Les États généraux du film documentaire 2009 Photography and cinema

Photography and cinema


Some remarks on the relations between photography and cinema.

1.
There was a time (Louis Delluc, Jean Epstein) when the notion of "photogenic" characterised the cinematic image. The same word designates today exclusively the quality of a good photographic object, a sort of predisposition to the image. Photography is everywhere and nowhere except in cinema, unless a long still shot gives the illusion.

2.
It is well known that good photographers rarely produce good films, even when their photographic practice integrates the example of cinema. The case of Walker Evans is significant. When in 1932 he tried to make a film on Tahiti, he was forced to admit after several weeks that he had good photos but had been incapable of putting together a sequence. He wrote to a friend: "Films are more difficult than I thought. Apparently I am able to take striking individual images, but I am unable to compose an interesting sequence. I can't seem to give a dramatic form to my subjects." This difficulty is surprising in an artist who, later, showed a genius for the assembly of still images in books (American Photographs, 1938) or an exhibition. This shows that the analogy between cinema editing and the juxtaposition of photographs must be handled with care.
Examples abound. An exception, so it is said, is Robert Frank. His cinema is sometimes considered equal in quality to his photography. Is it so sure? Pull My Daisy certainly opened up new territory, inspired Warhol, but his two books, The Americans and Lines of My Hands are usually considered more important in the history of the image in the twentieth century. On the contrary, some great filmmakers like Johan van der Keuken had a disappointing early career in photography. In the recent exhibitions by Abbas Kiarostami, the substance of cinema had been reduced to a series of insubstantial shots of photogenic subjects.

3.
Film historians have rarely shown interest in photography except to reduce it to the composition of a shot, a freeze frame or, even worse, a kind of ersatz painting. (It is true that Art historians showed the way as they long wrote their histories of painting in the nineteenth century ignoring the influence of photography.) Similarly, more recent historians of photography take into account just as rarely the influence of cinema. Perhaps things will improve one day, when we can hear the message of an artist photographer like Jeff Wall who moves freely through the history of photographic and cinematic images associating them to a pictorial tradition; when the history of cinema is no longer focused on authors, genres, production machinery; when for example the great cameramen of Italian neo-realist cinema are no longer overshadowed by the "authors", screenwriters and directors. I recommend reading the text by Nestor Almendros on Aldo in Film Culture, number 20 (1959).

4.
Talking movies, so it is said, moved cinema away from photography. Cinema became an "impure" art. But photography had always been one: torn between the visual and literary arts, description and narrative, but also a tool of knowledge and distraction. As the poet Pierre Reverdy said in 1933 in the first issue of the review Minotaure, cinema was born as an "art of the gutter", it didn't care about the examples from painting. Photography, on the contrary, developed between the fine arts and the media, and it is in this way that it contributed to the definition of modern art.

5.
It is obvious that a good film is not made up of a succession of good photographs. But that is no reason not to distinguish good photography from bad. On the other hand, photographs have used film as an inspiration to break the conventions of the "good picture", that is to say the well composed, well lit image constructed according the standards of a fossilised pictorial tradition. A good example is the Ballade de la dépendance sexuelle (1981-1996) by Nan Goldin projected as a slide show. Sincerely, in the history of art in general, artists have always sought their liberty outside the rules of the craft. At the beginning of the twentieth century for example, cubist painters (Picasso, Braque) used poets as their inspiration (Mallarmé, Apollinaire, Max Jacob...).

6.
In this impure art that is cinema, silence can speak, description can replace narrative, or the narrative can precipitate, block, or subvert description. This relation between description and narrative also conditions photographic montage, that is the passage from the recorded image to the sequence (the series constitutes an intermediary form as it functions as variations based on a prototype). Can we consider that the sequence is a common trope to the still image and the image-movement, or a common and improper form to both registers of image? The documentary genre, to the extent that it exists, seems today to be the ideal zone to express this play on borders. Documentary is the zone where there is interference between all kinds of image.

