Les États généraux du film documentaire 2011 An history of production: Capricci Films - L’âge d’or

An history of production: Capricci Films - L’âge d’or


Capricci is a film producer, distributor and publisher. Each of these activities is the prolongation of a single critical gesture which holds that criticism is not just a commentary but also calls for a commitment and a programme of action. To better defend works of cinema and their authors, we have chosen to distribute the films ourselves and to propose publications to accompany them.
The editorial policy of Capricci is resolutely and radically aimed at those passionate about cinema (Jean Eustache, Straub and Huillet, Robert Kramer, Pedro Costa, Albert Serra, Monte Hellman…). It aims also to present works created within the art world (Della Negra and Kinoshita, Voignier, Guerif, Siboni, Bullot…).

L'âge d'or is a production platform opened by Capricci Films in Marseille that gives young producers the possibility of developing their project by supplying them with the necessary logistical tools as well as a framework for collective reflection.

Capricci and L'âge d'or share a way of adapting their modes of production to the projects being developed, sometimes outside traditional funding mechanisms.

Wednesday, 24 at 2:30 pm, Room 1.

Presentation and debate on the films Les Mutants and La Fille du coyotte, in the presence of Elisabeth Pawlowski (L'âge d'or) et Thierry Lounas (Capricci Films).

Les Mutants
Feature length film under development by Alain Della Negra and Kaori Kinoshita.
Presentation of excerpts made during the first scouting missions (about forty minutes).

There are two possible scenarios for the future of humanity: the future as cyborg and the future as mutant. In their previous documentary, The Cat, the Reverend and the Slave, Alain Della Negra and Kaori Kinoshita questioned our future as a cyborg, our relationship to the machine through the virtual world of the on-line game Second Life. With Les Mutants, they propose to explore another vision, another future: that of the mutation of humanity within its natural environment. The transformation of certain capacities — of our biology, our senses... — and this at the dawn of a new era where the question of how to live differently is becoming unavoidable.

Summary of the project:
What face will humanity have tomorrow? Through meetings with idiosyncratic individuals and utopian communities, the film attempts to draw the portrait of a possible mutant human, a human whose body has transformed, with refined psychic capacities and increased knowledge of invisible worlds.

La Fille du coyotte
Feature length film under development by Jean-Charles Hue. Presentation of the film Carne Viva (2009, 96'). La Fille du coyote is the second episode of a first feature film, Carne Viva, where Jean-Charles Hue drew a kaleidoscopic portrait of Tijuana, border town between Mexico and the USA. The point of departure of this project is the famous painting by Pierre Bruegel, Dulle Griet (1563). Summary of the project: "In this painting by Pierre Bruegel the elder, Griet crosses the ruins of a city at war, stealing all the objects she can find from under the noses of the rapists and looters plunged in their alcohol, the blood of beasts or between the thighs of a bourgeoise conquered at the edge of a sword. Griet fills her bag with loot that she wants to trade on the other side of the heavy gates of the city in flames. She does not steal in hell but at the gates of hell. But for what does Griet hope to trade her treasure and with whom?!" (Jean-Charles Hue)

Les États généraux du film documentaire 2011 Une histoire de production : Capricci Films - L’âge d’or

Une histoire de production : Capricci Films - L’âge d’or


Capricci est producteur, distributeur et éditeur de cinéma. Chacune de ses activités est le prolongement d'un même geste critique qui tient au fait que la critique n’est plus simplement un commentaire mais appelle également un engagement et un programme d’actions. Pour défendre au mieux les œuvres et les auteurs, nous avons choisi de diffuser les films nous-mêmes et de proposer des publications pour les accompagner.
La ligne éditoriale de Capricci est résolument cinéphile et radicale (Jean Eustache, Straub et Huillet, Robert Kramer, Pedro Costa, Albert Serra, Monte Hellman…). Elle s’attache également à présenter des œuvres issues du monde de l’art (Della Negra et Kinoshita, Voignier, Guerif, Siboni, Bullot…).

L’âge d’or est une plateforme de production ouverte par Capricci Films à Marseille qui donne à de jeunes producteurs la possibilité de développer leur projet en leur procurant les outils logistiques nécessaires ainsi qu’une réflexion collective.

Capricci et L’âge d’or ont comme point commun de façonner leurs modes de production en fonction des projets développés, parfois en dehors des modes de financement traditionnels.

Mercredi 24 à 14h30, Salle 1.

Présentation et débat autour des projets de films Les Mutants et La Fille du coyotte en présence d'Elisabeth Pawlowski (L'âge d'or) et Thierry Lounas (Capricci Films).

Les Mutants
Long métrage en développement de Alain Della Negra et Kaori Kinoshita.
Présentation d’extraits réalisés lors des premiers repérages (environ quarante minutes).

Il y a deux scénarios d’anticipation possibles à l’avenir de l’homme : le devenir cyborg et le devenir mutant. Dans leur précédent documentaire, The Cat, the Reverend and the Slave, Alain Della Negra et Kaori Kinoshita questionnaient notre devenir cyborg, notre rapport à la machine, à travers le monde virtuel du jeu Second Life. Dans les Mutants, ils proposent d’explorer une autre vision, un autre devenir : celui de la mutation de l’homme dans son évolution naturelle. Une transformation de certaines capacités — biologiques, sensibles… — et ceci à l’aube d’une ère nouvelle où la question du comment vivre autrement devient inévitable.

Résumé du projet :
Quel sera le visage de l’homme de demain ? À travers la rencontre d’individus singuliers et de communautés utopiques, le film se propose de dresser le portrait d’un possible homme mutant, un homme dont le corps se transforme, dont les capacités psychiques s’affinent et dont la connaissance des mondes invisibles s’accroît.

La Fille du coyotte
Long métrage en développement de Jean-Charles Hue. Présentation du film Carne Viva (2009, 96'). La Fille du coyote est le second volet d'un premier long métrage, Carne Viva, dans lequel Jean-Charles Hue dressait un portrait kaléidoscopique de Tijuana, ville frontière entre le Mexique et les États-Unis. Le point de départ de ce nouveau projet est le célèbre tableau de Pierre Bruegel, Margot l’Enragée (1563). Résumé du projet : « Dans ce tableau de Pierre Bruegel le Vieux, Margot traverse les ruines d’une ville en guerre et rapine tous les objets qu’elle peut trouver à la barbe des violeurs et des pilleurs, plongés dans l’alcool, dans le sang des bêtes ou dans l’entrecuisse d’une bourgeoise conquise au fil de l’épée. Margot remplit sa besace d’un butin qu’elle compte bien troquer de l’autre côté des lourdes portes de la ville en flammes. Elle vole non pas en enfer mais aux portes de l’enfer. Mais contre quoi Margot souhaite-t-elle troquer son trésor et avec qui ? ! » (Jean-Charles Hue)