Les États généraux du film documentaire 2010 Scam Day

Scam Day


Frontier

These days, a phrase, – a sentence? – is going the rounds of the documentary units in France Televisions: “We have managed to abolish the frontier between documentary and entertainment”.
Curious statement! What does it mean? It demonstrates quite simply the overpowering impact of audience ratings/entertainment on the documentary genre; audience ratings having no frontiers, like the globalised economy, it is invading the territory of documentary. Just as the globalised economy erases borders to invade the territory of the real economy. We can observe the result. Audience ratings produce the same effect, imagining an ideally average televiewer in order to gather the greatest number, whatever the specific interests of any individual among them. Ratings abolishes the particular frontier separating each spectator. In statistics, it is the least common denominator. Whereas in documentary each author defines her or his own territory. In doing so, they choose the public they are addressing. Which does not prevent them reaching for universal meaning which cannot be defined statistically unlike audience ratings. There is truly a frontier between Racine and Corneille, Marivaux and Beaumarchais: it refers to the distinctive style particular to each author even though all four are citizens of the shared territory of theatre. Of course, this quartet desired the widest possible audience, which is legitimate, but not at the cost of giving in to the demagogy of the “average viewer” which levels out any style, any singularity, therefore any frontier.
The Scam offers this year four documentaries with a pronounced style: Ça rime et ça rame comme tartine et boterham by Isabelle Dierckx; Because We Were Born by Jean-Pierre Duret and Andrea Santana; The Hand of God by François Sculier and Nostalgia for the Light by Patricio Guzmán.
Four styles, five authors who also wish to have the widest possible audience but not at the cost of bowing to the demands of audience ratings/entertainment.
And you will see that these four documentaries are fascinating.
Finally the Scam day will close with the projection of Vive le son ! Florilège sonore du film documentaire by François Porcile: a commission by the Scam in partnership with Ina and Sacem, a history of the territory of documentary since the invention of cinema: sixty-seven styles, sixty-seven authors and sixty-seven composers. For it is with the aid of their music that François Porcile composed the score of this long singular history, that of documentary.

Guy Seligmann

P.-S.: The “m” in Scam means “multimedia”: so do not forget the “Radio Night” on the theme The Walls have Ears Thursday August, 26 at 9:00 pm under the star-filled skies of Saint-Laurent-sous-Coiron.


Coordination : Day presented by Guy Seligmann.


Guests : Debates in the presence of the film-makers.


The night will be presented by Guy Seligmann (Scam) and Aline Jelen (Sacem).

Les États généraux du film documentaire 2010 Journée Scam

Journée Scam


Frontière

En ce moment, une phrase, - une sentence ? - fait florès au sein du pôle documentaire de France Télévisions : « Nous avons réussi à abolir la frontière entre le documentaire et le divertissement ».
Curieuse assertion ! Que signifie-t-elle donc ? Elle démontre tout simplement la toute puissance de l’audimat/divertissement sur le genre documentaire ; l’audimat n’ayant pas de frontière comme l’économie mondiale envahit le territoire documentaire. Comme l’économie mondialisée effaçant les frontières a envahi le territoire de l’économie réelle. On en constate le résultat. L’audimat produit le même effet, il imagine un spectateur idéalement moyen pour en rassembler le plus grand nombre, quel que soit le territoire d’intérêt de chacun d’entre eux. L’audimat abolit la frontière propre à chaque spectateur. C’est, en statistique, le plus petit dénominateur commun. Or chaque auteur de documentaire définit son propre territoire. Par là, il choisit à qui s’adresser ; cela ne l’empêche pas d’atteindre à l’universel qui ne peut se définir statistiquement à l’inverse de l’audimat. Il y a bien une frontière entre Racine et Corneille ou entre Marivaux et Beaumarchais : elle s’appelle le style propre à chaque auteur mais tous les quatre sont citoyens du territoire théâtre. Bien sûr, ce quatuor souhaitait la plus large audience, c’est légitime, mais pas au prix de l’abandon à la démagogie du spectateur moyen qui rabote tout style, toute singularité, donc toute frontière.
La Scam propose cette année quatre documentaires de style : Ça rime et ça rame comme tartine et boterham de Isabelle Dierckx ; Puisque nous sommes nés de Jean-Pierre Duret et Andrea Santana ; La Main de Dieu de François Sculier et Nostalgie de la lumière de Patricio Guzmán.
Quatre styles, cinq auteurs qui eux aussi souhaitent la plus large audience mais pas au prix de l’asservissement à l’audimat/divertissement.
Et, vous le constaterez, ces quatre documentaires sont passionnants.
Enfin, la journée Scam se terminera par la projection de Vive le son ! Florilège sonore du film documentaire de François Porcile : une commande de la Scam en partenariat avec l'Ina et la Sacem. Une histoire du territoire documentaire depuis l’invention du cinématographe. Soixante-sept styles, soixante-sept auteurs et soixante-sept compositeurs car c’est à l’aide de leurs musiques que François Porcile a composé la partition de cette longue histoire singulière, celle du documentaire.

Guy Seligmann

P.-S. : Le « m » de Scam signifie « multimédia » : n’oubliez pas la « Nuit de la Radio » sur le thème Les Oreilles ont des murs le jeudi 26 août à 21h00, sous le ciel étoilé de Saint-Laurent-sous-Coiron.


Coordination : Journée présentée par Guy Seligmann.


Invités : Débats en présence des réalisateurs.


La soirée sera présentée par Guy Seligmann (Scam) et Aline Jelen (Sacem).