Les États généraux du film documentaire 2009 Scam Day

Scam Day


Ask for the programme!

Faced with the "crisis" this year at Lussas, the Scam (French Society of Multimedia Authors) has chosen to make a commitment, make a commitment to understand, analyse, explain. This is the first role of documentary - a tool of information, analysis, reflection, culture - such as Rossellini dreamed of for television in Rome at the beginning of the sixties: a pedagogical, hence political, tool. To analyse the crisis and reflect on its causes, the Scam has chosen the theme "Money" on a hint by Régis Debray (1). The god money, this adored master, is at the heart of the tremors shaking the current world.
Come and see the 1996 documentary Journal intime des affaires en cours. Denis Robert is the journalist, Philippe Harel is behind the camera. They show us the ravages caused in France, our republic, by the god money. Has the situation changed since this date? Probably not if we look at a film shot ten years later Delta, Oil’s Dirty Business by Yorgos Avgeropoulos, screened for the first time in France. It is a documentary by Greek public television on the damage caused in the Niger delta by the major petroleum companies. Money is pillaging a territory and the ethnic groups who live on it are the victims. Also victims are the employees, workers and management, of Metaleurop, fired without severance pay. The globalised god-money has abandoned a site whose pollution affects an entire swath of northern France. Jean-Michel Meurice and Christian Dauriac filmed an enquiry in 2003 entitled L’Éléphant, la Fourmi et l’État. Come and see also UBS: le cauchemar américain by Steven Artels and Jean-Daniel Bohnenblust (2008). This production by the Swiss-French Television, never shown in France, will allow you to understand how the dominion of the god money caused the financial collapse of one of the biggest Swiss banks: subprimes, risky investments, the thirst for rapid gain: everything is analysed by the two authors. Finally come and see Lobbying au-delà de l’enveloppe by Myriam Tonelotto (2003). This documentary by the German company NDR and Arte demonstrates the mechanics of lobbying, this new presentable and clean form of corruption. Here again, money reigns but adopts the appearance of democratic transparency, our capacity to exercise our own citizenship being the prime victim. Is lobbying the ultimate form of democracy? How can a collectively managed society like the Scam continue to defend the authors it represents in the kingdom of money when our means are so limited in the face of such enormous investments? We only dispose of our convictions, our ideological point of view, our militant commitment. Is it sufficient? We will debate the subject following the screening of this documentary. This cycle of the "God money" has already been programmed at Caen. It will be shown at Lille, Brest, Toulouse and Strasbourg in the coming months in an attempt to increase public awareness of the Scam.
Next year, we will move back to projecting the films financed by our "Brouillon d'un rêve" seed fund, which expresses another form of commitment, allowing authors to continue to make documentaries, these toolboxes for understanding the world.

Guy Seligmann, president of the Scam

(1) Chief editor of the review Médium L'Argent maître, (N° 16/17 July-December 2008).


Guests : Day presented by Jean-Marie Drot and Guy Seligmann. Debates with the participation of Jean-Michel Meurice, Steven Artels, Jean-Daniel Bohnenblust, Denis Robert, Myriam Tonelotto, led by Dominique Rousset, journalist and producer at France Culture.

Les États généraux du film documentaire 2009 Journée Scam

Journée Scam


Demandez le programme !

Face à la « crise », cette année à Lussas la Scam a choisi de militer : militer pour comprendre, analyser, expliquer. C’est le rôle premier du documentaire, cet outil d’information, d’analyse, de réflexion, de culture, enfin tel que le rêvait pour la télévision Rossellini à Rome au début des années soixante ; outil pédagogique donc politique. Pour analyser la CRISE et réfléchir à ses causes, la Scam a choisi un thème, l’ARGENT, c’est Régis Debray (1) qui nous en a soufflé l’idée. L’argent roi, ce maître adulé, est au cœur des secousses mondiales actuelles.
Venez voir Journal intime des affaires en cours, ce documentaire date de 1996. Denis Robert enquête, Philippe Harel filme. Ils nous montrent, dès cette date, l’ampleur des ravages provoqués en France, notre république, par l’argent roi. La situation a-t-elle évolué depuis cette date ? On peut en douter en regardant dix ans plus tard Delta, Oil’s Dirty Business de Yorgos Avgeropoulos, inédit en France. C’est un documentaire de la télévision publique grecque qui dénonce les ravages causés par les grandes compagnies pétrolières dans le delta du Niger. L’argent y saccage un territoire et les ethnies qui y vivent en sont les victimes. Victimes encore les salariés, ouvriers et cadres de Metaleurop licenciés sans indemnités. L’argent roi mondialisé a laissé à l’abandon un site dont la pollution touche toute la région de Béthune. C’est Jean-Michel Meurice et Christian Dauriac qui ont mené l’enquête en 2003. Venez voir leur documentaire L’Éléphant, la Fourmi et l'État. Venez voir aussi UBS : le cauchemar américain de Steven Artels et Jean-Daniel Bohnenblust (2008). Cette production de la Télévision Suisse Romande, non diffusée en France, vous fera comprendre comment la royauté de l’argent a provoqué l’effondrement financier d’une des plus importantes banques suisses : subprimes, placements à risques, appât du gain rapide : tout est analysé minutieusement par les deux auteurs. Venez voir enfin Lobbying : au-delà de l’enveloppe de Myriam Tonelotto (2003), ce documentaire de la chaîne allemande NDR et d'Arte démonte les mécanismes de lobbying, cette forme nouvelle, présentable et propre de la corruption. Là encore l’argent règne mais en prenant les apparences de la transparence démocratique et c’est notre citoyenneté qui en est la victime. Le lobbying est-il l’état ultime de la démocratie ? Comment une société de gestion collective comme la Scam peut-elle, au royaume de l’argent, continuer à défendre les auteurs qu’elle représente, tant nos moyens sont faibles face à ces énormes investissements ? Nous ne disposons que de nos convictions, de notre point de vue idéologique, de notre militance. Est-ce suffisant ? Nous en débattrons après la projection de ce documentaire. Ce cycle « L’Argent roi » a déjà été programmé à Caen. Il le sera aussi à Lille, Brest, Toulouse et Strasbourg dans les mois qui viennent, faisant ainsi mieux connaître la Scam.
L’année prochaine, nous reprendrons les projections des films « Brouillon d’un rêve », cette autre manière de militer puisqu’elle permet à des auteurs de continuer à réaliser des documentaires, cette boîte à outils pour comprendre le monde.

Guy Seligmann, président de la Scam

(1) Rédacteur en chef de la revue Médium L'Argent maître (n° 16/17 juillet-décembre 2008).


Invités : Journée présentée par Jean-Marie Drot et Guy Seligmann. Débats en présence de Jean-Michel Meurice, Steven Artels, Jean-Daniel Bohnenblust, Denis Robert, Myriam Tonelotto, animés par Dominique Rousset, journaliste, productrice à France Culture.