Les États généraux du film documentaire 2010 Editorial

Editorial


What can upset documentary writing more than transformations in the Real itself? Film is regularly shaken up by tensions between its economic and artistic dimensions. The transformations brought about by the invasion of digital technologies (from the film-makers' tools to the means of distribution) exasperate these tensions. At the same time, they also transform our ways of documenting (in word, sound and image) and of seeing, as film-makers and spectators, just as they transform prospects for production and distribution. This twenty-second edition will question more globally the evolutions under way in our methods of making films and will note the gaps opening up between producers' policies and trajectories, film-makers' approaches and sensibilities, between ways of making film in places near and far.
At a time when offers in documentary form on the internet are multiplying, we propose to examine the way this new medium is shaking up practices and formats, modifying the shared experiences of director and viewer. These last years have been marked by repeated use of documentary in all artistic domains – a necessity to experience the Real – unveiling new forms of approach and narrative.
The meeting with two important directors at the extreme edges of documentary practice, Avi Mograbi and Wang Bing, will allow us to discuss with them their radical approaches. Both provide us with clear choices in the methods imagined to confront human realities which are, in and of themselves, just as extreme. In these films, the demands made on cinema are equal to the high consideration shown for their subject matter. Such demands are also found in the films selected for the "Uncertain Viewpoints" programme. The films place a woman or a man, a neighbourhood or a group, a community at the heart of their stories. This anthropological dimension of cinema is also very present in the atypical work of Jørgen Leth as well as in the collection of interviews with Stephano Savona whose films all document a state of struggle. The Friends of Lussas carry us into the Amazon with the same motivations, the Sacem proposes some ethno-musical exploration, the Scam reminds us that film is a question of style and a new generation of African documentary film-makers appropriates its history. The " Doc Route" pushes east as far as Russia and "Doc History" explores Denmark while the films of Chris Welsby will provide a refuge for the senses in the midst of this overpowering reality. Finally, there will be two particularly awaited moments: the screening of the highly impressive montage of archives in Andrei Ujică's film on the construction of the "Ceaușescu Fiction", an indispensable testimonial on the media staging of a historic imposture; and the three new films of Emmanuelle Demoris' cycle shot in the Mafrouza shanty town of Alexandria, a patient process of immersion that opens up space for true encounter, favouring the emergence of some shared words and reflection.

Pascale Paulat and Christophe Postic.

Les États généraux du film documentaire 2010 Éditorial

Éditorial


Qu’est ce qui peut bousculer les écritures documentaires si ce ne sont les transformations du réel lui-même ? Le cinéma est régulièrement secoué par les tensions entre les enjeux économiques et artistiques. Les bouleversements engendrés par l’envahissement des technologies numériques (depuis les outils pour filmer jusqu’aux moyens de diffusions) exacerbent ces tensions. Pour autant, ils transforment aussi nos façons de témoigner (par l’écrit, le son et l’image) et de regarder, réalisateurs comme spectateurs, tout comme ils transforment les perspectives de produire et de diffuser. Cette vingt-deuxième édition interrogera plus largement les évolutions dans la manière de fabriquer les films et observera les écarts, entre les parcours de producteurs, les démarches de cinéastes, entre des cinématographies proches et lointaines.
Alors que les propositions de formes documentaires sur Internet se multiplient nous regarderons ensemble de quelle manière ce nouveau media bouscule les pratiques et les écritures et modifie l’expérience partagée du réalisateur et du spectateur. Ces dernières années ont été marquées par un fort recours au documentaire dans tous les domaines artistiques — une nécessité d’éprouver le réel — révélant de nouvelles formes d’écritures et de récits.
La rencontre de deux cinéastes majeurs à deux pôles extrêmes du documentaire, Avi Mograbi et Wang Bing, permettra de discuter avec eux de leurs démarches radicales, toutes deux proposant des choix forts de dispositifs imaginés pour se confronter à des réalités humaines elles aussi extrêmes. Des films où l’exigence du travail du cinéma est à la mesure de la considération pour son sujet, exigences que nous retrouvons aussi dans la sélection « Incertains regards ». Ces films replacent un homme ou une femme, un groupe ou un quartier, une communauté au centre du récit. Une dimension anthropologique du cinéma très présente dans l’œuvre atypique de Jørgen Leth, et également dans le recueil d’entretiens de Stephano Savona, dont les films témoignent tous d’un état de lutte. Les Amis de Lussas nous entraînent en Amazonie avec les mêmes motivations, la Sacem propose une exploration ethnomusicale, la Scam nous rappelle qu’un film est affaire de style et la nouvelle génération de documentaristes africains s’empare de son histoire. La « Route du doc » pousse à l’est jusqu’à la Russie et l’« Histoire du doc » explore le Danemark, tandis que les films de Chris Welsby formeront un refuge sensible au milieu de ce réel imposant. Enfin, deux moments attendus : la diffusion du très impressionnant montage d’archives du film d’Andrei Ujică qui nous révèle la construction de la « fiction Ceaușescu », témoignage indispensable de la mise en scène médiatique d’une imposture historique ; et les trois nouveaux films du cycle d’Emmanuelle Demoris dans le bidonville de Mafrouza à Alexandrie, patient travail d’immersion qui ouvre un véritable espace pour une rencontre et favorise l’émergence d’une parole et d’une réflexion partagée…

Pascale Paulat et Christophe Postic.