Les États généraux du film documentaire 2008 Doc History: Great Britain

Doc History: Great Britain


Although documentary cinema was not born in Great Britain, it was undoubtedly on this island that it received its consecration as an art and a form. John Grierson, whose theoretical reflection was based on different currents of the time, developed and nourished documentary as a cinematic genre. Doc History will try to retrace the history of British documentary over five screenings.
In the 1920's three aesthetic trends formed the foundation on which this type of cinema was to evolve: the newsreel used to transmit political and social information; secondly and to a certain degree to the same ends (provide spectators with information and a sense of discovery), travelogues allowed spectators to explore far-off and exotic lands; finally avant-garde or experimental films attempted to affirm cinema as an art in its own right. These three trends had some important points in common, notably the desire and the necessity to free the camera from the studio as well as from the production and financial mechanisms of the fiction film industry. Similarly, Robert Flaherty with his Nanook of the North (1922), Dziga Vertov and his Kino Pravda series (1922-24) and the avant-garde European cineasts all offered another approach to film-making: for these creators, it was necessary to refuse the hold of major studios, break with a “play-acted” cinema based on dramatic or literary traditions and show that cinema was at once an art in itself as well as an important and effective tool of popular information and education.
In 1926, John Grierson proposed the term “documentary” for this kind of film which was both informative and artistic: the documentary was defined as the “creative treatment of actuality”. A few years later, he led a production team within the Empire Marketing Board where the role of documentary film was to serve as a tool for popular education. In 1929, Drifters, the first film directed by Grierson and produced by the EMB, became a model. Within the EMB and later the GPO (General Post Office) Grierson brought together more or less well known talent from different horizons such as Robert Flaherty (Man of Aran, Industrial Britain) or Albert Cavalcanti (Coal Face) who had previously made the experimental Nothing But Time (1926). With others such as Basil Wright and Harry Watt (Night Mail), Arthur Elton and Edgar Anstey (Housing Problems) and Paul Rotha — the other theorist of the group — (Contact, The Face of Britain, Shipyard), Grierson created a decisively important movement for the reflection and practice of documentary cinema: the British Documentary Film Movement with as a mission, to quote the sub-heading of Paul Rotha's 1936 book Documentary Film: “the use of the film medium to interpret creatively and in social terms the life of the people as it exists in reality”.
After the break up of the GPO film team (following restrictions imposed by the GPO itself and the departure of several members, including Grierson himself in 1937), an inflection became visible, well illustrated by North Sea (Harry Watt, 1938): the use of a dramatic narrative to recount a true story. Watt and Cavalcanti continued to produce films for the GPO, bringing a lot of force to British documentaries of the time, notably via the work of Cavalcanti. Humphrey Jennings in particular (Listen to Britain, Spare Time, A Diary for Timothy) moved away from Grierson's social approach and methods to develop the method of reconstructing narrative and dramatising action, tending to erase the borders between fiction and documentary. Under the auspices of the Crown Film Unit, which took over the production role of the GPO, and drawing on the events of the World War Two, Jennings refined —and with more extensive means of production— a “commercial” style of documentary, relying on heavy dramatisation, while not forgetting the poetic and realistic dimensions at work among his predecessors.
According to Lindsay Anderson, Jennings was the “only real poet that British cinema has yet produced”. It is not therefore surprising that the same spirit of poetic research was shared by a good number of the proponents of Free Cinema. This young cinema of the fifties is often considered as a rupture, but if Jennings' poetry and Grierson's realism and social concerns are taken into account, we can see in Free Cinema an often underestimated continuity with the British tradition, even if the films are quite different in subject and often adopt a style close to direct cinema. To start with, Free Cinema was more a programme of films at the National Film Theatre (between 1956 and 1959) —elaborated by Lindsay Anderson (O Dreamland), Karel Reisz and Tony Richardson (Momma Don't Allow)— than an established set of aesthetic codes. The chosen films shared a common mode of production (outside commercial documentary and television) but also a freedom of tone and a shared approach to contemporary society. Free Cinema was not strictly speaking a movement but it heavily influenced both British documentary and fiction over the following decades.
Another name linked to Free Cinema is that of Michael Grigsby. He was already working for Granada Television but to break with the constraints of television production, he created the Unit Five Seven to produce films during his free time. His film Enginemen was part of the last programme of Free Cinema. Later, with Unit Five Seven, he made Tomorrow's Saturday.
The wealth of documentary production by British television deserves a programme in itself. Within the framework of this Doc History, we have selected films by some noteworthy filmmakers, either because they are emblematic of this television production or because they distance themselves from it. Taking into account the domination by direct cinema and cinéma vérité over the period which were modifying the aesthetics of documentary in general, British documentary followed three major trends: dramatised documentary (or the docu-fiction film which has become the trademark of British TV), news and magazines. In this first group, we can find for example Peter Watkins with his astonishing film Culloden adopting the aesthetics of cinéma vérité to reconstruct the Battle of Culloden as if it were covered by a TV news crew. This choice of re-enactment had already been made by his predecessors, but Watkins added his own style and the use of modern technology to create a greater sense of realism. In the field of news coverage, John Akomfrah distinguished himself from his contemporaries by using an essay style to recount the 1985 riots in his Handsworth Songs. Akomfrah cuts together images of the television crew at work (a news crew in the field, a TV studio) with archive material to go well beyond simple news reporting. The last two films of our programme also testify to this period bearing the heavy imprint of Thatcherism: Living on the Edge by Michael Grigsby, perhaps the most emblematic film by this cineast, follows four families affected by the changes in the country's social policies. The film comes across as a poetic essay born by a social conscience. Margaret Thatcher's political heritage is the very subject of the film Tracking Down Maggie. Nick Broomfield adopts the style which made him famous, staging himself in front of the camera. While not his best film, it is certainly representative of his cinema.
This programme proposes to introduce the audience to directors who, in connection with the cinematic trends of their time, permitted documentary to become a genre in its own right.
Such a selection would not have been possible without the active partnership of the BFI.