7.
The weaknesses of silent documentary description are well known. Bertolt Brecht pointed out that a view of a factory said nothing about the way it worked. The photographic document generally needs a caption. It takes on meaning when confronted with other documents, in an order of discourse. But photographs have always benefited from the silence of the image. This possibility also exists for filmmakers. We have often wondered how still and silent images can be inserted as such in the meeting space created by cinema (and also in the debates, in the discourse on film).

8.
Between the still image and the image-movement the difference is as much in the experience of the viewer as in that of their production. It is the difference between seer and spectator. Three young artists will each present a photographic work. These pictures will be hung on a wall. The seer will view them in the light of day, standing, as if looking at a painting. The spectator will see them seated in the dark. The image is projected on a screen. It passes. The photographic image presents itself in the space of the seer. It seems to confront the individual, which is why critics have often lent works of art a presence. In cinema, the effect is that of a picking up or capturing stimuli often comparable to a hallucination or hypnosis (ref. the latest book by Raymond Bellour). The exposed photographic image and the projected film are isolated, separated from the space of daily activity, but this separation does not work in the same way.

9.
People think too frequently that the recorded image constitutes the naturalist substratum of the cinematic narration. The isolated photographic image — if conceived to be seen in isolation — immediately affirms its abstract character: it is literally abstracted out of the space-time continuum of perception, this continuum that the film is too often supposed to replicate. Naturalism has always embarrassed, bothered both documentary cinema and journalistic photography. This is due in part to the convention of the "subject", but also to the influence of an audiovisual culture which flattens the document to a so-called narrative standard of daily life. In Man without Qualities Robert Musil evoked the power of the "primitive narration": "Most men are, in their fundamental relationship with themselves, narrators. They do not like poetry, or only momentarily. Even if some "becauses" or "in order that" get mixed up here and there with the thread of life, they nonetheless refuse any reflection which tries to go beyond. They like a well-ordered succession of facts because it takes on all the appearances of necessity, and the impression that their life is following a "course" which is for them a shelter from chaos."

Jean-François Chevrier




Three young artists are invited to present one of their photographs and to display it in connection with a documentary film: Madeleine Bernardin Sabri, Maxence Rifflet and Claire Tenu. All three recently worked together on a collective exhibition entitled Champs d'abondance (Galerie Dix9, Paris, Dec. 2008-Jan. 2009). Chosen with them, the films deal with subjects close to those of the photos they display. This link raises questions of representation, they question the authors' positioning and ways of viewing. The encounter allows us to raise questions concerning documentary and narrative within the field of the photography and also cinema. The three photographers will speak to us of their approaches, the production of their images and their documentary content. Jean-François Chevrier, historian and art critic, professor at the École nationale supérieure des beaux-arts in Paris, has accompanied them in their reflections and work for several years. He will place their photos in historical and aesthetic perspective.
Madeleine Bernardin Sabri (1980) is currently shooting a series of photos with asylum seekers while carrying on a parallel militant activity as administrative and judicial counsellor: she helps asylum seekers to write the narratives which justify their request for refugee status to the French Refugee Authority (Ofpra). In her photography, she tries to reconstruct the depth of experiences and particular situations, to represent certain ways of inhabiting the space and territory. She presents in Lussas an image accompanied by a text, each one expressing the circumstances of such a narrative.
Ce monsieur doit rentrer chez lui, Florence Miettaux, 2002
A few months before the presidential elections of 2002, Florence Miettaux filmed the judicial attempts by the Cimade (a French Protestant support group for migrants' rights) to prevent a released prisoner being sent back to Algeria where his life was threatened.
Between 2002 and 2006, Maxence Rifflet (1978) documented photographically the transformations of the Yangtze Valley region as work advanced on the Three Gorges Dam. The images resulting from this work are so many questions on the possibility for the Chinese to reappropriate spaces in crisis. They indicate ways that these places, caught between a past which no longer exists and a future which has not yet arrived, can be inhabited in the present. Extracted from this set of photographs, the view he presents describes the dam's construction site where cultivated fields subsist amid the earthwork.
Bingai, Feng Yan, 2007
Shot in a village of the Yangtze valley, the film describes the consequences of these changes on the life of a family of which Zhang Bingai (the mother) is the central character.
The River, Pare Lorentz, 1936
The River is an ode to the Mississippi and part of a propaganda campaign for the film's commissioner - the Farm Security Administration (FSA) - a lyrical celebration of progress and America's capacity to master natural phenomena.
In 2004, Claire Tenu (1983) went to Bethlehem (Pennsylvania) to photograph this small industrial town documented by Walker Evans in 1935-36 when he was working for the FSA. She did not aim to describe the consequences of the end of industrial prosperity but she concentrated on a study of the site. The black and white photograph presented at Lussas is the result of this work. The structure of the image which plays on numerous details transmits by equivalence the complexity of the location.
Lettre à Freddy Buache, Jean-Luc Godard, 1981
The film is an attempt to paint a cinematic portrait of the city of Lausanne in three shots. What could appear to be a purely formal conceit in fact corresponds precisely to the topographical and historical reality of the town.

