Les États généraux du film documentaire 2006 Pieces of an opus : Arunas Matelis

Pieces of an opus : Arunas Matelis


A Community of Perspectives
Arunas Matelis' films have been presented at many festivals and so has his latest work, his first feature-length documentary, Before Flying Back to the Earth. After having presented Audrius Stonys in 2003, we are now presenting another Lithuanian filmmaker by showing a piece of opus. Both artists occasionally co-direct films and for a very long time remained attached to a short film format as it corresponds best to their ethereal stories. In their films there is an obsession with flight and altitude that is not devoid of a religious tones and which we seek the origins in the dreamlike opening scene of The Childhood of Ivan by Tarkovski.
Time is drawn out in these films so as to enable an event to emerge. Or, on the contrary, to remove any notion of event from what is being put into play, so that the subjects, whose drunkenness sometimes defies balance, can go in and out of the picture. Commonplace gestures warrant special attention and the subjects are chosen for their beautiful faces, the power of their look, or their burlesque appearance. The editing and the sound track are also highly evident dramatic devices in these “invented documentaries”. The Russian film tradition is evident. The same tradition that influenced the Ukranian filmmaker Sergei Loznitsa and the highly renowned Lithuanian filmmaker Šarunas Bartas, who received their training at the VGIK.
These four directors, all members of the same generation, built personal and professional communities. This is particularly true of Bartas, who welcomed into his home-studio the people who shared his visions, from Loznitsa to Carax. Two ways of returning to one’s roots: a return to the films of Bartas and a return to his first films. His film school project, a work where Vilnius is seen through the eyes of a street puppeteer, has been scheduled for a special showing. This film will enable us to observe the relations described earlier that reach as far as Blockade by Loznitsa, where the sound track, composed by Vladimir Golovnitski, the sound engineer who has been working with Bartas since his second feature film in 1995, The Corridor, is as much a raw material as the archive footage. This film, of brutal beauty, contains all of the characters that he incessantly explores such as childhood, which constantly makes its way into communities that are falling apart, where boredom gives way to celebration. The latter brings all of the wandering people in the film together and sometimes sends them their bodies into a frenzy that leads them to murder.
In his latest film, Artel, Sergei Loznitsa creates a fresco that depicts the daily tasks of a small community through distinct scenes: fishing in a frozen land, the chronology of events is the only explanation provided: the meaning of their skilled movements is understood only by the rare skilled observer, what remains is the powerful and gentle vitality of their gestures.
Arunas Matelis films in a hospital where children are fighting for their lives. He is reliving a personal ordeal. It is a gesture of approval, which is always risky when one is filming children who are suffering from illness. In part, it is through play, the child in front of the camera and the child behind the camera, that Matelis is able to maintain his distance.
Christophe Postic.

Les États généraux du film documentaire 2006 Fragment d'une œuvre : Arunas Matelis

Fragment d'une œuvre : Arunas Matelis


Communauté de regards
Les films d’Arunas Matelis ont déjà sillonné bon nombre de festivals tout comme son récent premier long métrage documentaire, Before Flying Back To The Earth. Après Audrius Stonys en 2003, c’est donc de nouveau un cinéaste lituanien dont nous proposons un fragment de l’œuvre. Tous deux, qui coréalisent parfois des films, sont longtemps restés attachés au format court qui se prête particulièrement bien à leurs récits éthérés. On y trouve une obsession de l’envol et de l’élévation, non dénuée d’un caractère religieux, dont on cherchera la genèse dans la séquence onirique qui ouvre L’enfance d’Ivan de Tarkovski.
Des films où le temps s’étire pour laisser surgir un événement ou, au contraire, pour enlever toute dimension événementielle à ce qui se joue, pour laisser entrer et sortir du champ des hommes dont l’ivresse défie parfois l’équilibre. Les gestes du quotidien méritent une attention particulière et les personnages sont choisis pour la beauté de leur visage, la force de leur regard ou le burlesque de leur allure. Le montage et l’univers sonore constituent les autres ressorts dramatiques les plus évidents de ces “ documentaires inventés ”.
On retrouve ici toute une tradition du cinéma russe dont le cinéaste ukrainien Sergei Loznitsa et le très connu lituanien Sharunas Bartas, formés au VGIK, sont d’autres héritiers.
Ces quatre-là, de la même génération, se sont construit des communautés de vie et de travail, particulièrement Bartas qui accueille dans sa maison studio ceux qui partagent ses visions, de Loznitsa à Carax. Un double retour aux sources s’imposait : retour au cinéma de Bartas et à ses premiers films. Son film d’école, où l’on découvre Vilnius dans le regard d’un marionnettiste de rue, sera présenté en séance spéciale. Il permettra de constater les parentés évoquées précédemment qui s’étendent jusque dans le film Blockade de Loznitsa dont le son, matière première autant que les images d’archives, est justement composé par Vladimir Golovnitski, l’ingénieur du son de Bartas depuis son deuxième long métrage, The Corridor (1995). Ce film, d’une beauté brutale contient toutes les figures qu'il ne cessera plus d'explorer — dont l’enfance —, s’immisçant chaque fois dans des communautés déglinguées, où l’ennui le dispute à la fête qui réunit tout le peuple errant du film, et hystérise parfois les corps jusqu’au meurtre.
Dans son dernier film, Artel, Sergei Loznitsa compose par tableaux une fresque de tous les gestes du labeur quotidien d’une petite communauté : la pêche en terre glaciale, sans autre explication que sa chronologie, laissant le sens de leurs gestes techniques à de peu probables regards d’experts, pour n’en garder que leur vitalité, puissante et douce.
Arunas Matelis, lui, filme à l’hôpital où des enfants luttent pour leur survie. C’est un retour sur une épreuve personnelle, un geste d’appropriation, toujours très périlleux quand il s’agit de filmer des enfants malades. Et c’est en partie par le jeu, celui de l’enfant face à la caméra et celui de l’enfant à la caméra, que Matelis parvient à tenir la distance.
Christophe Postic.