Kees Bakker


Guests : Débats en présence de Michael Grigsby.
Remerciements à M. Christophe Dupin et à l'équipe du BFI National Archive, ainsi qu'à Marie Bonnel Institut français

Les États généraux du film documentaire 2008 Histoire de doc : Grande-Bretagne

Histoire de doc : Grande-Bretagne


Si le documentaire n’est pas né en Grande-Bretagne, c’est dans ce pays qu’il a conquis ses lettres de noblesse. Fort d’une réflexion théorique et à la croisée de différents courants, John Grierson a développé et fait évoluer ce genre cinématographique. Autour du travail de réalisateurs fondateurs, Histoire de doc va, en cinq séances, essayer de retracer l’histoire du documentaire britannique.
Dans les années 1920, trois tendances esthétiques sont à la base de l’évolution de ce cinéma : d’une part, les actualités pour relayer les informations politiques et sociales, d’autre part, un peu dans la même veine (informer et faire découvrir), les « travelogues » ou films de voyage – et notamment les voyages dans des pays lointains, exotiques. Enfin, les films d’avant-garde, les films expérimentaux qui ambitionnent de faire du cinéma un art à part entière. Ces trois tendances partagent la même volonté – et nécessité – de se libérer des studios et des mécanismes de production et de financement des films. De même, Robert Flaherty avec Nanouk l’Esquimau (1922), Dziga Vertov avec la série de Kino Pravda (1922-1924), et les cinéastes européens d’avant-garde proposent une autre approche du cinéma : il s’agit pour eux de refuser le jeu des grands studios, de rompre avec le cinéma « joué », dramatique et littéraire, de montrer que le cinéma est autant un art en soi qu'un outil important d’éducation populaire.
En 1926, John Grierson propose le mot « documentaire » pour ce cinéma à la fois informatif et artistique : le documentaire étant un « traitement créatif de l’actualité. » Quelques années plus tard, il dirige une équipe de production au sein de l’Empire Marketing Board où le rôle du cinéma documentaire est également de servir à l’éducation populaire. En 1929, Drifters, premier film réalisé par John Grierson, produit par l’EMB, devient un modèle. Sous l’égide de l’EMB puis plus tard du GPO (General Post Office), Grierson fédère des noms plus ou moins connus, invitant par exemple Robert Flaherty (Man of Aran, Industrial Britain) ou Alberto Cavalcanti (Coal Face) qui avait notamment réalisé auparavant Rien que les heures (1926). Avec d’autres, comme Basil Wright et Harry Watt (Night Mail), Arthur Elton et Edgar Anstey (Housing Problems) et Paul Rotha (Contact, The Face of Britain, Shipyard), l’autre théoricien du groupe, John Grierson crée un mouvement déterminant pour la réflexion sur la pratique même du documentaire : le Mouvement du film documentaire britannique, dont la mission, selon le sous-titre de l’ouvrage Documentary Film (1936) de Paul Rotha, est « l’utilisation du cinéma afin d’interpréter, d’une façon créative et en termes sociaux, la vie des hommes telle qu’elle existe en réalité. »
Après la désintégration de l’équipe de cinéastes du GPO (suite à des restrictions imposées par le GPO même et le départ de plusieurs membres, dont John Grierson en 1937), s’amorce un tournant, bien illustré par North Sea (Harry Watt, 1938) : l’utilisation d’une trame dramatique pour raconter une histoire vraie. Harry Watt et Alberto Cavalcanti continuent de produire des films pour le GPO, apportant grande force aux documentaires britanniques de l’époque, notamment à partir du travail de Cavalcanti. Humphrey Jennings notamment (Listen to Britain, Spare Time, A Diary for Timothy) s’éloigne de l’approche sociale et de la méthode de Grierson pour poursuivre ce parti pris de reconstruction des récits et de dramatisation des actions, gommant ainsi la frontière entre fiction et documentaire. Sous l’égide du Crown Film Unit, relais du GPO, nourri par les événements de la seconde guerre mondiale, Jennings peaufine – avec plus de moyens – le style « commercial » du documentaire : une dramatisation importante, sans oublier une dimension poétique et réaliste, déjà à l’œuvre chez ses prédécesseurs.