Works exposed in the School Cafeteria:
Madeleine Bernardin Sabri, Madame T., of Armenian origin explains to Mireille Moreau, Cimade volunteer, how she was evicted from the Asylum Seekers' Hostel in which she lived, Paris 17th. 2008. Colour chemical print, 50 x 62 cm. A text.
Maxence Rifflet, Three Gorges Dam seen from the new town of Mauping, 2002. Colour chemical print, 115 x 150 cm.
Claire Tenu, Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, U.S.A., 2004. Black and white chemical print, 133 x 165 cm.

For more information on work by Madeleine Bernardin Sabri, Maxence Rifflet and Claire Tenu, and on the exhibition Champs d’abondance: www.desterritoires.com and www.maxencerifflet.com

The morning session will start with the discovery of the three photographs displayed in the school and visible as of Sunday afternoon.
As an extension of the day, in a special screening, will be presented L'Arrière-pays, the first film by Safia Benhaïm who after a period of photography made her entry into cinema with this troubling journey into the land of exile. Then the "Fragment of an Opus" devoted to Peter Hutton will close this exploration.


Coordination : Jean-François Chevrier, Élia Pijollet, Madeleine Bernardin Sabri, Maxence Rifflet, Claire Tenu, Christophe Postic.

Les États généraux du film documentaire 2009 Photographie et cinéma

Photographie et cinéma


Quelques remarques sur les relations entre photographie et cinéma.

1.
Il fut un temps (Louis Delluc, Jean Epstein) où la notion de photogénie qualifiait l’image cinématographique. Le même mot désigne exclusivement aujourd’hui la qualité d’un bon objet photographique, une sorte de prédisposition à l’image. La photographie est partout et nulle part, sauf dans le cinéma, à moins qu’un long plan fixe en donne l’illusion.

2.
Il est connu que les bons photographes ont rarement produit des bons films, même quand ils avaient intégré dans leur pratique de la photographie l’exemple du cinéma. Le cas de Walker Evans est significatif. Quand, en 1932, il essaya de faire un film sur Tahiti, il dut constater au bout de plusieurs semaines qu’il avait fait de bonnes photos mais qu’il était incapable de composer une séquence. Il écrit à un ami : « Les films sont plus difficiles que je ne pensais. Apparemment je suis capable de prendre des images individuelles frappantes, mais je n’arrive pas à composer une séquence intéressante. Je n’arrive pas à donner une forme dramatique à mes sujets. » Cette difficulté est surprenante pour un artiste qui, par la suite, fit preuve de génie dans le montage des images fixes, en livre (American Photographs, 1938) ou en exposition. Cela montre que l’analogie entre le montage cinématographique et le montage de photographies doit être maniée avec prudence.
On pourrait multiplier les exemples. Une exception est, dit-on, Robert Frank. Son cinéma est parfois considéré à l’égal de son œuvre photographique. Est-ce bien sûr ? Pull My Daisy a sans doute ouvert une voie, inspiré Warhol, mais on peut toujours considérer que ses deux livres, The Americans et Lines of My Hands, ont été bien plus importants dans l’histoire de l’image au vingtième siècle. À l’inverse, de grands cinéastes, comme Johan van der Keuken, ont eu une première carrière photographique décevante. Dans les récentes expositions d'Abbas Kiarostami, la substance du cinéma était réduite à une photogénie sans consistance.

