évolutions du film documentaire en Estonie, en Lettonie et en Lituanie.
Les pays baltes connaissent une histoire riche d’influences (suédoise, danoise, prusse, russe…) et de mouvements multiples qui ont  forgé les identités culturelles des populations. Rappelons la prospérité de la Ligue hanséatique au Moyen Âge, les batailles chevaleresques et les luttes religieuses, puis l'influence notable de la Grande Lituanie — un empire qui, du treizième au dix-huitième siècle, s’étendait de la Baltique à la Mer Noire. A suivi la domination russe, laissant en Estonie et en Lettonie beaucoup d’espace, tant dans le sens géographique que politique, aux grands terriens germano-baltes. Ce n’est qu’après la première guerre mondiale que la Lituanie a retrouvé son indépendance et que l’Estonie et la Lettonie l'ont gagnée, jusqu’à la  seconde guerre mondiale et l’occupation soviétique. Cette histoire mouvementée, marquée par une brève période d’indépendance au vingtième siècle, a eu des répercutions sur l’expression artistique comme en témoigne le cinéma documentaire dans lequel nous retrouvons des rapports forts entre l’Homme et la Nature et, surtout en Lituanie, un attachement à la terre, au patrimoine et à l'identité culturelle.
Le cinéma trouve sa voie dès 1896 aux pays baltes mais c’est dans les années dix que les premiers opérateurs locaux se démarquent. En Estonie, Johannes Pääsuke commence à filmer à partir de 1912 : son regard porte sur la vie quotidienne et sociale ou sur le patrimoine de son pays, là où d’autres s’intéressent aux notables, aux royautés ou autres médaillés…  En Lettonie, plus précisément dans la région de Riga, nous connaissons bien sûr Sergueï Eisenstein, mais n’oublions pas son opérateur, Eduard Tissé, qui a tourné de nombreuses actualités dans les années dix.
Ce n’est que durant la période d’indépendance que la production cinématographique devient plus consistante avec la création des premiers studios et la production de séries d’actualités, un peu sur le modèle du Kulturfilm allemand, dont la visée est l’éducation populaire. En Estonie, quelques opérateurs se démarquent dans les années trente avec des documentaires poétiques et ethnographiques : Talwe (1933) de H. Viikmann, Ruhno (1931) de Theodor Luts ou Konstantin Märska qui réalise, pour Estonia Film, notamment un film sur l’île d’Osmus (Vaateid Osmussaarelt, 1937) avec N. Envald et T. Meristu.
Le pacte germano-soviétique bouleverse les trois pays. Jusqu’au début des années quatre-vingt-dix, la deuxième guerre mondiale et l’occupation soviétique musellent l’expression artistique qui commençait à prendre forme dans les années trente. Les années quarante et cinquante sont, dans le domaine du cinéma, marquées par la censure et la propagande soviétique. Malgré cela, quelques films et certains réalisateurs se démarquent, mais c’est surtout dans les années soixante, période d’un certain dégel, que le documentaire prend véritablement son envol dans les trois pays.
Sous l'influence de jeunes cinéastes dont certains sortent de la fameuse école de cinéma VGIK de Moscou, une approche beaucoup plus esthétique et journalistique – grâce à la télévision – caractérise les films produits principalement à Tallinn, Riga et Vilnius. En Estonie, ce sont Andres Sööt, Peep Puks et Jüri Müür qui marquent les esprits par la poésie et la photographie soignée de leurs films. Ils se focalisent sur des sujets ordinaires de la vie quotidienne et proposent une analyse implicite d’une société freinée dans son développement : qu'il s'agisse de l’apathie qui s’empare de la population de la ville (511 parimat fotot Marsist, 1968 ; Jaanipäev, 1978) ou de la situation de la campagne délaissée par les autorités (Kolm talve, 1973 ; Koduküla, 1969). Mais ce sont surtout l’approche, le ton et la qualité esthétique qui marquent un vrai changement dans le documentaire estonien.
En Lituanie, le patrimoine culturel (avec, par exemple, Laikas eina per miestą, 1966, de Almantas Griškevičius) et les traditions constituent les sujets essentiels des films, notamment pour  souligner que l’identité culturelle lituanienne n'est pas soviétique. Puis on constate une même tendance critique dans les films des années soixante-dix et quatre-vingt avec l’hilarant Mums nebaisūs jokie priešai (1978) de Edmundas Zubavičius, portant sur les entraînements en cas d’attaque nucléaire ou avec Randas (1985) de Rimtautas Šilinis qui traite de l’internement des jeunes délinquants ou encore une critique à peine voilée du système de santé psychiatrique dans Sala (1990). D’un point de vue esthétique, c’est surtout Robertas Verba (Senis ir žemė, 1965 ; Paskutinė vienkiemio vasara, 1971) qu’il faut mentionner. Dans son travail, nous retrouvons également cet attachement à la terre et à travers lui, une critique implicite des changements imposés à la société lituanienne.
En Lettonie, nous connaissons déjà « l’école du documentaire poétique ». Pas réellement une école mais une vraie tendance qui perdure aujourd’hui et dont Uldis Brauns (Sākums, 1961 ; Strādnieks, 1963) peut être considéré comme l'un des fondateurs informels. Venant de la VGIK, influencé par le travail de Dziga Vertov, Brauns a posé les jalons d’un remarquable cinéma documentaire letton. Quelques noms qui se manifesteront plus tard se retrouvent déjà attachés au film Baltie zvani (1961) : Brauns, toujours, mais aussi Herz Frank et Ivars Kraulītis. Herz Frank est devenu une des grandes figures du documentaire letton du fait de son humanisme et de son approche singulière des sujets. Que ce soit par le poétique Par desmit minūtēm vecāks (1978) ou Augstaka tiesa (1987), il a marqué les spectateurs bien au-delà des frontières des pays baltes.
Nous devons également mentionner Juris Podnieks, témoin emblématique – mort beaucoup trop jeune – des changements des sociétés baltes (Vai vegli būt jaunam?, 1986) de la fin de l’occupation soviétique à la liberté retrouvée — notamment avec la réinstauration des festivals de chant dont témoigne avec beaucoup d’émotion Krustceļš (1991). Lors du tournage de la suite de ce film, Podnieks a perdu deux de ses camarades, Andris Slapins et Gvido Zvaigzne, morts sous les tirs de snipers pendant la tentative de coup d’état de l’armée soviétique en janvier 1991.
Ce survol bref et lacunaire du film documentaire dans les pays baltes met l'accent sur l’héritage porté par les générations actuelles. Il suffit de penser à des cinéastes tels Šarūnas Bartas, Arūnas Matelis, Audrius Stonys ou Laila Pakalnina, qui sont depuis quelques années présents (et primés...) dans les festivals internationaux, pour constater qu'ils font perdurer les tendances développées depuis les années soixante par le documentaire letton, estonien et lituanien.
 
Kees Bakker

La Direction du Patrimoine s'est associée cette année encore aux États généraux du film documentaire. Ce partenariat avec les services documentaires de Bois d'Arcy se concrétise par la projection du film Sur la Baltique.

Nous remercions pour leur collaboration précieuse les archives et institutions suivantes : Les Archives de films d’Estonie, Le Centre National du Cinéma de Lettonie et les Archives Nationales de documents audiovisuels de Lettonie, les Archives Centrales de l’État de Lituanie.


Invités : Présentation et débats par Kees Bakker. En présence de Zanda Dūdiņa (sous réserve).