Selon Lindsay Anderson, Jennings est « le seul vrai poète du cinéma britannique ». Il n’est peut-être pas si étrange qu’une même recherche poétique soit partagée par bon nombre de représentants du Free Cinema. Ce jeune cinéma des années cinquante est souvent considéré comme une rupture, mais, en regard de la poésie de Jennings, du réalisme et de l’approche sociale de Grierson, on perçoit dans le Free Cinema une certaine continuité (souvent sous-estimée), bien que les films diffèrent par leurs sujets et adoptent parfois un style proche du cinéma direct. Davantage qu’un programme esthétique aux codes fixes, le Free Cinema est à l’origine une programmation de films au National Film Theatre (entre 1956 et 1959), mise en œuvre par Lindsay Anderson (O Dreamland), Karel Reisz et Tony Richardson (Momma Don’t Allow). Les films programmés se caractérisent par leur mode de production, en dehors du documentaire commercial et de la télévision, ainsi que par leur liberté de ton et leur approche de la société contemporaine. Si le Free Cinema n’est pas un mouvement proprement dit, il a cependant beaucoup influencé le documentaire et la fiction britannique des décennies suivantes.
Un autre nom lié au Free Cinema est celui de Michael Grigsby. Travaillant déjà pour la télévision à Granada, mais désireux de se libérer des contraintes télévisuelles, il forme le Unit Five Seven pour produire des films durant son temps libre. Son film Enginemen est intégré au dernier programme du Free Cinema. Plus tard, avec Unit Five Seven il réalise Tomorrow’s Saturday.
Témoigner de la richesse de la production documentaire de la télévision britannique mérite un programme en soi. Dans le cadre de Histoire de doc, nous avons sélectionné des films de quelques auteurs marquants, soit parce qu’ils sont des représentants emblématiques de cette production télévisuelle, soit parce qu’ils s’en démarquent. Si l’époque du cinéma direct et du cinéma-vérité a modifié l’esthétique du documentaire en général, le documentaire britannique a suivi trois grandes lignes directrices : le documentaire dramatisé (ou le docu-fiction, devenu aujourd’hui la marque de fabrique de la télé britannique), les actualités et les magazines. Peter Watkins, dans son étonnant film Culloden, adopte une écriture proche du cinéma-vérité pour reconstruire la bataille de Culloden, suivie et couverte par une équipe télé. Ce choix des reconstructions était déjà présent chez ses prédécesseurs mais Watkins y a ajouté, avec un style propre et grâce aux nouvelles technologies, plus de réalisme. Dans le domaine des actualités de l’époque, avec Handsworth Songs, John Akomfrah se démarque de ses contemporains par une approche essayiste pour rendre compte des émeutes de 1985. Akomfrah mêle des images de la télévision au travail (une équipe en plein reportage, un plateau télé), avec des images d’archives pour aller au-delà de la simple actualité. Les deux derniers films de notre programme témoignent également de cette époque profondément marquée par le thatcherisme : Living on the Edge, de Michael Grigsby, est peut-être le film le plus emblématique de ce cinéaste dans lequel on suit quatre familles affectées par la politique sociale du pays. L’ensemble est un essai poétique, porté par un regard social. Dans Tracking Down Maggie dont l’héritage politique de Margaret Thatcher est le sujet du film, Nick Broomfield adopte le style qui l’a rendu célèbre, en se mettant en scène lui-même. Sans être son meilleur film, il est représentatif de son cinéma.
Ce programme propose de faire connaître des réalisateurs qui, en lien avec les courants cinématographiques de leur époque, ont permis au documentaire de s’affirmer comme un genre à part entière.
Une fois de plus, une telle programmation n’aurait pas été possible sans le partenariat avec la cinémathèque du BFI.

Kees Bakker


Invités : Débats en présence de Michael Grigsby.
Remerciements à M. Christophe Dupin et à l'équipe du BFI National Archive, ainsi qu'à Marie Bonnel Institut français