3.
Les historiens du cinéma se sont rarement intéressés à la photographie, sauf pour la réduire à la composition d’un plan, à une image arrêtée ou, pire encore, à un ersatz de peinture. (Il est vrai que les historiens de l’art avaient donné l’exemple, puisqu’ils ont longtemps écrit l’histoire de la peinture du dix-neuvième siècle sans prendre en compte la photographie.) De même, les historiens de la photographie, apparus plus récemment, prennent tout aussi rarement en compte le cinéma. Cela s’arrangera peut-être un jour, quand on saura entendre un artiste photographe comme Jeff Wall, qui circule librement dans l’histoire des images, photographiques et cinématographiques, en les associant à une tradition picturale ; quand l’histoire du cinéma ne sera plus focalisée sur les auteurs, les genres, les machines de production ; quand on examinera sérieusement le travail des chefs opérateurs ; quand, par exemple, le grand chef opérateur du cinéma néoréaliste italien ne sera plus tenu dans l’ombre des « auteurs », scénaristes et réalisateurs. Je recommande la lecture du texte de Nestor Almendros sur Aldo dans le n° 20 de Film Culture (1959).

4.
Le parlant a éloigné, dit-on, le cinéma de la photographie. Le cinéma est devenu un « art impur ». Mais la photographie l’a toujours été : partagée entre art visuel et littérature, description et récit, mais aussi outil de connaissance et divertissement. Comme le disait le poète Pierre Reverdy en 1933, dans le premier numéro de la revue Minotaure, le cinéma était né comme un « art du ruisseau », il n’avait rien à faire des exemples de la peinture. La photographie, au contraire, s’est développée entre les beaux-arts et les médias, et c’est ainsi qu’elle a contribué à la définition de l’art moderne.

5.
Il est évident qu’un bon film n’est pas fait d’une suite de bonnes photographies. Mais ce n’est pas une raison pour ignorer ce qui distingue une bonne photographie d’une mauvaise. En revanche, des photographes ont pu s’inspirer du cinéma pour briser les conventions de la « bonne image », c’est-à-dire l’image bien composée, bien éclairée, construite selon les normes d’une tradition picturale sclérosée. Un bon exemple est la Ballade de la dépendance sexuelle (1981-1996) de Nan Goldin, projetée en diaporama. À vrai dire, dans l’histoire de l’art en général, les artistes ont toujours cherché leur liberté hors des règles du métier. Au début du vingtième siècle, par exemple, les peintres cubistes (Picasso, Braque) se sont inspirés des poètes (Mallarmé, Apollinaire, Max Jacob…).

6.
Dans cet art impur qu’est le cinéma, le silence peut être parlant, la description remplacer le récit, ou le récit précipiter la description, l’enfreindre, la subvertir. Ce rapport entre description et récit conditionne également le montage photographique, c’est-à-dire le passage de l’image enregistrée à la séquence (la série constituant une forme intermédiaire, puisqu’elle opère des variations à partir d’un prototype). Peut-on considérer que la séquence est un tropisme commun à l’image fixe et à l’image-mouvement, ou une forme commune et impropre aux deux registres d’images ? Le genre documentaire, si tant est qu’il existe, semble être aujourd’hui le lieu d’expression privilégié de ces jeux de frontières. Le documentaire est la zone d’interférences entre tous les régimes d’image.

7.
L’insuffisance de la description documentaire, sans paroles, est bien connue. Bertolt Brecht remarquait qu’une vue d’usine ne dit rien de son fonctionnement. Le document photographique a généralement besoin d’une légende. Il prend sens quand il est mis en relation avec d’autres documents, dans l’ordre du discours. Mais les photographes ont toujours tiré avantage du mutisme de l’image. Cette possibilité existe aussi pour les cinéastes. Nous nous sommes demandés comment des images fixes et silencieuses peuvent s’introduire en tant que telles dans un espace de rencontre dévolu au cinéma (et aux débats, aux discours sur des films).

8.
Entre l’image fixe et l’image-mouvement, la différence tient à l’expérience de réception autant qu’à l’expérience de fabrication. C’est la différence entre regardeur et spectateur. Trois jeunes artistes présenteront chacun une œuvre photographique. Ces images seront accrochées au mur. Le regardeur les verra dans la lumière du jour, debout, comme on regarde un tableau. Le spectateur, lui, est assis dans le noir. L’image est projetée dans un écran, elle passe. L’image photographique se présente dans l’espace du regardeur. Elle semble lui faire face, c’est pourquoi on a souvent doté les œuvres d’art d’une présence. Au cinéma, l’effet participe d’une captation, que l’on compare souvent avec l’hallucination et l’hypnose (voir le dernier ouvrage de Raymond Bellour). L’image photographique exposée et le film projeté sont isolés, séparés de l’espace d’activité quotidien, mais cette séparation n’opère pas de la même manière.

9.
On considère trop souvent que l’image enregistrée constitue le substrat naturaliste du récit cinématographique. L’image photographique isolée — si elle a été conçue pour être regardée isolément — affirme immédiatement son caractère abstrait : elle est littéralement abstraite du continuum spatio-temporel de la perception, ce continuum dont le film est censé trop souvent produire un équivalent. Le naturalisme a toujours embarrassé, encombré, le cinéma documentaire et la photographie journalistique. Cela tient en partie à la convention du « sujet », mais aussi à l’emprise d’une culture audiovisuelle qui rabat constamment le document sur une soi-disant norme narrative du quotidien. Dans L’Homme sans qualités, Robert Musil évoquait une emprise de la « narration primitive » : « La plupart des hommes sont, dans leur rapport fondamental avec eux-mêmes, des narrateurs. Ils n’aiment pas la poésie, ou seulement par moments. Même si quelques « parce que » ou « pour que » se mêlent ici et là au fil de la vie, ils n’en ont pas moins en horreur toute réflexion qui tente d’aller au-delà. Ils aiment la succession bien réglée des faits parce qu’elle a toutes les apparences de la nécessité, et l’impression que leur vie suit un « cours » est pour eux comme un abri dans le chaos. »

Jean-François Chevrier




Trois jeunes artistes sont conviés à présenter une de leurs œuvres photographiques et à la mettre en regard avec un film documentaire : Madeleine Bernardin Sabri, Maxence Rifflet et Claire Tenu. Tous trois ont récemment travaillé ensemble dans le cadre d'une exposition collective intitulée Champs d'abondance (Galerie Dix9, Paris, déc. 2008-janv. 2009). Choisis avec eux, les films traitent de sujets proches de ceux abordés par les images qu’ils présentent. Ces mises en relation posent des questions de représentation, elles interrogent la place et le regard des auteurs. La rencontre permettra d’aborder les questions du document et du récit dans le champ de la photographie et dans celui du cinéma. Les trois photographes nous parleront de leurs démarches, de la fabrication de leurs images et de leur teneur documentaire. Jean-François Chevrier, historien et critique d’art, professeur à l’École nationale supérieure des beaux-arts de Paris, les accompagne dans leurs réflexions et leur travail depuis plusieurs années. Il mettra en perspective leurs photographies d'un point de vue historique et esthétique.
Madeleine Bernardin Sabri (1980) réalise actuellement un ensemble de photographies avec des demandeurs d’asile, parallèlement à une activité militante d’aide juridique et administrative : elle aide des demandeurs d’asile à rédiger le récit qui doit justifier leur demande du statut de réfugié auprès de l’Ofpra. Dans son travail photographique, elle cherche à restituer l’épaisseur d’expériences et de situations singulières, à représenter certains processus d’habitation des lieux et du territoire. Elle présente à Lussas une image accompagnée d’un texte, figurant chacun les circonstances d’un récit.
Ce Monsieur doit rentrer chez lui, Florence Miettaux, 2002
Quelques mois avant les élections présidentielles de 2002, Florence Miettaux a filmé les démarches juridiques de la Cimade pour éviter à un homme sortant de prison d’être renvoyé en Algérie où sa vie est menacée.
Entre 2002 et 2006, Maxence Rifflet (1978) a documenté par la photographie les transformations du territoire de la vallée du Yangzi liées à la construction du barrage des Trois Gorges. Les images résultant de ce travail sont une interrogation sur la possibilité pour les Chinois de se réapproprier des espaces en crise. Elles indiquent comment ces lieux, pris entre un passé qui n’existe plus et un avenir qui n’est pas encore, peuvent être habités au présent. Extraite de cet ensemble de photographies, la vue (veduta) qu’il présente décrit le site de construction du barrage, où des terrains cultivés subsistent parmi les travaux de terrassement.
Bingai, Feng Yan, 2007
Réalisé dans un village de la vallée du Yangzi, le film décrit les conséquences de ces changements à l’échelle de la vie d’une famille, dont Zhang Bingai (la mère) est le personnage central.
Le Fleuve, Pare Lorentz, 1936
Le Fleuve est une ode au Mississippi sur le fond d’une propagande pour l’action du commanditaire du film – la Farm Security Administration –, une célébration lyrique du progrès et des capacités de l’Amérique à maîtriser les phénomènes naturels.
En 2004, Claire Tenu (1983) s’est rendue à Bethlehem (Pennsylvanie) pour photographier cette petite ville industrielle documentée par Walker Evans en 1935-1936, qui travaillait alors pour la FSA. Elle n’a pas cherché à décrire les conséquences de la fin de la prospérité industrielle, mais elle s’est concentrée sur l’étude du site. Le tableau photographique en noir et blanc présenté à Lussas est le résultat de ce travail. La structure de l’image, qui fait jouer de nombreux détails, rend compte par équivalence de la complexité du lieu.
Lettre à Freddy Buache, Jean-Luc Godard, 1981
Le film est une tentative de brosser le portrait cinématographique de la ville de Lausanne, en trois plans. Ce qui pourrait apparaître comme un pur jeu formel correspond précisément à la réalité topographique et historique de la ville.

Œuvres exposées dans la cantine de l’école :
Madeleine Bernardin Sabri, Madame T., originaire d’Arménie, raconte à Mireille Moreau, bénévole à la Cimade, comment elle a été expulsée du Cada (centre d’accueil de demandeurs d’asile) dans lequel elle résidait, Paris 17e, 2008. Tirage argentique couleur, 50 x 62 cm. Un texte.
Maxence Rifflet, Le barrage des Trois Gorges vu depuis la nouvelle ville de Mauping, 2002. Tirage argentique couleur, 115 x 150 cm.
Claire Tenu, Bethlehem, Pennsylvanie, États-Unis, 2004. Tirage argentique noir et blanc, 133 x 165 cm.

Pour plus d’informations sur le travail de Madeleine Bernardin Sabri, Maxence Rifflet et Claire Tenu, et sur l’exposition Champs d’abondance : www.desterritoires.com et www.maxencerifflet.com

La séance du matin démarrera par la découverte des trois photographies exposées à l’école et visibles dès dimanche après-midi.
Dans le prolongement de cette journée, en séance spéciale, est présenté L’Arrière-pays, premier film de Safia Benhaïm, qui après un passage par la photographie signe cette entrée en cinéma par un troublant voyage en terre d’exil. Puis le « Fragment d’une œuvre » consacré à Peter Hutton clôturera ce parcours.


Coordination : Jean-François Chevrier, Élia Pijollet, Madeleine Bernardin Sabri, Maxence Rifflet, Claire Tenu, Christophe Postic.